Bookmark

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Explore a terrifying tale in Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness! Find out why an entire expedition team is dead at the foot of a mountain range in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. After finding the team, Lynn Morgan decides to cross the range to discover the circumstances surrounding their death. Based on the masterful novel by H.P. Lovecraft, Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness takes you on a journey youll never forget!

  • Explore terrifying mountains
  • Discover an ancient city
  • Help Lynn find the truth!
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.5
  • CPU: 800 Mhz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 120 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness 4 5 105 105
Great DD! I actually came across this game a while ago and couldn't justify paying full price for it. By all accounts, it was shorter than most of this genre (true). Every now and then a daily deal comes along that you were actually hoping for, and this was mine. It lived up to all of my expectations. The story was enthralling. Towards the end you are switching between the two members of the expedition, which I expected to hate but which was actually kind of fun. You pull off a rescue on a team with yourself (who better? ;)) I found myself using the hint without even trying to figure things out (a rare thing for me) just so I could find out what happened next. The graphics were superb. For the most part, you are in an icy city built by a mysterious race. It was beautiful. Bonus, if your favorite color is blue (mine is!) Hidden Object Scenes were standard.There were a couple of times where you had to move a box or find another object on the list first before you could find a particular object. This happened rarely, though, maybe 5 times throughout the game. You revisit scenes and the previous HO's are not magically reappearing in the scene, which I like. You also often get multiple objects out of the HOS, which I really like (there is no "I just saw a wrench in the last 5 HOSs and now I need one, but I don't have one!"). There are achievements, but they are mute. They are basically markers for how far you have come in the story. If you finish the game, you get all the achievements. Nothing annoying about them, but the devs probably could have saved themselves a little time. They are rather pointless. All in all, yes, short, but they nailed it on every other point. Worth a try. Who knows, you might get too enthralled in the story to not finish it :). June 28, 2012
Great game With the added bonus of having advice and hint icons (and not having to buy a Strategy Guide, my pet peeve). The blizzard sound effects put me right in the mood. Most of the games were interesting and not too many HOS! March 1, 2012
Great Game w/ a Sci-Fi theme I loved this game. It was a little different than most BF HO games because of the science fiction theme. The HO scenes are relatively easy, but some of the puzzles are a little more difficult than many other games. There is, however, in addition to the "Hint" for HO scenes, an "Advice" button for what to do next. It gives progressive clues as to what to do next starting with just a nudge. The graphics were fine but nothing stellar. The story was really compelling, provided some excitement at the climax and had a satisfying end. Heartily recommend! January 13, 2012
Loving it It's the first game I bought on BFG and I really enjoy it. Bright graphics, thrilling story line. Always loved the Lovecraft stories :-) November 21, 2011
Not Just the Same-old, Same-old. Very Good! I did not realize that this was the third in a series until I came to post my review! With it's refreshingly-different graphics style, an interesting story and appropriately dramatic (but not overpowering) music, the game drew me in almost immediately. Options include sliders for music and sound effects, plus custom cursor, the ability to switch back and forth between easy and expert mode, full-screen and a box to choose your screen resolution (ie. 1024x768, etc.) There is also the option to turn off the effects for those with slower computers There is no random-click penalty. The game starts out in the uninhabited tundra, cold and desolate in its beauty. It wasn't long before I realized that this game is very reminiscent of The Thing, with Kurt Russell - a movie I have long wished to be able to play as an IHOG or adventure game! :o Happy day for me, I got a combination of the two, IHOG and adventure! Don't let me mislead you - the game does not follow the storyline of The Thing, but it is reminiscent enough in [i]feeling[/] that I am a happy camper. The gameplay itself is more adventure than HOG, also a plus. When you do have HOG scenes, you will end up keeping several items from the area, not just one item (as is the norm for most HOG's). You may have 30 items to find in one scene, but only eight items will be listed at any given time. This adds to the difficulty a bit, as randomly guessing what's on the list won't do you much good. Items will not just found via list, for you will also find them by picture. There are no pencils floating in the sky or ridiculously out-of-place items, and no teeny-tiny items to contend with. Also noteworthy of the HOG scenes is that items you've removed previously will not be present when you have to return! Gameplay is intuitive, but in case you need help, you have three choices! First, there is an Advice button, which will give you a general hint. If you hit the Advice button a second time (in the same area), it will give you more specific advice. Then there's also a HINT button, which definitely helps if you can't find a missing object during the adventure portion, and of course during the hidden object scenes. The HINT button will also tell you which direction you need to go if you're confused. (LOVE it! Thank you for the tiered hints, devs!) We have a journal, but it doesn't have a bunch of writing that you'll have to follow - it is more to remind you of where you've been and what you've done - images and scraps of information you may have gleaned. Once again, thumbs up to the devs, for there are no unsolicited hints in the journal! The mini-games are perfectly in keeping with the game and the story, and have a SKIP button, if needed. Next to the skip button is a ?, which will give you the mini's instructions. Every now and then we will change from one character's point of view to another's - something I've seen done only in a few games, previously. It happens automatically, and does not interrupt the flow of the game at all... it seems only natural the way they've done it. There are achievements in this game, but they are more to track your progress than anything else. You don't have to work hard or even try to get the achievements - they come simply by playing the game like you normally would. Still, it was a nice thought. I really do enjoy the artwork in this game - it's quite beautiful, and there are some multi-layered scrolling scenes that add real depth to the game. If you do not like scrolling scenes, you can disable them. Doing so will simply meld everything into one static scene that you can see all at once. I must mention that none of the HOG scenes scroll (a good thing for me!) I believe I'm getting near to the end, and it's been a real pleasure. Definitely a solid game, I recommend it. December 17, 2011
Do this game in daylight! I've never been so caught by a game from the first scen. Bought the game immediately after finishing the "try", just had to go on playing. The ending even stressed me. November 20, 2011
Loved this Game My only complaint is that it was not longer. Of course that way I won't monopolize the computer all day. I thought I'd just play enough to see what it was like and could not stop till the end. Wonderful game! November 19, 2011
Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness This game is extremely awesome..... It does challange you to think. I just wish that I didn't have to stop playing when the free game was up. November 20, 2011
Science Fiction graphics are a change from the medieval ones. For a non collector's edition, this was worth the money. Very staccato texture to the graphics. November 4, 2012
Great game with lots of Atmosfear! Fans of HP Lovecraft will appreciate this game for the great sense of atmosphere that has been brought over from the book. It really feels like you are searching through an alien and incomprehensible landscape with it's own rules. It reminds me of the old PC game Gateway 2 Homeworld. If you are not familiar with Lovecraft but interested in this game, do your self a favor and read At the Mountains of Madness and then check out this game, it will add much more to the experience. Besides, IMO, At the Mountains of Madness is probably the most approachable Lovecraft "Mythos" story and it's pretty short. You don't have to be a die hard Lovecraft fan to enjoy the book or this game. May 3, 2012
11-20 of 105 Reviews <<prev 2345...11next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

Explore a terrifying tale in Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness! Find out what happened to an entire team of researchers!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.