Bookmark

Voodoo Chronicles: The First Sign

Full version game
(595.73 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help out James Voodoo as he investigates a mysterious attack and goes on an incredible adventure in Voodoo Chronicles: The First Sign! Explore the forsaken hamlet of Ravenhill, then travel the world’s wealthiest city, Richtown, and uncover the secret of a lost tribe in this challenging Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Can you save the city from the terrifying monster? Find out in Voodoo Chronicles: The First Sign!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 668 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Voodoo Chronicles: The First Sign

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Voodoo Chronicles: The First Sign

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Voodoo Chronicles: The First Sign 3.2 5 18 18
Steam-punk fun This game has for some reason gotten mediocre reviews but I found it far more than average. Its not a small game, I'm on my third day and I play for hours sometimes. The graphics are brilliant and the story is enjoyable. The puzzles start out easy but vary in difficulty. The voice acting is great and music is fine. This is a really fun game! I don't say that lightly. Some aspects and art remind me of syberia...one of my faves. Its very steam-punk in nature and I love it. Sure..some things are not labeled/listed correctly, not what was drawn but who that plays games here at BF isn't used to this? I can easily forgive a circular saw blade being called a hacksaw and a bolt being called a screw when the rest is infinitely enjoyable. The hints are plentiful and don't take time to recharge (this makes me crazy when it takes 10 minutes for a hint button to recharge) Good grief, Ive lost interest by then! It isn't overly sparkly and I'm not a huge sparkle hater unless you aren't even given a chance to look first like many other offerings here. It was a bargain compared to many duds Ive purchased here. Its a really good game that doesn't deserve the negative comments. December 1, 2011
Work of Genius - A Must for Collectors! What fun to enter such creative gameplay. Like stepping into a "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" animated-type movie. An old Curse rendered by a Shaman for revenge against senseless greed is unfolding. The much-sought English (of course!) Detective James Voodoo is hired to solve and interacts with others! Gotta Love it! Puzzles, HO's, are fun--not mind bending. Played Hard Level. Waiting for 2nd credit to purchase CE. I consider other over-inflated entertainment costs and how much wiser and safer an investment to add another "gem" to my BFG forever collection. Looking forward to sequel. Thank you BFG! January 22, 2012
RARELY HAD TO USE THE WALKTHROUGH One of the issues that I find very annoying for myself is the many times that I have to refer to a walkthrough to play and finish a game. With this game, however, I RARELY had to look at the walkthrough and when I did it was because I'd not moved my cursor completely around/within a scene to pick up an item that I needed to use for a task in 1 or 2 scenes later and had become stuck. So, my point is this: MOVE THAT CURSOR AROUND and make sure that you've picked up everything necessary to progress in the game. You'll enjoy this game alot more and you'll find it much easier to follow. March 6, 2012
And Now For Something Different..... :) This one isn't going to fit nicely into the slot of "games like you're used to", unless you're proficient at putting square pegs in a round hole:) I'm calling this one a Winner, with humor & weird pulled together into a story/game that might test the imagination to follow & enjoy the ride. It begins as a whodunnit when Detective Voodoo begins an investigation into some bad results of a greedy expedition team. The beginning appears to be period detective stuff, complete with great music (that makes you expect to see Bogart sitting behind the detective's desk), "dames" in roaring 20's garb, and a trainride on something akin to the Orient Express. But there's magic afoot, folks, and as you follow the trail, things get, well, as Alice would say, "curiouser and curiouser". With this game's storyline, it was almost natural to move on to a navy ship in wild seas with no crew, steampunk junction (so to speak), a long lost jungle island, and a land where Salvador Dali would have felt at home. It sounds too odd to be comprehensive, but this game is a heck of a lot of fun to play with wonderful graphics, well done voice acting, interesting tho' not difficult adventure play, HOscenes that are clear & often weird in their own right, & a good big dose of humor, all from a dev who obviously unbridled their collective imaginations & put together a game that might leave you saying "huh?", but with a smile on your face. I'm gonna be presumptuous enough to say Voodoo Chronicles isn't about challenge, it's about fun. I'll play this again, & really hope for a follow up. I gotta go 5 stars & a recommendation based on fun & engaging gameplay, humor, graphics, & oddly cool concept. And especially for those of you who like something "different", well, here ya go. Have some fun with this one! July 20, 2012
Great game with minor tech issues This is a great game that somehow got less than great reviews. This goes to show why you should always give the demo a try, then decide for yourself. The graphics are top notch and done in a 1920-ish style with touches of Art-deco/steampunk, which I happen to love. Another reviewer mentioned a resemblance to the Syberia series, or Paradise, which is also what I was thinking. The game is a 1920-40 gritty gumshoe detective story done as an Adventure, with HOP and mini games thrown in just at the right times to fit with the flow. The story, like every other game, has been done before, but managed to keep my interest throughout the game. It takes you to several different locations for a change of scenery. The HOPs are done twice, but that doesn't bother me. There are voice overs for those who can't read, but some of the voice acting was peculiar. I couldn't quite figure out what kind of character the voice actor was attempting to portray. One example was a brawny man who seemed to be the bouncer at a village pub. He claimed to be able to get some horses ready, but his voice kept changing from rough, to gay, to drunk and everything in between. I suppose he could have been a drunk rough gay guy and that's why you give him what you give him for services rendered, but it was just a bit strange. At least there were voice overs so I didn't strain a brain cell reading. Speaking of brain cells, there is a hint button which refills and you get extra hints by finding "little spies" which are floating skulls (not a spoiler). Even if you don't use the hint, looking for the skulls gives it a bit of a CE touch. As for the music...... does anyone really care? It was unremarkable, which is what you want in a game isn't it? If it's done right, it should capture or direct the mood without being noticed. I don't remember the music, so I guess it was good. Now for the not so good. I spent far too much time looking for items that simply weren't there, as in miss-labeled. Some were quite bad, such as a Roulette which turned out to be a measuring tape. There were quite a few of these errors, which in my opinion diminished the enjoyment factor. This is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5. Come on devs, I understand that English is your second language, but after spending all that time and money making a great game, couldn't you find someone who could edit the HOP's? We expect some errors due to language, but some of these were not even close. Let me think of an analogy...... oh, when naming items, I think they just spun Roulette wheel. I know that wasn't technically an analogy, but I think you get my point. Enough said? After all that, I still think this is a very good game which should at least be demo'd for personal taste. Hopefully these devs will continue to hone their skills and their English to an even sharper edge. A reminder to Key Contributors to never be a Reckless Rater. I definitely recommend this game. March 5, 2014
Interesting game The artwork is a little unusual & the graphics clear & well coloured, watch the BFG logo at the top of the game as Felix looks like a film noir detective, brilliant. There are voiceovers but you can skip the dialogue if you wish, they are not the best but better than a lot I have heard & some of it is quite witty & added to my enjoyment. There are two modes; Casual with lots of sparkles & glints or Hard which has sparkles for hidden object scenes only. You have to earn hints by completing tasks or mini games & you get a diary which tells the story as you move along & gives a task list. The mini games are a little more involved than the usual & it makes this an interesting game to play, there is a skip button. The H0 scenes usually have an interactive object, most of the objects are easy to find but some can be well blended & some objects are a little oddly named. I did find it difficult occasionally to pick up an item as I could not quite find the correct spot so took a few clicks to get it into inventory. The game did have some translation errors & the ending was a let down but a good way to pass a few hours. November 28, 2011
THE HIDDEN OBJECTS A number of the hidden object were mis-named, it called for a crab and it turned out to be a lobster, a plate was a bowl, a hack saw was a circular saw blade to name a few, it causes you to use hint when you shouldn't have to, also a number of miss directions in the walkthrough such as go left when you should have gone right, go slow when you should have gone fast. November 22, 2011
Somewhat sloppy gameplay Although this game looked good initially, I found myself somewhat disappointed by the quality of it. There seemed to be a mishmash of styles as well as confusing accents. Why were James Voodoo and several of the other characters British (not that I mind as I am as well) when the game apparently takes place in America? And why did the flapper's accent change throughout the game? There were several errors like the name change from Holy to Howly and even Howlie and two opposing pages in a diary numbered 66 and 68. Small points but still, you would like to think that the developers would take the time to be accurate. In the hidden object scenes items did not always match their description, eg. watch for clock and plate for bowl and sometimes you had to click several places on the item for it to be cleared from your find list. The mini games are okay but as you only gain hints from them it takes the away a bit of the motivation to play them. I'm a big fan of mini games so played them all but they seemed sort of pointless and were pretty easy. Overall it is an okay game but I would certainly do the trial game first. I did the trial but made the decision a little to early to purchase. It wasn't a waste of money, per se, just something I would have only bought if I had nothing else to play. December 4, 2011
Good game until the end.... This was a pretty cool game until the last part. The art and content really changed. It was like whomever was the artist left and someone else took over. The wierd shapes and colors were just not right and the plot seemed to get just as wierd. Good game, but disappointing ending. I would recommend it only for you to see for yourself and you decide...... November 11, 2011
Had Its Moments I liked the graphics very much. Music and voices were decent. I am a big fan of detective stories, but this is very loosely in that category to be sure. The developers go in about 17 different directions in relation to plot. The ending is a bit of an odd cliffhanger as mentioned, though I suppose it might be addressed in the collector's edition. Also, the game is pretty easy. Hints can be collected at any time and all minigames can be bypassed quickly. Objects go into your inventory to be used about ten seconds later. Overall, I think it has promise as a series, but it's questionable whether I'd recommend this one. November 19, 2011
1-10 of 18 Reviews prev 2next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Voodoo Chronicles: The First Sign

Help out James Voodoo as he investigates a mysterious attack and goes on an incredible adventure in Voodoo Chronicles: The First Sign!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.