Bookmark

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

1000 years ago, Sleeping Beauty was kissed by a prince, which removed a terrible curse from the kingdom. The rampant briars were held at bay, but the poor princess was left in her slumber. Follow a modern day detective as he travels to Edinburgh, Scotland, and attempts to end the curse once and for all in Dark Parables: Curse of Briar Rose. Dive into this eerie Hidden Object Adventure game and save Sleeping Beauty today!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 800 Mhz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • Hard Drive: 179 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose 3.9 5 79 79
I Have Played This Game Again And Again I have tried and bought many games on Big Fish and there are only a couple I would play again and again and this is one of them. I own both games in this collection and this one is by far the best. I have played it twice the whole way through and I am sure I will play it again in the future. December 1, 2011
What a thrill! I had played the demo quite a while back on another site and had, in all honesty, forgotten about this game. More recently, I had played the demo of the Exiled Prince, enjoyed it and purchased it. I decided to go looking for more games in the Dark Parables series and rediscovered the Briar Rose. I am so glad I did. This is a very enjoyable game. The storyline is compelling and draws you in. And once you're in, you are hooked. The graphics are excellent, you can almost feel being pricked by the thorns. The HOs are well done, with objects being not too easy nor too hard to find. I did have to use the hint a few times because my old eyes cannot always discern slight differences in contrast. I enjoyed the sound track. I usually have it turned way down or completely off but this one actually added to the sense of enchantment. Well done! I would say the level of challenge is perfect for the intermediate player. I you are a beginner, I advise getting the collectors edition or keep the blog walkthrough close at hand until you get used to the style of the gameplay. I loved it. Wish I had waited to get the collectors edition simply for the additional items that come with a collectors edition, not necessarily the strategy guide but I was impatient and didn't want to wait another month for the additional game credit! A word of caution: you can get so wrapped up in the story line that you forget to look for the enchanted items! I highly recommend this game! May 14, 2012
Entertaining Hidden Object Game Beautiful graphics, nice music, & appropriate ambient sound. The hidden object scenes involved finding fragments of items that became inventory items, which did require lots of moving back & forth between scenes at times. This back tracking was the only real thing I didn't enjoy. The puzzles were a little bit on the easy side but I didn't mind that. A very enjoyable game. November 28, 2011
pretty fun game Not that difficult to play. It was a good game for HO and the puzzles can be hard to understand at times. All in all a good game to play. August 13, 2012
TRUELY ENJOYABLE I saw the Dark Parable sale and read the reviews which were very good on each one, and started with this the first one. I just plain had a lot of fun with it. The story is simple, but it is threaded nicely through out the game. The music was nice and fit the game and just flowed along with me. The graphics where beautiful, sharp, crisp. Because it is an older game, it doesn't have any of the bells and whistles like a map, interactive FROGS and the hint button only works in the FROGS (fragmented objects found to create an item.) It should be noted that there are only FROGS in this game. This was a nice break for me. Also , there are only a few not difficult puzzles. With all that said I found the game to be a challenge of my memory and ability to figure out items as to where the go. I should say there is a INSPECT button which is basically a task list which actually shows you the sences you need to go to. Given that this was so helpful I didn't have to use the walkthrough once. There are lots and lots of things to make with the FROGS and lots of freely roaming the game environment. So many nooks and crannies to explore with hidden rooms etc. I just really enjoyed placing this game and would highly recommend this to anyone (except those of you who hate backtracking, or ones who love conventional HOS. September 24, 2012
Dark Parables games are my favorite I absolutely love the Dark Parables series and November 11, 2011
Fun I love these types of games. Good amount of puzzle and hidden object games. November 14, 2011
Beautiful and Fun Hidden Object Game! With an air of mystery and beautiful graphics, this game doesn't disappoint! As the first of the Dark Parables games, you are introduced into a world of real fairy tale princesses and godmothers with a darker twist. The game itself is pretty long and any bonus with collector's editions is worth it. Briar Rose was the first Dark Parables game I played and I fell in love with the graphics and the stories and I've played the others with just as much enthusiasm. The challenge could be a little higher, but the game is still entertaining. The ending is a good lead-in to the second game in the series. Expect to "use" each hidden object scene twice, so if you're stuck, just check the scenes you haven't visited in a while to see if they're active. Beginner or expert, this game is fun and you'll probably end up finishing it in one sitting. October 2, 2012
GREAT...WONDERFUL...TERRIFIC This line of games is superb. Blue tea games has done a wonderful job. The music is hauntingly beautiful. This is the first in the series and not as crisp as the sequels but still a game well worth playing. PROS: beautiful music long game play with loads to do this is a FROG (fragmented object) game great storyline The only con is some graininess in the graphics. I got use to it and was able to find what I needed to find. This entire series is worth buying and playing again and again. October 9, 2012
Dark Parables: Curse of Briar Rose SE To celebrate the birth of their daughter, Briar Rose, the King and Queen hosted a festival for all to enjoy, everyone was invited, except for a single Godmother. This Godmother was a sorceress with evil and wicked intentions and didn't take this well, vowing to get even. That's exactly what she did several years later when Briar Rose pricked her finger on a spindle laced with an evil spell that cast everyone in the kingdom into a slumber and briars began to consume the grounds of the castle encasing everything and everyone in a thick and thorny tomb! Only one person dared to rescue the Princess, a handsome Prince who chopped his way into the castle to free the lovely Princess Briar Rose and kiss her gently on the lips. Well that always works in the fairy tales but this time it only worked on everyone but the Princess who continued to sleep. One thousand years later you are called upon to find a way to destroy the briars that will consume the entire town within 7 days, is this even possible? This is the first game I played that had morphing objects, and I was hooked. Therefor the Collectors Edition is a must for me. Morphs are one of my criterias for purchasing a game and no other series has been able to top the manner in which the objects morph. This is a non linear game in which activities you do in one scene triggers activities in other scenes you have already been to. Some of the morphs happen right away in a current scene, others may not be triggered until you have done something several scenes later so you will need to return to previous locations often to look for morphs and even the FROGS. Your hint meter will fill up faster for each of the morphs you find. The hidden object scenes are actually fragmented object scenes. These are scenes that have several fragmented pieces hidden (some very well hidden or blended) and when all the pieces are found for all 3 sections of an item, the sections will connect to make a single inventory item such as an axe which will be used in the game. The mini games are good, such as choosing the correct three pictured tokens that go to the King, Queen and a Knight such as a crown, a tiara and a helmet, a scepter a mirror and a sword, simple but fun. The Collectors Edition has achievements, 20 morphs, wallpapers, screensavers, music, concept art, Dark Parables novels (very interesting fairytales) a built in strategy guide and a bonus chapter. Personally I prefer the CE but this is still a great game if you don't have to have all the bells and whistles, enjoy! June 21, 2014
1-10 of 79 Reviews prev 2345...8next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Help a detective explore a rampant briar growth in Scotland, and discover the true tale of the real Sleeping Beauty!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.