Bookmark

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

Full version game
(574.16 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Shortly after moving into a creepy mansion in Louisiana, Sara Lawson is struck with tragedy when her husband mysteriously disappears. Sara's daughter, Magnolia, believes her father was kidnapped by the ghost of a vengeful pirate seeking to protect his lost fortune. With the locals terrified of the pirate's curse, you are the family's last hope. Only a Master Detective with incredible Hidden Object skills can locate Marcus Lawson in Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 660 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Comic Mischief
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull 4.1 5 197 197
Another M.C.F. Winner! It may not be the best of the series, but its up there and absolutely worth playing all the way through. It has the best ending sequence of the MCF series so far. I love the he live actor integration into these adventure games, but just like the others, the actual acting and scripts are horrendous! The game is filled with plenty of challenging puzzles and Hidden Object Games. The story is pretty darn good too. January 2, 2012
Skullbreaker - A Guy's Review *review based on completing the full game* This game seem to be on a higher budget than most games in this genre. The reason I say that is that it actually has live actors that seem capable of acting. I can only assume that these are real actors and not amateurs and family members that is often used in similar games. Professional or not, they do a great job in making you feel part of the story and help make you believe that you are on scene in the bayou somewhere in southern Louisiana. The graphics and animations in this game is top class. Everything is really crisp and highly detailed. The live actors are integrated in the back drops almost perfectly. Never did it feel out of place. The use of voice-overs are superb. You actually communicate with the characters in this game, and even though there are only a handful of them, this game feels more alive than most (if not all) games I've played so far. Sound effects, ambient sounds and background music all fits the game and adds to the atmosphere. The story too is clever, interesting and makes you want to solve it to figure out what has happened. There are some clever twists and turns. I wish there was a bit more to it, but all in all they did a great job. I have mixed feelings about the game play though. Some parts were truly brilliant, while other things were almost directly off putting. There is quite a bit of adventuring, and it is mostly done in a very clever way. You face a good selection of puzzles and a handful of HO scenes. Now, this game forces you to pay attention to details and make use of what you have in your inventory and also encourages you to use the journal. You are seldom told what to do in a puzzle (meaning there is no info), so if you have no clue what is going on, you have probably not come by or overseen some details elsewhere. Keep your eyes open and if you see something that looks like something somewhere it probably is. Take notes. It makes the goals of the puzzles much clearer, though sometimes it doesn't take away the brain twisting needed to solve them. I find this absolutely brilliant. This does not mean that only advanced players can get through this game, but it does offer challenging moments even for the experts. Luckily there is a very clever hint system in this game. You can select three levels of hints to help you along. After choosing the first it needs recharging before you can choose the second etc. And they are hints that reveal more and more on how to solve it. Or you can simply skip it all together. But if you do the latter you will not get to see how it is solved. When it comes to the HO scenes they are a bit disappointing. They are very cluttered and there are several small items that you need to find. The worst though is that you have to do most of them twice. Not only that, but you have to find several of the same items both times. That is just plain lazy of the developer. None of them are interactive either. Another thing that was a bit disappointing was that you have to do some errands for the characters you meet for them to reveal some more information. Clever idea and fun a couple of times, but this happens so often that you feel more like an errand boy/girl than a detective. Towards the end the game is great though, both story wise and game play wise. It is truly a grand finale. I could not find a difficulty setting in this game, so I can only assume it is just the one. I did find something called "attitude setting", but I figured that had to do with language. There is both a journal and a map. The map is not very helpful, but it is still a cool map. The journal is almost totally necessary in this game. The hint button recharges rather quickly, but isn't always available. There was a couple of times in the game where I really wish it was. Specially seeing you don't get any information on what is going on and what you need to do with certain puzzles and tasks. This game should ensure some entertainment for the advanced and expert players out there, but also beginners should at least try it out. It is challenging and engaging even with the few setbacks it carries. I would dare to say highly recommended. I would have given it 4.5 if possible, but ended up on 4 because of the "flaws" described earlier. Not much more would have to be done to make this a clear 5. For the guys: No gender bias in this game as you are only referred to as "detective". Also the story should be appealing to both genders. TJ November 9, 2012
strange game I really like all of my MCF games but this one was somewhat strange. The real people talking all corny and all was a hoot. But I hated the voice over on the last game that man was irritating and loud. Mostly he made me jump out of my skin and not in a good way. I just turned the sound off on the end game I didn't like it. The games were fairly hard and took some time that was fun. Really my most favorite part of the game was the end with the two husband and wife talking, that was hysterical....good laugh....Not a bad game but not as good as my other MCF games. December 8, 2011
The 13th Skull The game was pretty fun. I am new to this kind of game but I have played a few others. I'm glad they had instructions on the bottom like "Go talk to So and So about such and such" because without that, I wouldn't have known what to do a lot of the time. It ran me around a lot and took me about 8 hours to complete. The very end puzzle with the map was really fun once I figured it out. The three main things I didn't like about the game was: 1) For the puzzles it basically just was like "Here, do this" and that was it. Nothing telling you what to do. You have to sit there trying to figure it out or use the hints. There were some puzzles that I ended up skipping because I didn't understand what to do or I couldn't figure it out or I'd just taken a really long time on it and I got frustrated with it. 2) During the final task you have someone following you around speaking to you every other minute, either saying hurry up or great it's up now hurry up with the rest of it. All the speaking ruined my concentration. I was trying to figure out what to do and the person just kept talking. I just ended up muting the sound so I didn't have to listen to him. Sometimes the subtitles of what he was saying covered up what I was trying to look at so I had to wait for them to fade before looking again. 3) The ending. (SPOILER) After you completed the final task, you expect SOMETHING to happen but it just cuts to credits. There's this guy who has been following you with a gun to your back saying stuff like "Don't even think about trying to get away" and when you finish the task it just ends. Cut to credits. Overall I think the game is good. The ending could have had more but the entire game as a whole was entertaining and kept my interest until the end. February 29, 2012
Brilliant game...Poor direction....Too vague... I am a seasoned Hidden object gamer who rarely if ever uses the hint or walkthrough...But this game can be so vague at times it can challenge/frustrate even the die hard player...After 12 skulls the BEST clue they have is "Find the 13th Skull" are you kidding me! The characters, story all graphics were great...some of the technical problems...slow, or no response to glass on the door, metal detector could have been better. All in all great game but come on, the creators wouldn't sit for hours trying to figure this one out! January 16, 2012
Rather Difficult The challenge to this game was rather difficult for me. I found myself spending more time on the walkthrough than playing the game. Several times I found myself wondering about all the scenes wondering what to do next, more so, than the usual HOG. It seemed a great deal more challenging than Dire Grove, which I didn't have any problems with. The only reason, I put like, instead of love, is the annoying tasks one must do for the characters. It didn't feel real having one do this, instead of just investigating the crime. I also didn't care for one of the characters screaming at me, to finish up the game, so I turned the audio off. Otherwise, it was interesting to speak with the characters throughout and some really crazy things happened. I liked the mystery part of the story line, to try to keep you guessing! As usual, MCF, doesn't disappoint with visual and sound quality. I did have fun with this one, but if I had to choose between the two, I'd pick Dire Grove, instead. January 2, 2012
Good Theme, Challenging and Long, subplots could be better This game took me longer than others I have played to finish so I feel like I got my money's worth. It was not that difficult to figure out what to do from scene to scene so I was not getting frustrated. The puzzles were fairly challenging and I had to take a break with some of them. There were also plenty of them. I liked that they included a checkers game. That was original and I have not played checkers since I was a child. The graphics were beautiful and creative.I enjoyed the LA theme. I may have gotten the collector's edition if I had seen the extra ending scene before the walkthrough as the ending is pretty flat without it. Making it worse for me, the program crashed at the end so I had to watch the ending on youtube. I wish it was possible to replay the end once you have won and also to replay the dialogue scenes throughout the game. The acting was not as good as in Dire Grove. Much of the story transitions were also very common rather than mystical - as in, most tasks to progress in the game were helping characters perform chores. I think its a little lame in a supernatual-fantasy game to be a detective fixing a toilet in exchange for information. However, I liked that chores were also a way to include HOG throughout the area. Lastly, it was annoying that at the end I was being followed by someone who was rushing me to finish - I had to turn of the voice. Many of the characters were also very cocky. April 22, 2012
Good game although sometimes frustrating. I enjoyed the game but sometimes it just became too frustrating and really needed the option of allowing me to bypass certain things. Not that it was hard to figure out...just annoying. Like when we're supposed to eavesdrop through the door with a glass, you have to find the exact right spot. I found it twice, listened to the convo and it just kept repeating itself so I stopped. But the objective screen kept telling me to listen in on her convo and I had to go through having to find the right spot again and again...it was annoying. There were other spots as well like this that didn't offer you the "skip" option. I liked the live acting. That made the game funner than others with cartoon actors. A little more interesting. Wish more games used live actors. January 17, 2012
Another MCF Well Done! This game has great graphics, sound and story line. It's more challenging than some in the past. The only thing I didn't like about it was once you're stuck,you're really stuck. Anything short of going to the walkthrough,it takes some time to figure out. It's a great game overall. I thought the plot could have been a little better though. December 29, 2011
another wonderful MCF game! The latest MCF game follows a long line of wonderful games of the series. I found the constant help refreshing after spending ages stuck with the first MCF Ravenhearst game and knowing what I was looking for was good, unlike the other games where i would be faced with a task without knowing what I needed and when I would need it. This game had awesome graphics and sound and was fun to play. January 30, 2012
121-130 of 197 Reviews <<prev 1112131415...20next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

Help Sara find her missing husband and stop an evil pirate's ancient curse in Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.