Bookmark

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

1000 years ago, Sleeping Beauty was kissed by a prince, which removed a terrible curse from the kingdom. The rampant briars were held at bay, but the poor princess was left in her slumber. Follow a modern day detective as he travels to Edinburgh, Scotland, and attempts to end the curse once and for all in Dark Parables: Curse of Briar Rose. Dive into this eerie Hidden Object Adventure game and save Sleeping Beauty today!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 800 Mhz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • Hard Drive: 179 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose 3.9 5 79 79
Another great one! Personally I love dark fairy tales and this falls into that category. Thing about the collector's edition though is I don't really feel that the extras are worth it... It's definitely worth it as a regular edition as the length of the game is good. Just don't feel that the extra gameplay is enough to warrant double the price. Maybe an extra $2 or $3, but not double. But that's just me. Other than that, it's a really great game. In my top 10% of favorites ^_^ So buying the regular version would be a good thing. November 24, 2011
Beautiful Graphics PLUS = After seeing that this was a Game of the Year awardee, I decided to try the demo and midway through, went ahead and purchased. I loved the graphics (very beautifully done) and the setting, really enjoyed exploring the castle grounds. I liked the story line and also the interactive aspects of the game. Since the game was non-linear, I was able to wander at my own pace, pick up different items, and then figure out how to use them when I arrived at the right site. MINUS = This is a Find the Fragmented Object game (FROG), instead of a traditional Hidden Object game. I prefer the regular HO type games, but at least the FROG pieces were large enough for me to find November 27, 2011
Nice Game, Not Challenging Enough Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose is a fragmented hidden object game. It's loosely based on the story of Sleeping Beauty. The graphics are nice and the music is great. The game could be a little more challenging. The puzzles are very easy, in my opinion, and the hidden object scenes were decent. Some of the item pieces are very well hidden. The story is fun, and be prepared to run around a lot. The game has "cursed" morphing objects that are fun to find, and reduce the time the hint button takes to recharge. There is also a hard mode that is unlocked after you complete the game. I really thought the game could be longer. I played both the normal mode and the hard mode one after the other, and it only took me less than three hours. The hard mode went a lot faster, I finished it in a little over an hour. The hard mode doesn't allow hints or puzzle skipping, but the puzzles weren't difficult enough to want to skip in the first place. Still, I enjoyed the game, and am glad I bought it. December 5, 2011
Enjoyable FROG Good storyline. Fragmented hidden objects and a few puzzles. Most the fragments were easy to find, but always spent time finding the last one or two. There are morphing objects throughout the game that will re-charge your hint button. A lot of wandering back and forth. Worth doing the demo. November 23, 2011
Okay Game This is an okay game...I finished it within a couple of hours. Its fun but really quick.. I wish it was longer. November 27, 2011
Quick one! Well I downloaded the trial and in one hour I was in chapter 6! Then I consulted the online walkthrough and realized it was 80% of the game. So I figured it is not worth buying the rest... The fact that I was so quick comes from two factors: the HOS were fast and the level of challenge was not too big and I did not get stuck anywhere. The HOS scenes are fast because you look for pieces of objects that stand out visually. So you do not need to read what you are after and look for it, you just click on ornamented pieces that look odd in the picture and 9 times out of 10 you get it right, Only last two or 3 need more careful attention. The game is nice visually, like a dark fairytale addressed to a younger audience. For me too colorful, but it fits nicely its fairytale plot. It is not a bad game, it could have been more challenging, but not always we need challenge. Some evenings we just want to take our minds off certain matters without too much effort, and this game is good for such occasions. Would I recomend it? It depends what you are after. February 4, 2012
A Different Kind of Challenge This was the first Blue Tea Games game that I'd played. Normally I do the trial version and I've played the demo several times on different computers --just because I always went back to this one. I wanted to know how it ended. There isn't much character interaction, so that may be disappointing for some of you who like to interact with different characters. The fact that you can't click "Hint" when you don't have an objective is kind of frustrating if you're the type to click "Hint" every 5 seconds. The HOS (hidden objects scene{s}) were challenging because of the graphics, I believe, more than anything else. You're not searching for a whole object like "shoe," "TV," "soup can." You're searching for pieces of items. For instance, you'll spend an entire HOS finding pieces of what will make up a sword or something along those lines. Sometimes the graphics were a little fuzzy and made it difficult to find the pieces, but all in all, it was a good game. It got me started on all Blue Tea Games games and led me to Dark Parables: The Exiled Prince. December 2, 2011
Nice FROG, but short This game is quite dark. The objects in the FROS are not easy to find. But still, I like it. The storyline is good. The puzzles are quite easy. There is a good map, showing active locations, and also a journal, summary of the story. Finding morphing objects helps recharging the hints quicker. You can play in Hard mode only after finishing the Normal mode. The game is pretty short. It took me a bit more than 1 1/2 hour to finish... But I still recommend it, as well as the other "Dark Parables". November 10, 2012
Great Story I really like the "twisted fairy tale" aspect of the Dark Parables games. I came a little late to the series and actually played the newer ones first. Because of that, I found that this game was (understandably) lacking the polish in game mechanics and storytelling that the later games posses. However, it is still an engaging and challenging game that offers a great deal of enjoyment and entertainment. Definitely try it out! October 30, 2012
Love the game but... The fact that only the PC users can get the Collector's Edition bonus game (where we explore the vine-filled room) is kind of annoyingly biased. Especially since all the other Dark Parables games have Mac CE. Aside from that minor point, the game itself is beautiful, fun, and the fragmented HOG style is unique and works very well, allowing the items you collect to be more intricate in appearance. The ending minigame feels a little out of place and the game as a whole, for fans of the series and HOG games, isn't too challenging, but, again, it is fun. Storyline could use some work, compared to other Dark Parable titles there's a lack of pathos or a sense of urgency. Still, an all-around excellent game. May 1, 2014
41-50 of 79 Reviews <<prev 345678next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Help a detective explore a rampant briar growth in Scotland, and discover the true tale of the real Sleeping Beauty!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.