Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife, Sara, missing and now it's up to you to track her down and solve the mystery! Follow a mysterious black cat, who seems to be purposely helping you, and discover helpful clues in Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe's The Black Cat. Use your Hidden Object talents to tackle the case, and discover the evil culprit behind Sara's disappearance.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.4
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 409 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat 4 5 56 56
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat As one of Poe's biggest fans I was excited to have this be one of the 4 HO games I bought as soon as I became a Big Fish member. Loved the look and feeling of the game, highly recommend it! December 4, 2011
THE coolest game! COULD NOT put it down!! kept my interest PEEKED on thru the very last scene! Great hidden object pages! absolutely great story line.challenging yet fun!! i give this game 2 thumbs up OVER 5 stars!!!! November 17, 2011
i love this game i love mystery games but these ones are my favorites i love dark tales its really cool!!!!!! February 3, 2013
I love this game! I only played the trial version but it was really exciting and challenging. I think of purchasing games of Edgar Allan Poe's stories. July 1, 2012
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Black Cat Another Poe masterpiece reincarnated into a masterpiece game! Sarah Davies has been reported missing for nearly two weeks and Detective Dupin has once again asked for your sleuthing skills to help solve this case. People of the town have reported seeing Sarah walking the streets with her faithful feline, but when approached, Sarah vanishes into thin air, as if she were a ghost! (they never say if the cat disappears too) Is this an elaborate hoax, did her oddly behaving spouse, Monsieur Mark have anything to do with her disappearance? One thing's for sure, this black cat seems to be purposely leading you to places of interest as if helping you put the pieces together of this bizarre missing persons case Even though this is one of the older Dark Tales game, I was still amazed at how vivid and detailed the graphics are, Detective Dupin doesn't yet have a voice, meaning that the newer Edgar Allan Poe games have voiceovers and this game just has dialog boxes that you have to read. This feature actually annoyed me, not because I had to read what each character was saying, but because the dialog boxes popped up directly onto the inventory bar each time I would click on an active area, with a "helpful" description. You would have to then exit out of the dialog box or press continue, if it wasn't an item that could be picked up but rather a task that required an inventory item. No biggie, just sort of annoying. The Hidden Object Scenes were slightly interactive list finds where you might have to click to open a drawer for example, exposing more items. Almost every scene has a HOS, just the right amount, not too many not too few and some of the items are very well blended into the area. The Collector's Edition has wallpapers, soundtracks, a built in strategy guide and a bonus chapter available. These extra's are only available in the full version, not the demo, and because there is no hint system during the regular game (only for mini games and HOS) I think the Collector's Edition is the better choice, unless you don't want any hand holding, enjoy! July 12, 2014
enjoyed playing it ERS has good games. I enjoy more hunting for clues than mostly HO and puzzles. Worth the money. All the dark tales are good. August 13, 2012
Another Good Story This story was good like the prior game to this Murder's In The Rue Morgue. Although, in this game I found it was a little less fun because most of the problems were repetitive (i.e. You need a key for everything to unlock every door and chest). There was A LOT of search and finds in this game more so than puzzles and the puzzles were made too easy. Basically, once you unlocked a box or a door, it gave you the answer for another puzzle, which practically did the puzzle for you so you would not have to think about solving it, but you were missing a piece to solve it so you are given yet again another search and find to get the missing piece. The search and finds were somewhat made more difficult because the graphics was made poorer on those and the image you were shown was really jammed with stuff so your eyes could not focus properly. They did draw the people and the surrounding scenery good, but just not the close ups of things. Other then what I have mentioned above. I did continue to play because I wanted to know what happened to Monsieur Mark Davies' wife. Which was worth playing until the end. November 21, 2011
Loved it but; not as good as Premature burial I purchased this game because I enjoyed/loved premature Burial so much but this game someone got lazy. They did not have the inspector do any talking, you had to read the coversation; which was not as enjoyable. It is a delicate balance between too much talking and not enough I guess. For those who really like alot of HO and puzzles this is excellent becase ther seems to be more in this game as opposed to Premature Burial. November 16, 2011
Good game, but not the best Overall, an enjoyable game. If you like Adventure/Hidden Object games, you should enjoy this one. Good story (find missing woman) and good graphics (cartoon-like but mostly well done.) Long in length. Lots of places to explore! You have a tophat-wearing assistant (?) who periodically explains things to you, although, not too much. The mini-games were ok. The challenges are not particullary inspired (about seven steps to wash clothes), but it did hold my attention. Kind of heavy on the Hidden Object scenes for me and they required a very minor amount of interaction (open a box, move a curtain). I did use a few hints, but most of the objects were findable. Some HOS were on the darker side. I played in advanced mode (longer hint recharge) and wished I had chosen the easier one. Had to use the walkthrough four or five times and that is too much for me. I failed to find a few critical items and not all solutions are obvious or intuitive. Note that flat work surfaces are there so you can perform some sort of work on them, like putting together items (or taking them apart). Some of these work areas are used more than once. While I do recommend this game, I am glad I didn't pay full price. January 8, 2012
Good game In my opinion, this is the second best game in the series. I prefer Premature burial to this and Rue Morgue. Still, it's a good game and worth the purchase. Hidden Object lovers will appreciate it. April 1, 2012
21-30 of 56 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife missing and now its up to you to help!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.