Bookmark

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Shortly after moving into a creepy mansion in Louisiana, Sara Lawson is struck with tragedy when her husband mysteriously disappears. Sara's daughter, Magnolia, believes her father was kidnapped by the ghost of a vengeful pirate seeking to protect his lost fortune. With the locals terrified of the pirate's curse, you are the family's last hope. Only a Master Detective with incredible Hidden Object skills can locate Marcus Lawson in Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.4
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 641 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull 4.1 5 202 202
great game after all I started the MCF with the Ravenhearst series. They were fabulous and most challenging. Then it was Dire Grove, another fantastic MCF game. Then I played 13th Skull. My initial impression was that the game was too "guided" compared to the other games; in other words, I was not allowed to wander freely, but was directed to finish with one area before starting another objective. In comparison to the other games above, this simplified things, but after buying the game, I discovered that there were challenges within the game that I enjoyed. I loved the "real-life" characters and grahics were very well done. I ended up having to use a walkthrough once. This is probably the game to start with before taking on Dire Grove or the Ravenhearst series because the reviews by many players about these sets of games were that they were very frustrating and discouraging. Great game after all. April 9, 2012
More good qualities than bad Overall, I liked the game very much. Pros: I loved the characters and the accents and the interaction. Conversations were a bit quirky but I quickly got used to it. I believed these were real characters I would meet were I to make a visit to the swamps of America's deep south. Cons: The game does some hand-holding and I prefer a bit of freedom when exploring a location. Although the hint process was nice - getting more hints as you needed them - some of the mini-puzzles needed more explanation. Overall, really liked this game. April 27, 2014
More MCF games Outstanding game, liked the live actors (some of them a little weirder than others. Nice storyline but was a little surprised at the ending. April 20, 2014
No gators gonna' eat this detective!!! Well, aside from the fact that the graphics were rather grainy and that this game contained a whole lot of junk pile HOS, not a map really to speak of, a pretty good hint button, some puzzles you absolutely could not skip, and some you could, I'd would have given this a 5-star. Real-life actors, great storyline, so much to do, rather chaotic, mind you, and you're all over the place. The setting was gloomy, of course, but the actors were absolutely wonderful! Except for the ending, which I wasn't all that crazy about for reasons I cannot explain here but if you play the game you'll understand why. The game was rather frustrating at times but I'm not a quitter and I'm glad I stuck it out. Obtaining the13 skulls was extremely challenging and fun and I've never played a game like this before. I consider myself an expert but after using the hint button and skipping a couple of the puzzles that were permitted, I'd say I'm between intermediate and expert mode. Is there such a mode? Whew! This was extremely challenging and not a short game either. A lot of thought went into this game and the actors made it exciting as well. A decent, transporting map should have been included; nonetheless, I highly recommend this game. It may drive you batty! December 7, 2013
Hold the Pickle and Mayo.... First of all, let me preface my review by saying that casual gaming is fast food for my mind- totally satisfying in a guilty pleasure kind of way. Therefore, I like games that let me enjoy the parts that I like and skip the parts that I don't. Imagine going to your favorite fast food joint and not being able to 'have it your way'. What if you didn't like pickle and mayo on your burger, but McDairyKing said, "Tough, this is the way it comes. Take it or leave it." That's how I feel every time a developer leaves out the option to skip puzzles. I HATE puzzles and when the option to skip is not there, then I am stuck with either trying to find a walk-through to push me quickly past it or quitting altogether. It's like deciding whether to choke down that burger or toss it in the trash. Alas, I thought I'd found my perfect soul food in this game and I loved it, loved it, loved it. I savored each sweet and salty morsel... until I came to the first puzzle that I could not skip. I had to look back through my case book and find dates to enter. Bummer, as the previous puzzles had skip options. No biggie, I swallowed that pickle and went merrily along. All was well, the munching resumed in earnest, and I chomped away until almost the end. Another dang puzzle appeared that could not be skipped, no matter how badly I wished it away. That map thing was a big blob of mayo in my last bite that almost ruined the game for me. Sigh. It's not that I can't do them. I just don't want to be forced to do them. I want to choose and not have it rammed down my throat. I'm sure HO haters feel the same way (and I love HOs). Other than that, the game was divine. I loved everything about it, even clomping back and forth (usually a game killer for me). Graphics, actors, game play... everything else was 100% perfect. Except the next time I drive through Big Fish and order a Mystery Case Files to go, I hope I can have them hold the pickle and the mayo. November 13, 2013
Very enjoyable game! I really enjoyed playing this game. It's not the easiest game I've ever played though. I needed the blog walkthrough in order to find out what to do next several times. You are playing the part of a detective who is investigating the disappearance of the owner of a haunted mansion. As you play the game you are introduced to many characters, several of whom are very humorous. These characters give you information and sometimes tasks to do. Eventually you learn the layout of the mansion, the grounds, the graveyard, some other houses, the swamp, and the nearby town. It's a pretty complicated game. After playing it, if I was going to do it again I would take notes about things that I found or that were left undone. That way I would have some ideas about where to go next or what to do. Many times you find an object and then have to backtrack to a totally different area to use it. That's the reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5, because sometimes I just didn't know what to do next and there really wasn't much help from the game. It's interesting and challenging though, and definitely recommended. September 29, 2013
Annoying at the end This was a fun game. I liked the live movies. I only have a few minor things that annoyed me. One guy kept pointing his shotgun at me even after we made friends. The nagging voice at the endgame was so annoying that I had to turn off the sound. At the end of the game I still had a piece in my inventory. Odd. The characters were funny and colorful. Was it just me or did one actor look like Dr. Oz? July 28, 2013
One Amazing Adventure! 13th Skull, in my opinion, is the best MCF Game ever to come out, and, playing it again, I remembered why. While I?m not entirely sure on the game length (I got 2 completely different results on 2 profiles), the adventure I got was thrilling with a sick twist and a conclusive end. At first, the story seems to be your typical missing person case. As you progress, however, you find out all is not as it seems. As you think you might have it all figured out, the game throws you a massive curveball. The ending to the case was not what I was expecting! This is probably the best story I?ve come across. I?ve got to hand it to Big Fish, these guys certainly know how to make a story! The ending was a little disappointing, though. I felt like there could have been so much more done with it, but instead I found it boring. The final cutscene, in my opinion, was not needed. Anyone who?s finished the game will know what I mean by ?final cutscene.? This game was the hardest I have ever played in my life. It was the first time I actually could not complete a game on the first try! The main puzzles that had me stuck (and, as it would turn out, where the ones that were UNSKIPPABLE) were the cannon raising puzzle and the tomb puzzle. On the subject of HOS and Puzzles, I found the HOS to be okay. There were a lot and some were very challenging. The HOS change in every game, which is something that I love. The puzzles were probably some of the hardest I?ve come across. I encountered a lot and was probably only able to solve 3. (Not counting unskippable ones) To be fair, kudos to the developers for giving it a crack, but this really annoyed me. The game was shot in live-action, with real actors and scenes. The only real artwork was found in the puzzles, which I thought was well-done. On the subject of the actors, most were done pretty well, with the exception of Charlotte Landry. Her acting was SO over-done, it wasn?t funny. The conversations were so dragged out and boring, on the second time around, I skipped every option with her. My favourite character would have had to have been the Bartender. She was the only character that actually seemed ?real? throughout the whole game. I say real, because I thought she was the only character portrayed realistically, and at times I felt like I was actually in the bar with her. There were two things that I must note that I absolutely hated: Number one- this game had UNSKIPPABLE PUZZLES! There is NOTHING in a game that infuriates me MORE than unskippable puzzles! To make matters worse, there was not only one, but three! Granted that one wasn?t hard, and one was the final puzzle of the game, but there is really NO EXCEPTION for Unskippable puzzles! As players, we have the right to decide whether we play or skip the puzzles, and developers have no right to take that from us! Number two- I absolutely could not STAND talking to Charlotte Landry! This is number two on the list of things I hate most in games- Over-acting! One game had it previously and was heavily marked down for it. Her conversations were the longest in the game, and they were so dragged out. I had finished reading the subtitles and she was not even half-way through speaking! I ended up skipping ALL her options. For these two reasons, this game loses an entire star. FEATURES - One mode of difficulty. - Hint and Skip- Both recharged fairly quickly. Most reviewers said the hint was holding our hand, but I found it to be very useful. - Diary. The Diary keeps track of important notes and puzzle hints. The Diary will need to be referred to constantly throughout the game. - Map. The map, at first, seems useless as it is not interactive and does not inform you of tasks. The map is a vital part of the second last puzzle of the game, and there are 18 map pieces to collect. - The game runs in objectives, so you always know what your next task is. One painful thing, the hint is not available for 3 objectives, and we are left wandering until we figure out what to do. I really enjoyed this game and have now beaten it twice. Since I played 2 profiles and got two different results, I have no idea of the game length. My first profile gave me 4 hours, while the second gave me around 2-2 . All the same, no matter what your game length, you are sure to have one fantastic adventure! July 2, 2013
Pirates Meet Mystery Case Files!! I have played pretty much all of the Mystery Case Files games and this one to date has been the most fun for me. I loved the graphics, the music and the challenge of the actuall game. Talking to all of the characters got a little annoying at times but finally realized that it was important to do so. The tasks the characters lay out are challnging and fun. The skulls give the game a level of spookeyness that makes it worth buying the whole thing. After playing the demo I was intreaged enough to purchase the whole thing. I can't wait to play the latest and greatest adventure from Mystery Case Files!!! February 17, 2013
Fun! I really enjoyed the live actors in this game - it made interaction with the characters more enjoyable than the typical games on bigfish. The graphics and storyline were very good - much better than most - and the game felt long... which is always a good thing :) I loved the Louisiana atmosphere too! I always like puzzles a lot more than HOG scenes, and typically solve them without hints. The reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that there were times when the objective of a puzzle wasn't explained or obvious. The hint system explained what to do on the first hint typically, but my personal preference would have been for slightly harder puzzles with instructions. This is a very minor point, but I also didn't like having the objective for whatever point in the game at the bottom of the screen at all times. I felt like I had to do that particular task at that particular time. Overall though, a very fun game and definitely worth a credit! January 12, 2013
141-150 of 202 Reviews <<prev 1314151617...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull

Help Sara find her missing husband and stop an evil pirate's ancient curse in Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.