Bookmark

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

1000 years ago, Sleeping Beauty was kissed by a prince, which removed a terrible curse from the kingdom. The rampant briars were held at bay, but the poor princess was left in her slumber. Follow a modern day detective as he travels to Edinburgh, Scotland, and attempts to end the curse once and for all in Dark Parables: Curse of Briar Rose. Dive into this eerie Hidden Object Adventure game and save Sleeping Beauty today!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 800 Mhz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • Hard Drive: 179 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose 4 5 80 80
A bit of a let down! Was really looking forward to this game as i loved the other Dark Parables game, the frog prince on my iPad but this was not as good with not much of a storyline to be honest. Wasn't too keen on the finding fragment pieces rather than normal hidden object scenes...far too many hidden object scenes and not nearly enough mini-games. Over far too quickly, finished in 2 hours flat....Wait for the sale and it will be worth playing an afternoon away. February 17, 2012
Wait for it to go on sale - not much fun. You are dropped in the middle of this mystery based on Sleeping Beauty tale and left to your own devices. In the ho you are given an item to find (say a hammer), and you look for pieces of the item. That's it. You find things, put them where they belong and nothing happens - and you are still trying to solve the mystery. Don't bother with the "Notes". They are useless. The "Inspect" ribbon helps you by telling you what rooms have hos waiting for you but nothing to show you progress cept an occasional chapter number. Really not very engaging. Was glad when it was over. Wait for it go on sale. January 4, 2012
Wandering Around This is an older game and perhaps that is the reason for little guidance to where the player is to go. There is an "inspect" guide, but if you cannot remember which direction to go in you just "wander" around. The hint button only works for the hidden objects. I was thankful for the walkthrough. The graphics were nice. July 10, 2014
Fun at times, boring at other times My first experience with a Dark Parables game. The graphics and story line were mediocre. All HOGs consisted of three parts broken into subparts which was challenging due to the blending into the background but after a while, became monotonous due to lack of variation. Each scene was generally limited to one or two actions which seemed to require more movement than challenge thinking. There were a couple of other puzzles but they were simple and sporadic. There was no name for the multiple locations and the map was of minimal use in getting around, most of the determination was by hunt and seek although the map did give locations as an end goal. There was limited use of notes which were themselves of limited value. Back and forth scene interaction wasn't bad but wasn't spectacular either. Ending was abrupt and disappointing and almost seemed unrelated to the context of the story line. As for a game recommendation, I am recommending it but generally only for the casual player who doesn't mind drudgery and likes piecemeal put-together HOGs. February 16, 2014
Ok for a FROG Cute and fluffy. A nice, easy, sweet fairy-tale-style game to help me settle down for the night. Not for serious gaming by any means. I didn't like the FROG part of it; how exciting can it be to look for pieces of items? I hope that fad passes soon, never to be revived. The other problem was that aside from the uninteresting music, there was only one sound effect, no matter where I clicked -- stone scraping on stone. Overall, I'd say it's slightly above average for this type of game. I'm not sorry I played it, but I'm glad I bought it on sale and didn't spring for a CE version. February 16, 2013
It was ok. Compared with other hidden object games, I found Briar Rose fairly simplistic and not very challenging. Probably not enough puzzle scenes for my liking and the hidden object scenes were quite boring as you aren't searching for separate objects, rather pieces of one larger object which are really simple to find. Not my favourite game. November 20, 2011
Beautiful graphics but.... This is a bit of a different HOG in that you don't look for one object, but the bits of the object to put together to use. It's unusual at first but gets old quickly. I didn't even finish the trial. It's a shame because the story line is great, the graphics are beautiful and the soundtrack is nice and in the background rather than in your face. December 19, 2011
Maybe I'm Dumb The game is beautiful. I've bought and liked the other Dark Parable games. Perhaps I'm just dumber than most, but I had difficulty with the puzzles. Don't get me wrong. I like puzzles, but it would be nice to have even a small inkling of what I'm supposed to do. I'm not asking to be told the solution, just give me a hint about what to do. I'm so glad I just tried the free hour. I won't be buying this game. February 18, 2012
Riight... Ok, we all known that not all games are cut from the same cloth. But this game was truly, truly boring. I wish I'd just tried the trial, then I wouldn't have wasted those hours of my life. At no point in this game did I feel surprised, or engaged, there is no plot to speak of. "Search the castle to save the princess" is really all there is. You track around a labyrinthine maze of rooms, playing repetitive mini games, and while I give the creators credit for trying to be original with the HO style, it grows old very quickly. In most games, there is some sense of learning, of accomplishment- not so with this game. And it ends, **minor spoiler here** With a plug for their next game, instead of an ending. Really?! Anyway, this game is one I definitely wouldn't recommend- save your time and try something else. July 12, 2012
Disappointed! I bought this game based on other people's review and was very disappointed. It is so repetitive with constant and ever so similar HOGs that I just found myself sighing and thinking "let's get this over with". The free trial had a nice balance of puzzles and HOGs but as soon as I paid up, that was over and we were into almost strictly HOGs, an endless parade of almost identical "challenges". Graphics are nice, as they are in the Dark Parables series, but the ending was so flat I couldn't believe it. June 21, 2012
61-70 of 80 Reviews <<prev 45678next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Help a detective explore a rampant briar growth in Scotland, and discover the true tale of the real Sleeping Beauty!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.