Bookmark

Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Travel across ancient China and help Yu as she searches for the mythical Jade Dragon Staff. Save your wrongly imprisoned friend in this fun and exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Explore fantastic locations, meet monks, speak to spirits, and much more as you embark on this epic adventure through beautiful China.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.5
  • CPU: 800 Mhz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 250 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff 4 5 64 64
Good storyline, challenging puzzles. You play Yu, a girl who discovers her long lost childhood friend is actually the rightful emperor. You must begin a journey to collect the pieces and restore the Jade Dragon Staff so that you can stop your friend from being executed by his deceitful uncle. Overall, a good game. I liked the story and the many of the puzzles were challenging. You had to think a little more in this game than some other similar types of games. Hint does take quite some time to fill. You will probably need it, at least a few times. I would recommend this game. August 18, 2012
Beautiful Game! Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff is a hidden object/fragmented object adventure game. The story centers around finding the pieces of the Jade Dragon Staff, and returning the rightful emperor to the throne. This is a truly beautiful game. The artwork is exquisite. The music is also beautiful, and very soothing. The gameplay is fun, and there's not a lot of backtracking compared to some games, because each chapter takes you to a new area of the game. I liked the mix of hidden object and fragmented object scenes. I also liked that the game tells you how many tasks you need to complete in a given area. The game was a little longer than average, taking about four hours for me to complete. The puzzles were a little on the easy side for me. But a few of them were unique. December 14, 2011
Good game This was pretty good. Once I figured out that you have to click all over, it was easy to see where to go next. The puzzles were varied but not difficult, in fact, almost too easy. The graphics were very well done and the music was soothing and apropos for the game theme. It is a nice long playing game. The hidden object scenes are good - some things stand out, some you really have to look for. The ending was ok, but there looks like there will be a sequel. All in all, a good game. January 29, 2012
Beautiful Uncomplicated Game This is a beautiful, relaxing game that has much to offer. The scenes are lovely, very well drawn and colorful. It takes you to a vast variety of locations and has several types of hidden object challenges in addition to clever puzzles and logic tasks. My only complaint is the voice that tells the story races through the dialogue in an emotionless monotone which is a shame because the story is a good one. Fortunately the music is soothing and very appropriate to the oriental theme. While it is not the most challenging game out there it is a lot of fun. I would especially recommend it to beginning players but advanced players will be charmed as well. January 5, 2012
A relaxing game to play I usually prefer more adventure and puzzles than HOS, but despite this game being primarily HOS I really enjoyed it. As other reviewers have said, the graphics are lovely and a welcome departure from 'spooky scenes' in most games. I don't usually play with the sound on but did with this game as it is really relaxing to listen to. The storyline is good and the level of challenge is easy to medium but sometimes you don't want to think to much..lol. All in all a pleasant change and well worth a bonus voucher. March 23, 2012
Fun, garden-variety game but nothing too memorable FEATURES: * Causal and expert difficulty settings [] * Task menu [x] * Diary entries [ ] * Hint meter [x] * Penalty for too much wrong or too fast clicking [] * Voice-acting [x] THE GOOD: * Nice ?exotic? Oriental images * Decent length * Task menu is always a plus THE BAD: * Mediocre voice-acting that sounds like it was done from a home studio September 19, 2013
Absorbing The game starts off full of eastern promise. The HO's are different in that you have to locate an area which when found opens a circle surrounded by smaller circles. In each circle is an object to be found in the scene location and not in a junkyard. When all the pieces have been found they form an item to be used in the current location or in a different location. The Storey line is original. A friend goes looking for her childhood boy friend that she helps to escape from prison and she has to enter into various realms in order to track him down. This turns out to be quite a task as he turns out to be the rightful Emperor. The graphics are clear and of a high palette. The various scenes are beautifully drawn with an authentic air of the orient. I cannot comment on the music as I always mute this, mainly because of the repetitive nature. The voice over has an American accent; this should have been an authentic oriental voice to match the game play. The puzzles are not too hard and, in the main, interesting and there are quite a few of these. As the game progresses it reverts to HO's of the point, and click in the junkyard, which then start coming fast and furious. Great pity. True there are still some of the HO's with circles. It is as if the writers of the game ran out of ideas and used a plethora of the more boring type of HOs to lengthen the game and to save some brainpower. I would have given the game 31/2 stars as a result of all the point and click Hos but this will have to be 4 stars. Without all the point and click it would have been 5 stars. Notwithstanding the slight criticism above I would still recommend this game. October 8, 2013
Common malady This game suffers from an unfortunate malady common to so many BF games -- excessive cutesiness. But at least it wasn't cutesy-gothic, which is like having cotton candy for breakfast. As a game it was solid -- good controls, good length, fabulous graphics, and immersion in another culture (at least in the beginning) which I seem to crave. But it could have been so much more. When I look at that dark landscape before the game actually begins, I become wistful of what the game could have been if the writers had been on a more creative streak. Moody, atmospheric, mystical. (Just please, not gothic.) So, a chalenge to the game writers: please try again, and do it right. China, Japan, Thailand, India, any place that can evoke that mood. April 21, 2013
very nice but not perfect Overall this is a nice, relaxing hidden object game with a catching story line. Beautiful, colourful graphics with lots of details. The objects are hidden in classical hidden object scenes as well as fragmented objects along the way. What I found a bit tedious is that you have to revisit the same hidden object scenes again and again and again. Even the object variety is not that big: snails, swords, drums, butterflies, cups, same things over and over again which in the end becomes a bit boring. Nice mini games in between though with a couple of them I completely failed to understand the object of the game - luckily there is a skip button. Another flaw is that the cut scenes are so fast that even a fast reader cannot catch the whole text. Pity. Without these minor issues I would have given this game five stars since it is hugely enjoyable. June 5, 2012
nice visuals, relaxing playtime This game is perfect for those "I want to relax and unwind" kind of days. There's just enough storyline to keep events moving along. The graphics are well done and the combo of HOG/FROG elements keeps it interesting. The puzzles are okay, nothing too complex but not simplistic either. This game is a worker bee--competent, does its job, makes a lovely product, but doesn't have the flash & power of the queen bee. June 10, 2012
31-40 of 64 Reviews <<prev 234567next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff

Travel across ancient China and help Yu as she searches for the mythical Jade Dragon Staff. Save your wrongly imprisoned friend!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.