Bookmark

Nightmare Adventures: The Witch's Prison

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help Kiera Vale discover her ancestor’s history as she explores Blackwater Asylum in Nightmare Adventures: The Witch’s Prison! After receiving a mysterious letter from Alton Quinn, Kiera sets off to find out about her birth parents. Finding Blackwater Asylum to be in a state of disarray, Kiera begins exploring the grounds looking for information about her family, and Alton’s mysterious secret. Help her discover the truth in this Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.4
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 225 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Nightmare Adventures: The Witch's Prison

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Nightmare Adventures: The Witch's Prison

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Nightmare Adventures: The Witch's Prison 4 5 109 109
excellent excellent i loved the game it was a fun game August 7, 2012
Great game! I loved playing this game! It ended a bit too soon, but would love to play a sequel! July 21, 2012
AWESOME loved the game could not turn it off till i was done... But is there another part to the story cuz if so i can not find it nor no wat the name is and i need it like now lol.... XD June 18, 2012
Fun and entertaining, although not perfect. Despite being a little rough around the edges, there was something that really intrigued me about this game. After playing through the demo, I decided that I'd risk a purchase to see where it would go. I'd have to say the thing I liked best about Nightmare Adventures: Witch's Prison is that it's not your standard Haunted Asylum game. The story goes in an unexpected direction early on and keeps you guessing all the way up to the cliffhanger ending. The story ends with quite a few questions unanswered, which I assume would be addressed in a sequel, so here's to hoping we get one. The gameplay is your typical adventure fare tasking you to find items, solve puzzles, and uncover the story through random notes and books, but without any hidden object scenes to work through. The complexity of the puzzles vary from pretty easy (I ended up accidentally solving a few by randomly clicking on things while trying to figure out the method) to challenging, but most seemed on the easier side once I put a bit of my mind to it, although the puzzle difficulty ramps up a bit towards the end. I think my favorite aspect of the game were the riddle clues; they weren't incredibly hard to figure out, but fun to work through nonetheless. I also loved the fact that the puzzles were not explained to you and you had to figure out how they worked. Without a difficulty setting, this helped stretch the gameplay out a bit for me, especially since I refuse to use the Hint and Skip buttons unless I'm completely stuck. Speaking of difficulty, there is one challenge level to the game, and as such, no sparkles or any visual indicators of areas of interest outside of mousing over items. This may be frustrating for the more casual player who prefers easier game settings, but the Hint button refills quickly and gives detailed clues that won't leave you guessing, and of course there's a Skip button for all of the puzzles. As for the graphics, they aren't groundbreaking by any means and did not detract from or hurt the gameplay at all. Nothing really stood out to me in either a good or bad way, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. I liked the more stylistic and cartoon-ish cut scene images which I think worked well with the story and characters (this isn't meant to be incredibly dark and scary, at least I didn't think so). One thing that really stood out to me was the flavor text on just about every item in a room/area. Many items even offer additional comments and descriptions if you click on them more than once. This added a lot of detail to the game's surroundings as well as quite a bit of humor to Kiera's character. I wish more games would put in the effort to add more flavor text as it was a real treat here. The game is not without its flaws, however. There is very little music played outside of the cut scenes, which isn't a horrible thing if the background sounds fit in well and help build atmosphere, but even ambient noises and sound effects are completely missing from some scenes. I found myself checking my speakers and sound volume a few times because there just wasn't any noise at all coming out of the game in some rooms. The "item find" jingle seemed out of place for this type of game and was quite annoying, but I got used to it as I played. I wasn't particularly fond of the UI either, as I found having to actively click on the X buttons to leave the Journal/Clues boxes a bit tedious and sometimes frustrating when I would try clicking outside of them to close them out, but to no avail. And, again, a few of the puzzles were just too easy to figure out, some only requiring 3 or 4 steps to solve which removed any sense of accomplishment of having worked through them. That said, I still really enjoyed Nightmare Adventures: The Witch's Prison and feel it's worth picking up (especially if you catch it on the Daily Deal). I can't say it's the most polished adventure game I've ever played, but it does enough things right that I was able to overlook its flaws and appreciate the game for the entertaining, and often amusing, journey that it is. November 6, 2012
Amusing And Fun I enjoyed both the game play and the sly humor in this game. I played it without the tutorial and managed to figure out what I should be doing, so this should be an easy game for anyone to learn (I was a beginner to this type of games when I first played it). There is also a Walkthrough available on the Big Fish website that gives the solutions to the puzzles, if additional help is needed beyond the Hint button. I loved the parody of HOG games. I took the worm and held it up against the saw blade and the game's comment was "Sicko!". The comment that popped up when I clicked on one of the shrubs sounded like something Roger the Shrubber would have said in the movie, "Monty Python and the Holy Grail". I appreciate game developers who inject humor into their games; it personalizes the game and makes it more fun because you never know what you're going to be told next. When I got the game, I had a problem with a sluggish cursor, but since then Big Fish has issued an update to the game that has solved the problem, so that shouldn't be a concern for anyone anymore. Big Fish Games is normally very good about getting a game corrected if players are having a specific technical problem; its Game Manager program also has a setting that will auto-check for game updates for BF games you already own, which is very helpful if a new version of a game comes along (in one instance, a game developer issued an "extended version" of a standard game, and the game updater picked that up - something I would have missed unless I went back for some reason and checked that particular game's BF forum). Glad I got this game. December 17, 2011
An adventure game minus HOS This game was actually pretty good. I'll break it down. First, the positives: *Not a lot of bactracking. When you finish an area, you move on to the next. *Sound was nice. Not loud and annoying but more soft and creepy. There were no voice-overs, which didn't bother me because I'd rather read the dialogue. But that's just me :) *Length was good. It took me about 7 or 8 hours to finish. *The storyline was interesting. There were a few holes, but aren't there always lol? *The puzzles were not too hard, but they did afford the player a challenge. The hints didn't come in the storyline but in the photos. There were a lot of riddles to solve, which was cool. I think it's definitely worth mentioning that this is NOT a HOG. There was one HOS in the whole game, and it wasn't a real HOS. This is all adventure. There were a couple of drawbacks. There were times when I had no clue what to do so I had to use the hint button, but that's pretty much normal for PC games. The only other complaint I had was that every time I performed an action, it just had to state it. For example, if I picked up a dagger, it would state on the screen, "I am picking up a dagger." Seriously. That was my biggest complaint because it was the most annoying. Overall, though, it was a fun game to play for the day! March 14, 2012
Loved the Humor and Riddle Puzzles This was a hard game to rate. It was really fun to play and had a unique combination of an engaging story, creepiness, and funny dialogue that made me laugh-out-loud. I wanted to give it 5 stars for the humor alone, but the game was short and the Hint Button did not work properly 2 out of the 4 times I used it. The Hint Button malfunction sent me to scenes that had already been completed and did not contain the final puzzle piece I needed to move on with the game. Of course the first time it happened, I kept clicking and searching over and over again for the missing puzzle piece until I finally gave up and looked at the Walkthrough which showed the missing puzzle piece in a completely different scene. Very, very annoying. The second time the Hint Button was wrong, I double checked the scene it indicated, but then went to the Walkthrough to find the correct scene for the puzzle piece. Otherwise, I loved the game. In the beginning, the running dialogue at the top of the screen bugged me (e.g. "Picked up a crowbar"), but then I couldn't get enough of the sarcastic comments when I did something random or idiotic. I also liked: -- So many puzzles that I didn't notice there were no HOs. -- Loved having some riddle puzzles. -- Most of the puzzles did not have instructions, you have to figure out what is the goal of the puzzle yourself. Had to get used to that, but the puzzles were pretty easy and the lack of instructions made them more challenging. The Hint Button functioned properly when I needed help solving one of the puzzles. There was also a Skip Button. Fun game and a good story! I liked the ending and it left me wanting a sequel. If they fixed the Hint Button and made this game longer, it would be a true 5 star game. December 5, 2013
Prepare for creepy time. If your looking for a spooky tale set in an asylum then this is the game for you. Great graphics, non-annoying sound, solid story which gets the game off to a good start. As we move onto the first of several different challenging puzzles, we actually have a game which requires you to think for once. I wouldnt recomend this game for beginners. I enjoyed the challenge of being able to hack into online characters in-game computers so the fact that you get to do this a couple of times in game was a nice touch. Your camera can take instant pictures of hints and clues which is a bonus, as is the fact you can actually bring them up to look at them if your stuck on a puzzle. Each section of the story only has a few different scenes, negating the annoying travelling backwards and forwards found in some games. I finished the game in 2 evenings so it did provide value for money and i will replay it again. Missing for me were replayable mini games; items to collect which unlocked bonuses; rewards, or character development but i suppose you cant have everything and they have to save something for the collectors edition. All in all a solid, creepy game for horror fans. Cant wait for the sequel. March 4, 2012
Good puzzles, integral story I'm kind of tired of hidden object games and gruesome, but when I played the trial for this the story elements and the puzzles made me mentally mark this as a "buy sometime anyway". And I'm glad I did. I felt Glasya's review said it well: storyline, humor, varied puzzles. I liked that the responses weren't negative if I did something wrong (I've had some games suggest that I'm stupid, which doesn't endear them to me). The end had a little twist or I just didn't expect it, quite, and I liked it. February 26, 2012
Enjoyable! I'd list this in the upper 25% of games enjoyability-wise. It's quite fun. Slightly creepy, I love dark stories. Also not the best art I've seen, but not the worst either by a long shot. The puzzles are half and half... some are quite easy, while a few are pretty hard. A bit of inconsistency in challenge level there I feel. I'd say it's worth a play. November 25, 2011
51-60 of 109 Reviews <<prev 45678...11next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightmare Adventures: The Witch's Prison

Help Kiera Vale discover her ancestor’s history as she explores Blackwater Asylum in Nightmare Adventures: The Witch’s Prison!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.