Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial

Full version game
(546.63 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Step into Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poes The Premature Burial , where Julien has hired the world famous Detective Dupin to investigate the sudden death of his beloved Victorine. After her passing, Victorines husband, who she has no love for, has her buried incredibly quickly, making Julien uneasy. Become Detective Dupins assistant and use your Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure talents to unravel the mystery!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 613 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial 4.4 5 150 150
IF only all ERS games were like this.... I really enjoyed this game surprisingly as I am usually disappointed by most ERS games but I got this one on sale and decided to go with it since I enjoyed the demo. This is an ERS superb quality game and it saddens me that ERS is capable of this kind of genius work in their best series' but lack it in their other mediocre offerings throughout the year. This is obviously the series that made them into what they are now so they put most of the focus and game play into this one but I would love to see them use the same quality in ALL their games not just the graphics. Okay rant over. This game was a pretty good length, took me at least 5 hours to complete it. Loved searching for the roses, you cannot complete the game without finding all of them :) I was satisfied with the SE ending although I would have liked to know if the villain was captured so Im assuming there will be yet another game in this series. I loved how it was a different mystery case from a lot of the ones we see. This is also the first ERS game in a long time that has filled my entire screen so Cheers to that! There were just the right amount of hidden object scenes for me, not too many like some of their offerings. I was very pleased with this game, surprised and hopeful maybe ERS will set a new change of pace with this game and go forward with more interesting games not just boring cookie cutter already been done themes. And there was a new music score in this game!! Some of the same old, same old but a new track which surprised me. They really wanted to impress with this game you can tell AND there is no hint button in the main game so I got lost A LOT! It wasn't overly frustrating though and I only had to click out and consult the walkthrough once and it was my own stupidity why I didn't have the item I need so it was no big deal. (I personally love getting lost because then its an adventure) I look forward to more in this series and hopefully more creative effort set forth by the developers. Kudos! February 6, 2012
Great Hidden Object Game Thoroughly enjoyed this game, not too may hidden object scenes and some areas made me sit back and think rather than having too many sparkles showing me what to do. Well worth a credit. November 20, 2011
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial SE Once again we join forces with detective Dupin to investigate the sudden and suspicious death of Victorine LaFourcade, on her birthday at that! Julien Bossuet and Victorine were in love, him, a handsome yet poor man, her, a woman of society, their relationship could never be! Julien understood when Victorine proceeded with an arranged marriage to a man she didn't love, Renelle Fore, but when she died shortly thereafter and a secret funeral was held, this would be more that he could endure! This is a fairly easy game to play, and although I didn't enjoy this game as much as I had the other Dark Tales, it's still a fantastic game that brings Poe's novels to life! The Hidden Object Scenes are slightly interactive list finds, well hidden objects that aren't impossible to find. The mini games range from simple puzzles similar to blocks, to more complicated puzzles such as rolling a box on a grid vertically and horizontally until you position the box to allow it to drop into the square opening. The Collectors Edition has 33 collectible roses, soundtracks, wallpapers, concept art, screensavers, a built in strategy guide, a bonus chapter and the original Edgar Allen Poe novel, enjoy! July 24, 2014
Poe Still Inspiring Into The Future I love the early mystery writers like Poe and Doyle. I think they would be pleased their stories inspire modern writers and game designers. I have a lot of the "Dark Tales" games and others with Poe's characters in them. I think the art work in this game is eye-catching and gives it a rich, textured look. Makes it interesting and visually pleasing looking for the HO's. I like this game because you aren't constantly going back too many scenes to use an inventory item - had a good flow and rhythm to it. Evening well spent and I think I used a free game credit for purchase - bonus !! December 3, 2012
Enjoyable! I enjoyed the "poetic" narrative throughout the game, the journal is humorous and the detective tries to add some jokes along the way. The game was fairly well-done, puzzles were original and just challenging enough. The music was excellent, I enjoyed the piano, violins and accordions with a touch of France. HO scenes needed work, the colors were washed out and some were border-line junk piles. Some of the scenes inexplicably required you to find items in a certain order or you weren't able to click on them. However, items weren't replaced after you've found them and the scenes were somewhat interactive. I was halfway through the game before I realized there was no hint button! But after that I found myself stuck quite often and had to resort to the walkthrough. Even though the storyline followed an often-told save the girl format, it was compelling and addictive with some twists and turns. November 17, 2012
Find the premature buried girl - or will the ghost be there first? Somehow I missed this game when it first came out and was surprised to find a third one during a recent sale. Review based upon completion. This is the third spin on a classic Edgar Allan Poe tale, this time it's - Surprise - The Premature Burial. In the original there's a narrator from the ego perspective, no love story and no Auguste Dupin. As usual I have to say that I do not like literature being tampered with - in this case I can kinda forgive it since I was not familiar with the original story. The Good: + graphics + introductory video + game length The Neutral: o somebody please tell the person who speaks Dupin how to pronounce "Monsieur" o some very strange pronunciation of French names from the other voiceover artists The Bad: - interactive clues in HO scenes not always clear - in a few occasions senseless running around since you don't know what to do next Bottom Line: Another well done part of the series. September 14, 2012
Totally absorbing I liked this game a lot. The puzzles were nicely spaced, and balanced between hidden objects, and brain teasers. There are were some times when I seriously wondered if the persons who make the hidden object scenes speak English, and if maybe the translations are difficult for some of the objects, but there were relatively few in this game that were problematic. Some of the interactive elements of the hidden object scenes were difficult to figure... i.e. use this piece to dig at some unrelated space to uncover what you are looking for. Thankfully the hints were easy to follow. On the whole, this was a solidly good game with a truly engaging story. January 31, 2012
Beautiful, Immersive Game Great storyline! Great mix if HOG and puzzle-solving. One thing to note is that while the puzzles are fun, they are not super-challenging. If you are looking for a really tough game, this probably isn't it, but if you are looking for a medium-hard game with beautiful art, and a totally immersive story, this one fits the bill. January 15, 2012
OVERALL A VERY GOOD GAME We enjoyed the game it was somewhat challenging, the graphics were excellent, the only negative thing was in the hidden object scenes some of the items you were to find were not what they actually turned out to be after having to use a hint in order to find the item, some examples are as follows, a comb turned out to be a brush, a bowl was a goblett and a bone was a skull to name a few, just be aware that you have to think outside the box and sometimes that doesn't work and you'll end up having to use the hint button but I still would recommend the game December 5, 2011
An enjoyable take on Poe All in all this was a pretty good game. The scenery is appealing and the graphics in the HOScenes clear. Some of the artwork is quite lovely but there are scenes that appear ?unfinished?. In one room there are picture frames on the wall, but nothing can be seen in them. This is quite noticeable because there is a great deal of other detail in the character?s clothing and in the area?s carpet and upholstery fabrics and wallpaper. I?m not lowering my rating for this, but it did catch my eye. Unlike the Poe short story there is no narrator suffering from the fear of being buried alive. There is a man using this technique on others he wishes to do away with. This is one aspect of the story that didn?t quite gel with me. Seems to me that a man of his status could find an easier, less risky way of getting rid of his intended victims. But, this didn?t ruin the story for me either. The vengeful specter was a bit much, but I could chalk her character up to this being based on a Poe story. I think they could have told a better story with less of her, but I?m not lowering my rating for her inclusion. The majority of the game play was pretty straightforward, but there were a few times that I had to exit the game to check the walkthrough because I just couldn?t determine what I was to do next. This is one reason that I didn?t give the game a full five stars. If there had been help in the game play sections I would have rated this higher. The help feature in the HOScenes was fine. It clearly pointed out the object and recharged within an acceptable length of time. The help feature in the mini-games was just OK. It gave a vague overview of the game, but most of the time I had no problem figuring out what they wanted done. But, that doesn?t mean I didn?t skip a few games. There were some that I just didn?t care to play to their finish. My big complaint with the mini-games is that they over-did some of them. In several of the games you have to do three or more versions before you are allowed to move on. In one you have to repeat the process six times. That was way too much for me. The game wasn?t hard, but it wasn?t something I wanted to do six times before getting back to the actual game play. They are called ?mini-games? for a reason. The voiceovers were very good but the music was lacking. It was very repetitive and I turned it off fairly quickly. It wasn?t bad music, but I can?t listen to the same tune over and over. I definitely feel I got my money?s worth with this game and will certainly play it again in the future. Keep your dorsal fin up Tauret December 3, 2011
91-100 of 150 Reviews <<prev 89101112...15next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Premature Burial

A young man has hired Detective Dupin to solve a mysterious case in Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poes The Premature Burial!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.