Bookmark

Dark Ritual

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Step into the shoes of a detective who has been approached by the FBI to take over a terrifying case and stop a Dark Ritual! Explore Dr. Seymour Brown's spooky mansion and see what the crazed scientist has been experimenting with! Track down your missing sister and help Agent Johnson stop the insanity that has taken over Blackwood Mansion in this intriguing Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 194 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Ritual

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Ritual

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Ritual 3.7 5 50 50
worth a look if you love hidden object scenes for a daily deal If you like a lot of hidden object scenes, quite a lot of them are junk pile and wandering back and forth a fair bit - then this is worth a try. I bought this as a DD, and it passed the time nicely. I am surprised that this is only a year old as this game by VOGAT plays like a much older game. The plot line is the mad scientist gone awry and your sister has disappeared and you along with a FBI agent look for her. It's standard fare but I found that part enjoyable enough. The hidden object scenes, are many and you do repeat them sometimes, especially near the end nearly immediately afterwards. There is 2 choice of settings and both give you sparkles and the 2nd level I played on also had the random click penalty in the hidden object scenes which I dislike. The puzzles were about medium difficulty and scattered throughout the game and although nothing great, at least kept me playing it along with the graphics. I liked some of the scenes (not hidden object) and the airport I thought was a bit different from the usual. Length was about 4-5hrs, which was fine as I was getting bored and wanted it to end. I don't like all those straight junk pile scenes so wouldn't recommend it, but if you do take a look or if you can get it as a DD. I'm rounding it up to 3 stars as I got it as a DD so felt for that, it was worth it. May 15, 2012
Lots of reading!! This is really a four star game if you consider plot, puzzles, HoS and graphics. It's thrilling and not too scary. The problem is it's way too much reading and although voice overs in the cut scenes, books, notes and articles you find are not read aloud. Neither talking to characters you meet. And boy, do they talk sometimes! I played this with my husband, who is a slow reader while I'm a speed reader so we ended up me just giving him a briefing of the most important details in like for example four (4!!!) pages in a book. I still recommend this game but you shouldn't buy it if you don't like to reading because if you skip that you will miss the plot and important clues. May 8, 2012
More HOG than adventure - A guy's review *review based on completing the full game in advanced mode* The premise and the basic storyline is quite interesting, and could have been a top contender if they followed through with it. The story gets broken up by so many HO scenes that one loses track of the story itself, and ends up making the story itself very short. Yeah, at first I found myself a bit captivated by the plot, but before getting far into the game I started thinking to myself "oh no... YET another hidden object screen. There are many of them, and not only that, you visit each one twice. I guess that is a good thing for pure HOGists, but I missed a bit more adventuring and other things to do. Thankfully it does get broken up with a couple of puzzles once in a while. Non too difficult, but the change of pace is welcoming. I found the graphics to be good, not great, but definitely not bad. The many HOG scenes are cluttered scenes, not too overcrowded, but many items are way off true size and in dimensions to other items, and this might be off putting for some. Some of the first HO scenes are mildly interactive, and items already picked up from the first visit, comes back the second time. Even the puzzle related ones that you have picked up and used elsewhere. The music and few sound effects are maybe where the game shines the most. It really reflects the atmosphere quite well. The animations are cheaply done and this game would have done much better with some voice overs. I think they are trying to be somewhat spooky, but the lack of voice overs and slow moving animations makes all of that non existent. I also found it annoying that after reading the text it was not enough to click the button to continue. No, you had to click, then move the cursor to the top right corner to click next. The game has two modes: Casual: Helpful sparkles, hints/skip recharges faster Advanced: HOG scene sparkles only, slower recharging. The game/HO's/puzzles are not the most challenging and the game is not very long, so expert players might want to stay clear unless getting it on a nice deal Not recommended to others than the ones who appreciates HOG more than adventure and find themselves comfortable in a beginner/intermediate difficulty rating. For the guys: There is nothing girlish about this game except for playing a female character looking for her sister. The storyline touches an interesting subject, the little story there is. TJ May 27, 2012
Just okay This game took me several days to play, not because it was hard but because I kept getting bored with it after an hour or so. The back and forth between the same ol' scenes was rather repetitive, the characters were flat, and the story wasn't very compelling. It was okay, but nothing special. January 31, 2012
It's all OK for me! The storyline truely lacked in keeping me interested, it all seemed to familiar to other games. The graphics were mediocre at best, no VOs all reading and it goes so slow you dont know whether its done or not. The puzzles pose no challenge they are so easy. I guess I am glad I got it on sale! It was however a decent game for a quick break between my more challenging games and so I still recommend the game! May 8, 2012
Middling and rather boring Dark Ritual is a very mediocre HOG. Many of the HOS are very good but just as many are dark with virtually invisible items. The good news here is that random clicking is not punished and therefore does work well on the impossible to find items. The artwork is well below average in many of the HOS so the authors simply made everything very dark in those HOS. That contributes to the overall feeling of mediocrity. The game is long and very often boring. I found it easy to leave it after an hour or less and come back another day. Working only until bored, it took me 5 days to finish the entire game. The puzzles were fairly simple and I worked out most of them. The bright spot in this HOG is that the puzzles all come with instructions; you actually are told what the objective is, rather than blindly try to figure out what you are doing. That made the puzzles much better than several of the HOS. I skipped one long puzzle that seemed pointless, and accidentally hit skip rather than the objective on another. I wish every HOG puzzle clearly defined the objective up front. The cut scenes were stills rather than animations, so you had to click through them. The sounds and music were annoying, so I turned off the sound completely. If there were voices, I didn?t know it. This isn?t a bad game at all, just long and boring. May 5, 2012
Not bad to pass the time away The game itself was pretty good though there are better games out there. The HOS were pretty clear and not too clutterd, The storyline is similar to other games that ive played and you can pretty much guess what happens next. Though the crypt scene game me a bit of a jump :D April 1, 2012
Play it if you only love HOG This is a old game from Vogat, which is a good developer. But now days it will not keep up with the new really good games. There were no voiceovers but the music was good. The graphics were clear although the artwork seemed pretty average. There were 2 modes of play. I found the cursor clums. You get a diary but it doesn?t give any help. There are lots of locations in the game & quite a lot of going backward & forward but not so much that it became tedious. The hidden object scenes were mainly junk piles although some of the items were well hidden & the mini puzzles were pretty easy. There were a lot of H0s & puzzles. It is a good long game to play, took me around 5 hours so worthwhile getting for this reason but for myself I got rather bored by the time it was over. June 19, 2013
Dark Ritual Your sister has been missing for months with no leads until FBI agent Johnson informs you that the FBI is investigating Dr. Seymour Brown as the prime suspect in the disappearance of your sister. Agent Johnson believes that your sister is being used in a governmental weaponization project, mind control, even worse, an ancient Dark Ritual. When you arrive at the family mansion of Dr. Brown, everyone starts behaving erratically, including Agent Johnson whose eyes are glowing an iridescent blue as he mumbles that his master is calling him! I would have given this game a higher rating if I didn't have to scan the entire room until my cursor had a small gear, hand or magnifying glass within the same cursor. The cursor itself doesn't change, just the icon at the bottom of the cursor, because there isn't enough of a change in the cursor, many things get overlooked the first time around. The graphics aren't bad, but there are no voiceovers, just dialog boxes to read, and the different characters just suddenly appear then either suddenly disappear or move stiffly back and forth as if someone is flipping through cartoon cell pages as quickly as possible to give the appearance of movement. There are a lot of Hidden Object Scenes in this game, they are slightly interactive list finds such as picking up a knife and using the knife on a pumpkin to make a Jack-O-Lantern. Some of the items were very well hidden and I had to use the hint button on more than one occasion. I actually liked most of the mini games, most were simple puzzles such as turning valves until all three tubes had equal amounts of fluid. The mini game I enjoyed the most was sliding different shaped puzzle pieces on an H grid with an extra space below the horizontal bar of the H, until the correct pieces were in the correct positions allowing the lock pieces to come together around the puzzle pieces. There aren't any extras, no collectibles, no frills, there isn't even a map available, and the hint system will only tell you there's nothing to do here. It isn't a bad game, and can be quite entertaining especially if you like a lot of HOS and some interesting mini games, enjoy! July 9, 2014
Meh The HO's are fairly straightforward and back to back. There's a decent amount of back and forth which I hate. And the puzzles are not very challenging. March 6, 2013
31-40 of 50 Reviews <<prev 2345next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Ritual

Step into the shoes of a detective who has been approached by the FBI to take over a terrifying case and stop a Dark Ritual!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.