Bookmark

Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A peaceful sea voyage with your father turns into a Nightmare at Sea when your ship is sunk by the legendary Davy Jones. As you begin to explore the bottom of the ocean, you will discover you are not the only one to suffer this fate. Uncover the secrets of Davy Jones as you meet the other lost souls he has trapped for eternity in Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea, an intense Hidden Object game!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 224 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea 4.1 5 48 48
Great Game! Lots of fun. Fantastic story. Puzzles are good but not so hard as to be frustrating. Takes place completely underwater and many characters to interact with in order to advance the story. January 27, 2012
Adventure and fun all in one!! Good adventure game. Just difficult enough to keep it a challenge. Puzzles just hard enough but not frustrating. Moves along at good clip without ending too soon. Story was well done and nice character dialogue. One hint. Refer to book, map and clues so easier to remember everything. All in all, I recommend. January 7, 2012
MAP and HINT BUTTON I found it very important to check out the map to ascertain where I needed to be compared to where I was; it was extremely helpful to help me not to get lost. HOWEVER, the hint button was NOT nearly as helpful as it should have been. I KNEW in 1 area that there were 2 tasks needing to be taken care of but the hint button would show ONLY 1 of those 2 tasks. I discovered (through the walkthrough) that in that SAME 1 area there were actually 3 tasks needing to be done and the 1 task that the hint button CONSTANTLY referred to could NOT be accomplished until several tasks later AFTER doing the 3rd task in that 1 area. Without the assistance of the hint button, it made for unnecessary running around and frustration and eventually referring to the walkthrough for the guidance that the hint button was not providing. March 5, 2012
Good game, but has some problems.... Pros: Great story Good graphics (animation is a bit lacking tho) Good length Good mix of HO and puzzles Good map (but it's not interactive) Cons: Hints are frustrating in that they will continue to point to areas already examined or that require a tool not yet found -- also circles people already talked to... Characters repeat statements when you click on them a second time rather than saying "off with you" or something to that effect On the same note, characters are very repetitive in their statements during the dialog -- for almost every character, before the dialog box closes, they will say nearly the same thing they just told you... I found that very irritating. You can skip dialog, but you will miss clues in this game if you do that... Several areas remain 'active' even after exhausting everything that can be done... No VO?! Boy, would have loved a great voice over for pirates! The game could have been greatly enhanced with a good VO cast.... I had quite a few technical problems also (game shut itself down several times).... Had it not been for the 'cons' noted above, I would have rated the game 4.5 to 5 stars.... However, I still recommend it... it's definitely a good game but could have been great.... July 24, 2012
Interesting undersea setting I liked the setting and the premise: you and your father are dragged down to Davy Jones' Locker trapped with his other victims. You get to explore the bottom of the ocean where numerous ships (and a plane!) from different eras have been sunk. There's an excellent map that shows you locations where there's something to do and I used it constantly; it saved me lots of time with backtracking! At first I was concerned that the map seemed small and it would be a short game, but there there are a lot of adventure game elements that require you to get inventory items and use them in various locations. This is actually the bulk of the gameplay, with the hidden object scenes and puzzles being secondary. I liked this as it felt more like an old school adventure game. I wasn't a fan of the graphics although I liked how the characters looked. I especially didn't like the hidden object scenes, which seemed grainy to me. I did like that a lot of the objects appear covered in scum and when you click on them, you see the clean version briefly before they disappear. The hidden object scenes were all easy, as were most of the puzzles, although there were a few that required a little more time. I really enjoyed "Boneyard", a variation on the "sliding blocks" puzzle where instead of moving blocks to clear a path to slide a special block through, you have to move each block into a specific position. Overall a pretty good game and really interesting setting, probably would have given 5 stars if the graphics had been better. March 25, 2012
Very Good Game I agree with almost everyone's reviews. This is a very good game that I really enjoyed playing. The story is interesting, there was something really cool about playing the game under water and the mix of reasonable HO scenes with slightly more challenging games made for a good time. I also agree that audio would have been 100x better than the written dialogue. I really liked the bar in Davy Jones' house. I wish there were more scenes there. February 29, 2012
Highly Enjoyable Game Except for the long wait while the skip button loaded, this was a very enjoyable game for me. The HOS are clearly drawn but not unchallenging. Some of the items were obvious; others took a little closer look to find. The map, while not interactive, is drawn in 3/4 view, so it made it easy to discern where there were things to do and how to get there. Because of that, I only needed to use the walkthrough once -- I had missed picking up a pair of gloves. The story was compelling and kept my interest all the way through with lots of characters to interact with. The ending confused me a bit when it said the rescued souls could "live again." Did that mean they needed to be picked up by the Coast Guard, or just that they could live in an afterlife or be reincarnated? I guess you can interpret it any way you want to. I'm giving this four stars. With voiceover, and a short or immediate skip button, it could easily be five. July 18, 2013
Really like this game Sort of weird being alive at the bottom of the sea but other than that ti's pretty satisfying. Nice graphics. Sparkles. Fast hints. HO scenes are pretty straightforward and the number of objects is just right. Puzzles were OK, sometimes tedious but there's a skip button. There's a map that shows you where you are and where you want to be. This feature was nice but inconsistent. Some times the map directs you to a place where there's something for you to do but you have to collect an item from another (that isn't shown) to accomplish the task. August 12, 2012
Pirates of the Caribbean galore! Prepare for battle against the infamous Davy Jones, captain of the Flying Dutchman... you'll love it, except for a few regrettable flaws in the game. Likes: graphics, storyline, soundtrack, length of the game, number of scenes to be explored, challenge... Dislikes: repetition of HOS - even with the same objects to find - and some puzzles that keep coming back... And then there are the dialogues... I know that some people are hard of hearing or understanding, but there really is no need for repeating every sentence twice or even thrice. Once is enough, and if you really need to be told again what you should do, just click on your interlocutor... or take a look a the tasks page in your journal. Apart from these flaws, nothing but praise for the dev's ... I especially liked the map, which isn't a spoiler at all, but boy, believe me, do you ever need it to find your way around with all the objects that you carry around - at one moment, I had 25 of them in my inventory - and have to use one way or another to complete all your tasks. All in all a very good game, which I thorougly enjoyed playing... honestly, I regretted feeling the end drawing near ... so, I may have some seconds, in a while... July 22, 2012
Written Legends, Nightmare at Sea This was a fun game. Not overly complicated, but enough of a challendge to make it interesting. January 21, 2012
21-30 of 48 Reviews <<prev 2345next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea

Trapped at the bottom of the sea by Davy Jones, you must discover his secrets, save your father and find a way to escape!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.