Bookmark

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Shortly after moving into a creepy mansion in Louisiana, Sara Lawson is struck with tragedy when her husband mysteriously disappears. Sara's daughter, Magnolia, believes her father was kidnapped by the ghost of a vengeful pirate seeking to protect his lost fortune. With the locals terrified of the pirate's curse, you are the family's last hope. Only a Master Detective with incredible Hidden Object skills can locate Marcus Lawson in Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.4
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 641 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull 4.2 5 205 205
Brilliant game...Poor direction....Too vague... I am a seasoned Hidden object gamer who rarely if ever uses the hint or walkthrough...But this game can be so vague at times it can challenge/frustrate even the die hard player...After 12 skulls the BEST clue they have is "Find the 13th Skull" are you kidding me! The characters, story all graphics were great...some of the technical problems...slow, or no response to glass on the door, metal detector could have been better. All in all great game but come on, the creators wouldn't sit for hours trying to figure this one out! January 16, 2012
Rather Difficult The challenge to this game was rather difficult for me. I found myself spending more time on the walkthrough than playing the game. Several times I found myself wondering about all the scenes wondering what to do next, more so, than the usual HOG. It seemed a great deal more challenging than Dire Grove, which I didn't have any problems with. The only reason, I put like, instead of love, is the annoying tasks one must do for the characters. It didn't feel real having one do this, instead of just investigating the crime. I also didn't care for one of the characters screaming at me, to finish up the game, so I turned the audio off. Otherwise, it was interesting to speak with the characters throughout and some really crazy things happened. I liked the mystery part of the story line, to try to keep you guessing! As usual, MCF, doesn't disappoint with visual and sound quality. I did have fun with this one, but if I had to choose between the two, I'd pick Dire Grove, instead. January 2, 2012
Lots of clever Louisiana references Really fabulous graphics, music, and storyline. The hidden objects require some attention to find, but are not impossible to spot. I appreciated the subtitles and tool tips, and hints, but . . . the puzzles become very redundant. Most of them require moving things around to reveal a picture, or lining them up in order, or changing their colors; I skipped nearly all of them, as I couldn't be bothered after a while. What happened to the logic puzzles that were in Ravenhurst? I haven't actually finished it, because the final puzzle really is just too tedious -- but I did have a great time until then May 8, 2013
Another winner from the MCF series Wow, I hadn't expected to enjoy this game as much as I did. Although I favor games with dark, spooky themes and really like the MCF games I already own, I avoided this one for a long time because the description of a pirate ghost just didn't appeal to me. But it kept coming back to haunt me because recent sales seemed to showcase the MCF line a lot and the 13th Skull was always staring back at me. I'm glad I decided to try the demo because I really enjoyed the live actors and the story seemed promising. What I liked most was the music and the very realistic sound effects of the outdoors, particularly in the swamp areas. The frequent strumming of the guitar evoked a real cajun feeling of being in the Louisiana bayou (along with the gumbo) and the humor in the sound effects of the patrons in the tavern was a real hoot. The twist in the story really knocked me for a loop and it was a very nice surprise to see my state featured in one scene. After the twist was revealed, the story seemed to take a different turn and I was reeled right in along with it. I loved it. There seemed to be minimal HO scenes and a lot of adventuring, which is what I prefer, so the gameplay for me was very fun for the most part. It was a long game for me, taking me almost eight hours to complete. What I didn't like was being given an objective but finding that I hadn't completed enough of the tasks to get there yet, so I had to consult the walkthrough to see what I still needed to do, which I don't like doing. This seemed to happen only after the twist was revealed, as objectives before the big reveal occurred in a natural order and was the very next thing that you would do. After the reveal, objectives were given that couldn't be accomplished until you performed several other things in several other locations first, thereby throwing you off a bit. Another thing I disliked was not knowing when you were done looking at something because the magnifying glass would let you zoom back in on an object you had previously inspected. And there were many places where you'd get a description of what you're looking at, along with the magnifying glass, but it wouldn't let you look closely at it. It was just there, again I suppose to just throw you off. The journal was very informative in providing the back story of the pirates and the hint button was very helpful in pointing out where you needed to go next. In addition, three descriptive hints were provided for each minigame along with a skip button if you wanted to skip out at any time. I thought that was a very good feature and there is no waiting to use the skip button. Minigames were fun and varied, and for those that seemed impossible, the walkthrough provided helpful vidoes along with the written text to demonstrate some of them. Figuring out the cannons and the map pieces was an altogether different experience but again, the walkthrough spelled everything out very clearly and is a "must have" for this game. I wished that there were more locations to explore, as it seemed that the game time was padded by having you do tasks for people before they were willing to help you. So the adventuring was a lot of meeting up with people somewhere, only to have them give you their instructions so you can run around and go back to them later. I'd have preferred to just explore more areas by myself and not do so much running around for others but then I suppose if this was a real story, I'd be acting just as I did in this game so I shouldn't complain too much. I was a little disappointed that one character who seemed very prominent to the story's setting had very little to do. I would have liked more interaction with this person. Overall, this was an enjoyable game and very different from the other ones from the MCF series. March 4, 2013
Good Theme, Challenging and Long, subplots could be better This game took me longer than others I have played to finish so I feel like I got my money's worth. It was not that difficult to figure out what to do from scene to scene so I was not getting frustrated. The puzzles were fairly challenging and I had to take a break with some of them. There were also plenty of them. I liked that they included a checkers game. That was original and I have not played checkers since I was a child. The graphics were beautiful and creative.I enjoyed the LA theme. I may have gotten the collector's edition if I had seen the extra ending scene before the walkthrough as the ending is pretty flat without it. Making it worse for me, the program crashed at the end so I had to watch the ending on youtube. I wish it was possible to replay the end once you have won and also to replay the dialogue scenes throughout the game. The acting was not as good as in Dire Grove. Much of the story transitions were also very common rather than mystical - as in, most tasks to progress in the game were helping characters perform chores. I think its a little lame in a supernatual-fantasy game to be a detective fixing a toilet in exchange for information. However, I liked that chores were also a way to include HOG throughout the area. Lastly, it was annoying that at the end I was being followed by someone who was rushing me to finish - I had to turn of the voice. Many of the characters were also very cocky. April 22, 2012
Good game although sometimes frustrating. I enjoyed the game but sometimes it just became too frustrating and really needed the option of allowing me to bypass certain things. Not that it was hard to figure out...just annoying. Like when we're supposed to eavesdrop through the door with a glass, you have to find the exact right spot. I found it twice, listened to the convo and it just kept repeating itself so I stopped. But the objective screen kept telling me to listen in on her convo and I had to go through having to find the right spot again and again...it was annoying. There were other spots as well like this that didn't offer you the "skip" option. I liked the live acting. That made the game funner than others with cartoon actors. A little more interesting. Wish more games used live actors. January 17, 2012
Another MCF Well Done! This game has great graphics, sound and story line. It's more challenging than some in the past. The only thing I didn't like about it was once you're stuck,you're really stuck. Anything short of going to the walkthrough,it takes some time to figure out. It's a great game overall. I thought the plot could have been a little better though. December 29, 2011
another wonderful MCF game! The latest MCF game follows a long line of wonderful games of the series. I found the constant help refreshing after spending ages stuck with the first MCF Ravenhearst game and knowing what I was looking for was good, unlike the other games where i would be faced with a task without knowing what I needed and when I would need it. This game had awesome graphics and sound and was fun to play. January 30, 2012
good game ive played this game only once pretty good. November 13, 2011
Not as Challenging But Still a Good Game Compared to Return to Ravenhearst and Dire Grove, this one isn't as challenging to me but is overall a good game to play. Return to Ravenhearst is my all time favorite and I find myself comparing 13th Skull to it. The interviews were fine and real people are fine too but I also wasn't fond of how it told you what to do next. I like the challenge in figuring out where to go and what to do. I also noticed there were alot less hidden object scenes, which is fine because Return to Ravenhearst had way too many...though I expected there to be a little more than what 13th Skull had. I also found the puzzles weren't as hard as compared to Ravenhearst, mixed feelings there! Overall, I enjoyed it as I do with every MCF game! April 17, 2012
131-140 of 205 Reviews <<prev 1213141516...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

Help Sara find her missing husband and stop an evil pirate's ancient curse in Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.