Bookmark

The Stroke of Midnight

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

With her deadline looming, a romance author escapes to Eastern Europe with the hope that a trip to Transylvania can provide the inspiration she needs to rewrite her latest book. But soon her discovery of a Victorian-era love triangle provides much more than a new storyline: it provides an entire novel’s worth! Reunite the long lost lovers in the afterlife in The Stroke of Midnight, a fun Hidden Object game.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.5
  • CPU: 800 Mhz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 396 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
The Stroke of Midnight

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

The Stroke of Midnight

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

The Stroke of Midnight 3.4 5 46 46
The Stroke Of Midnight Played the 1 hr free version MONTHS ago & let it get away from me. I have spent months trying to find it again. Just when I was about to buy another game I thought I'd give this one a try. I was so VERY HAPPY when I discovered it was the game I'd been searching for. Bought it IMMEDIATELY. It has to be some game if I'm willing to seach months for one game in particular. Wish there were more games like this one. June 8, 2014
Stunning Graphics and Visuals PLUS = I was a little worried when downloading the demo that I would have a horrid time with the "panaramic" type view mentioned by reviewers. I had previously tried playing the 360 game series and felt dizzy after a while, so never purchased them. But after trying the demo I immediately bought this game, and loved the "zoom" effect of scanning around the room. I did have to remember that it was a scanable screen when I kept missing items, not used to having to scan up toward the ceiling to find things. Kudos to the developers, this was very innovative! I enjoyed the graphics, I love exploring beautiful rooms and grounds in homes and castles, and the story line kept my interest (although I frowned towards the end, it was like, would you expect giving aspirin to help cure someone who got hit by a car?) But the storyline was inventive, and the ghosts were engaging characters. MINUS = Because the story was really very linear, I don't know if replay value will be very good November 27, 2011
First experience with panoramic, hesitant at first but now I'm sold! The only con I have with this game is the small font and lighting causing difficulty seeing smaller items sometimes but love the concept and that it takes you straight to next stage and REALLY LOVE the hideen object area where rather than having to click a Hint button and w-a-i-t-i-n-g for it to recharge.you can click the item in the list and it goes straight to item and no recharge time. I would also do away with prompt, not just on this game but ALL BF GAMES, "questioning" me if I'm sure I want to Skip a puzzle. I wouldn't be clicking the Skip button if I wasn't sure. There wasn't an indication that there might be another game along this design but I sure hope so. A VERY refreshing perspective from the usual. Thank you!!! :-) December 12, 2011
Good game, too short!! I really enjoyed this game and it's story. That is what hooked me in. Also not your standard HOG. More innovative. Only problem was I solved it to quickly. Got so engrossed in the story, which was well told and well done, that I couldn't stop and finished it all too soon. Without killing the story. They could have added more details to all the characters by taking us into the cemetery. That might have evolved and lengthened the tale. But all in all. Quite enjoyable. January 3, 2012
Wow this is great! I just finished my FREE 60 min. and just purchased the game. Wow it is really fun. The graphics are nice and I love the moving about. I didnt give it 5 stars because I wish on the puzzles we had a hint button or skip. However I have been able to finish them. I do wish there was a little more explanation on how to get around, or instructions but I am very thankful for the walkthrough. I always want to give a high 5 to all those that do those for us. Thanks. January 13, 2012
Unrequited love! Me and this game, I mean... I fell in love with so many aspects of this game: the gliding movement from scene to scene, the panoramic viewpoint, the in-scene HO lists, the fact that it was more puzzle-oriented, the haunting yet unobtrusive music, not having a 40-item inventory of obscure objects. Unfortunately, I didn't fall in love with the game mechanics. The harpsichord puzzle did me in. It took fully a dozen tries to get the tuning fork to stay where it belonged, and I never managed to get the tuning knob to go where it obviously needed to be. Which leaves me exceptionally disappointed! I always loved these Myst-like games and was heartbroken when gaming trended away from them. These games actually made you think; they weren't instant gratification. Sometimes it would takes you days and days to finally complete them, and you'd have pages of notes covered with clues, unfamiliar characters, drawings, and maps. I hope these devs don't become discouraged with the industry and continue to work on improving this and developing new games in this genre, because this one was stunning. A bit of improvement in the game mechanics (and perhaps the length) and they'd have a winner. March 3, 2013
Overlooked Gem of a Game Stroke of Midnight deftly blends HOS and adventure games into a beautiful, fun game with a little mystery and love thrown in for good measure. I doubt anyone would arrive at a castle in a foreign country for a vacation to find it in severe disrepair (missing/broken windows, etc) and NO humans around--then decide to go ahead and stay there! I know, suspension of disbelief...but other than that, this game was quite good. A lot of beautiful graphics, lots of lovely HOS and lots of things to do. The main character, a romance novelist, comes to recharge her creativity and finds herself amid ghosts with a mystery/story to tell. The crux is a love triangle, with 2 fathers wanting to unite their children & families...naturally, one of the children is in love with someone else. Hints/Tasks come by way of mirrors, so no traditional hint button necessary, although you can click on the mirror's initial clue for more info. You follow the ghost to your next task. Most of the time I didn't need any additional help, but there is a blog walkthrough available. For the most part, what to do next usually either makes sense or is hinted at by objects you get from the HOS. I enjoyed this game, even with the romance novel angle, as the graphics were gorgeous, the puzzles hard enough without being frustrating, plenty of HOS and plenty of adventure. The only CON in my opinion was the length--I wanted more game play! It took me about 3 hours to play. Not too easy, not to hard, a solid game that is truly intermediate. I was pleased with the number of HOS, as that is my favorite genre. Download the trial and decide for yourself--you may find yourself sucked in, as did I! April 23, 2012
Refreshing Change from Standard Hidden Object Fare Stroke of Midnight is an unusual hidden object game in that most of the scenes are in pseudo-3D, which enables you to pan around the scenes to look for clues and you transition to new scenes by moving into / through the scene are viewing. I enjoyed this effect because it creates a more immersive experience. The graphics and art design are quite good for this genre of game and the panning / animation is quick and smooth on my PC. Audio is also good with nice environmental sound effects and reasonable voice acting. The narrative (figure out what happened to a lover's triangle by watching their ghost reenactments) is a little trite but still interesting. The hidden object scenes are nicely rendered but very easy. The inventory puzzles are also quite easy because you don't have an inventory: you can only pick up one object at a time, so you must use it immediately after picking it up. Despite how easy the game is, I still found it enjoyable and I would like to see more games done in this 3D style. I recommend this game if you like easy hidden object games and have a reasonable graphics card in your PC. The 3D effects are a nice change of pace! April 30, 2013
BEST PLAYED ON A DARK STORMY NIGHT A romance novelist with writer?s block travels to spooky deserted castle in Romania to generate ideas and plots. Story even captures the interest of us who would never read a true romance novel. A journal follows you room to room and becomes a complete novel once the game is completed. Everything happens at midnight and when the heroine is startled, you will be startled. There are also a couple sudden loud noises, so best to play in the dark. Progressively challenging. Linear gameplay. Good balance between puzzles and HOS. No backtracking. Actors voices are natural and pleasant. Excellent graphics. Inventory/HOS/Hints: Takes some getting used objects floating along with your cursor to where them. Not the usual hint system - mirrors hold riddles that provide hints of what actions are needed. 20 short chapters. Length 2 to 3 hours, unless you get horribly stuck more than once. July 29, 2012
Captainalfie The Stroke of Midnight is a stroke of genius. I played it twice (with a long interval in between plays) and it was as much fun the second time. Although I found the "lag" in movement and object retrieval a bit slow, I thought the ability to change perspective to widen the scene surface and angle added a realistic feel to the view. Within the context of graphics that are just beautiful, the mix of HO, puzzles and adventure (story), this game should please those who enjoy all genres. I thoroughly enjoyed this game. March 30, 2014
11-20 of 46 Reviews <<prev 2345next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Stroke of Midnight

A romance author has stumbled upon a Victorian-era love triangle, and must reunite the long lost lovers in the afterlife!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.