Bookmark

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After leaving something in your car, a hitchhiker vanishes! Track her down and return her things in Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker! Explore a spooky landscape as you figure out where the mysterious woman has gone in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Dive into a deeper mystery as you progress through incredible locations and scenes!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 254 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Language
  • Mild Violence
Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker 4.4 5 140 140
Great adventure/HOG I really, really liked this game...I purchased it because it was the winner of the "creepiest" award and after trying the demo I decided it was worth purchasing. I was not dissappointed...It has great graphics, voiceovers (the whole game is not voiceovered though). It certainly is creepy and there were a few parts that startled me or gave me goosebumps. I do think the puzzles could have been a little more challenging (therefore the 4 star rating) and the HO scenes were accurate and not frustrating at all...You do have the option to play casual or hard (I selected hard and completed the game in 3-4 hours) It has a great storyline/plot and I loved the ending! January 3, 2012
Excellent game - but with a warning... I purchased this as winner of 2011 Creepiest Game and enjoyed it so much I wished I had bought the Collector's Edition! Top marks across the board in all categories! That said, there was something that marred my enjoyment and MUST be addressed so it doesn't go unnoticed. The storyline was well developed, although I felt it took a huge detour. Perhaps the extra level would've answered a few questions left hanging for me. But that is minor in comparison. My main complaint arose during a scene involving the collection & use of a bow & arrow. The whole thing smacked of insensitivity and short-sightedness on the part of the developers. How did this get through editting? If they'd've had the player at least return the equipment to where the player found it after completing the task, this act would have gone a long way towards addressing the insult - with the least impact on the game. Seemingly little things like this can have huge, unintended consequences. I noticed; surely others did too. With this warning in mind, the game is well worth playing! It follows the best traditions set down by games like the Ravenhurst series, Stray Souls:Dollhouse, Twisted Lands (both), and the totally fantastic Phantasmat! I'll be interested to see what this game company produces next. January 7, 2012
Mayzy's Review- Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker I am constantly on the prowl for a game that will actually scare me and this one had a few moments that actually gave me a spook. That's a good sign in my book. In addition to the occasional chill factor, this is a well put-together game. The story is a little cliche, but the world is nicely depicted, the plot unfolds well and the music adds great ambiance. The graphics could have used a little tweaking (specifically in the hidden object portions, which had a real 'copy and paste' feel) and I would have liked to have seen more actual puzzles, but all in all this is one of my top favorite games. Definitely worth sticking around for the little surprise twist at the ending. January 4, 2012
Scary Game! i was liked it. But i will rate this shiver the vanishing hitchhiker more than 5 stars if you give me the free game and full version..:P September 20, 2014
EXCELLENT! The opening roped me right in like a good novel. Your character picks up a hitchhiker, who forgets her bag in your car, so you turn around to return it to her, but she vanishes into the town, so you visit the houses and try to find her. Pretty creepy town, the atmosphere was sufficiently eerie and the things that happened along the way were right out of a good horror movie, but nothing too bad or gory. Good amount of locations, Puzzles are plenty, varied & challenging, but not diabolical which I like, the solution is always just nearby or in your journal, you always know what to do next. You usually know where to go next, but when you don't, the HINT system helps you right along. There are tons of things to do throughout the game, it's always fun and there are many mini cut scenes, plus a flashlight & "magical" camera, which reveals things not available to the human eye. The scenes and sounds are very good, the HOG objects are big & clear enough, and you get penalized for random clicking, but not too bad. The HINT button recharges quickly. The 2 downsides are: It would have been nice to be able to talk with more than just ONE villager, and there were a few too many HOGs. Regardless, I literally couldn't wait to find out what happened to that girl. Like a good book, I just couldn't bring myself to "put it down", or in this case, stop playing. October 9, 2012
Really fun game! I loved this game! Not too much fluff with characters talking like some..or annoying music. Graphics are great and I loved the feel of the deserted town. Puzzles were fun and not too hard. My only negative is that the game abruptly ended before I had even unlocked a couple of doors...so it never wrapped up in that way. Quite annoying actually. Still a great game though! August 8, 2012
Overall a fun adventure HOG game This game has a lot of things going for it: great story line, interesting characters, excellent graphics and sound. The reason why I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is that (for me) it had too many HOG scenes versus puzzles. For those who like a lot of HOG scenes, you'll love this game. If you are like me, though, too many HOG scenes tend to begin to make the game boring. Outside of that, though, the game was fun. There was a lot of running around to do, and the puzzles were challenging without being impossible. I never had to refer to the walkthrough, although I got stuck a couple of times, but the Hint button led me in the right direction to what I had missed. The sound and music were nice and creepy without being repetitive and annoying. The graphics were well done, although a little dark (the flashlight came in handy). Overall, it is a good game that took me quite a while to finish, so if you pick this up at the regular price, it is worth the money. April 28, 2012
Well done HOG Just bought the game on the daily special, great deal, good game. Very well done HO, graphics are clear but crowded, I played on advanced mode the HO scenes were challenging, almost always had to hit the hint button on the last item..thats pretty good HO, usually they are waaaay to easy. Interesting storyline, wasn't sure which way it would go pleasant ending, until the last cut scene! no spoiler here..overall good game, would not say great, but good. Ejoyable, relaxing, did not find it "scary" as most stated, whats with that? What do you think is scary? Has a very easy flow, never really wondering what to do next, you do go back and forth alittle, not as much as most, have one gripe...don't want to put spoiler here, but think there are atleast 2 red herrings, I checked the walkthrough when I finished felt like I missed something, should I have gotten the CE, are there scenes in the CE that you don't get with the standard game? March 3, 2012
Worth your patience... Shiver was well worth getting stumped a few times in order to complete. Dreary overcast atmosphere is highly appropriate, but there were a few times - esp in the hospital that I expected something a bit more scary (or gruesome, either would have worked). However, I did enjoy the cliffhanger ending - setting up for a possible sequel. December 18, 2011
Shiver - a good title for this haunting game Combine the adventure provided by a good story line, add the sometimes challenging hidden object searches (with a good hint system), add some moderately challenging but not impossible puzzles, throw in a lot of moving back and forth between scenes, and top it all off with a chilling fear factor enhanced by haunting music, and you have this great game. Some mighty find the story and the graphics a little too intense and might be offended by the occult themes. But it is certainly less graphic than some games, and the story engrossing and adequately chilling for my taste. And the very end of the game left me with - as the game title suggests - a shiver! December 1, 2011
91-100 of 140 Reviews <<prev 89101112...14next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker

After leaving something in your car, a hitchhiker vanishes! Track her down and return her things in Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.