Bookmark

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Explore a terrifying tale in Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness! Find out why an entire expedition team is dead at the foot of a mountain range in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. After finding the team, Lynn Morgan decides to cross the range to discover the circumstances surrounding their death. Based on the masterful novel by H.P. Lovecraft, Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness takes you on a journey youll never forget!

  • Explore terrifying mountains
  • Discover an ancient city
  • Help Lynn find the truth!
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.5
  • CPU: 800 Mhz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 120 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness 4 5 104 104
Adventure Great storyline, keeps you hooked! The adventure and action is frequent, also keeping you hooked! However, I did have difficulty finding some objects due to the unusual artwork. I found the game difficult at times in that I wasn't sure what I should do next. The hint button does sparkle the area you have to do next so that helped, but I hate resorting to that. LOL. I liked the progressive hint system. The music was good. Unique gameplay in that it switched between characters to allow you to complete tasks. Gameplay was average length. Have fun! November 20, 2011
Great fun to play This game from Cerasus Media is based on an H.P Lovecraft story; in 1931 an Antarctic expedition team is found dead except for one who is missing. After finding the team you have to travel across the mountains following the trail of the missing member & you find an ancient city in the ice. This is an adventure with hidden object scenes & relatively easy mini-games (there was a skip button). You are given tasks to complete & these are shown on the bottom of the screen, the hint button which does not need recharge is a little erratic as to its usefulness. Sometimes when I got stuck trying to figure out how to complete a task it would sparkle over an object that helped but just as often I could not understand what the hint was telling me to do. The task list is more of a ?do this next? so more experienced gamers may find this a little too much hand holding. There is a Casual & an Expert mode, the only difference is that the casual has sparkles at areas of interest; you can change mode while ?in the game?. There are 30 achievements to collect. There are no voiceovers & the dialogue is clickable, the music is a little like a film score. The graphics are also fine, a little bit grainy on my monitor; you can switch on ?scrolling? which I really liked as it took you, visually, closer to the scenes & it made finding some objects easier; some of the items are pretty small & not easy to find. Good gameplay although a little short. November 27, 2011
Fantastic and realistic I DID like this game a lot. The story is good, it kept me wanting to find out what happened or what woyuld be coming up next. I liked the two-character play, changing from the one character to the other and back - it made it more realistic somehow, as well as the scrolling option, like you're really looking around. The other thing that made it realistic was, that I had to go back to a HOS to look for something ONLY when it was a logical thing to do. Like: I want to open this door but I seem to need something to hold it up. Where cou0dl I find such a thing? Oh, maybe in that room there... and yes, then there was a HOS in that room. In other games you seem to be forced to backtrack just because there may be an new HOS somewhere, but not with a realistic locigal reason for that. I was sorry to finish it. Good story. Good playing. Original features. December 2, 2011
FUNtastic Game I liked the demo so much I bought it after about 20 minutes. I really like the graphics, The story is quite unique, The option to scroll was wonderful (motion sickness avaoided) AND....there wasn't alot of back & forth to do things (exhaustion avaoided) Some really nice mini games -no sound card right now, so chk out fellow fishies on sound & voice overs) The HO where nice, not junk piles & did I mention a decent story? The length could have been longer, and it really reminded me og the HO game of Hidden Expeditions, only different. November 20, 2011
H.P. Lovecraft Comes To HOG'S DISCLAIMER: I only played the free trial. I was very surprised by this game; I had started to think that the HOG genre was getting stale. However, this game has given me hope. Based on the novel by H. P. Lovecraft, this game has been added to my Christmas wish list. The most remarkable thing about this game is the hint system, I've never seen a game that used anything like it. If you click it once, you will get just general information, like what direction you need to go. If you click twice, you'll get a lot more info on what to do. This helps both the novice and the expert gamer who doesn't want or need "hand holding". The other unique thing was the hidden object scenes; if you visit a site more than once, all the items you found before are removed from the screen. The skip button refills quickly, too. The voice over tells you what you need to know without yammering on forever. I thought the mini-games were nice, but they didn't offer me much challenge. The graphics are good, but don't have the "star quality" of a Blue Tea game, but that's a relatively minor thing. January 22, 2012
Fun Adventure/Hidden Object Game I played the entire game after purchasing. It played between 2 1/2-3 hrs. One of the main things I liked was that once you found an object in the HO scenes, it was no longer there when you went back. The basic premise of the story was the loss of an expedition team w/ you and your companion needed to find the surviving expedition member and save him from ? I really enjoyed the game and would recommend that others at least give it a try. I have not played the other games in this series so can't comment on whether or not it is better. I liked the graphics and the voiceover at the beginning of each "chapter". The hint and advice buttons are very helpful when you get really stuck, as, I admit, I did a few times. HO scenes ranged from easy to medium difficulty. Objects were not tiny, but sometimes well hidden. A few HO scenes you had to find objects by their silhouettes. I would give this game 4 stars, mainly because of length. If I enjoyed a game I really do not care too much about length, however some games I don't want to end because I like them so much. November 19, 2011
Fun HOG! Spooky atmosphere for Lovecraft lovers! Hints recharge quickly at casual level, however, there are 3 levels of play available so it should be fun for all players. Found myself totally immersed in the game, solving the puzzles and finding the objects. Would recommend to all puzzle-loving, hidden object gamers. November 19, 2011
Very, good game especially as a special 2.99 I wasn't sure I wanted to play this first time around as a demo but decided to get it as a special. I really enjoyed it. Cold, gloomy day so this was the right RX for it. I really, enjoyed the story and it was more adventure then usual HO fair. Glad I got it and will definitely play it again. If you want something different then all the paranormal stuff. I say, 'go for it'. I got so involved I finished it. Didn't take real long but enjoyed it none the less. Cheers!! November 4, 2012
Mountains of excellent game play! Nowadays games of this caliber are introduced as Collector's Editions! For me, playing in hard mode, and not using the advice and hints system, it wasn't exactly short. Widescreen, visually stunning, well paced, decent puzzles, good adventure, good story. Wish it had had voice overs throughout, not just at the beginning of chapters. (4.5 stars if I could select that) April 6, 2012
Mountains of Madness This game is very different from others I have tried. It plays a little like a graphic novel. The narrator adds drama to the text which is presented as pages in a book. I enjoyed the interaction between characters and switching characters to accomplish tasks. I liked the panoramic aspect that was available in some of the scenes. I had a little trouble locating some of the inventory items scattered about but no trouble at all completing the hidden object scenes. It was a lot of fun combining items and figuring out the next logical move. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. February 12, 2012
51-60 of 104 Reviews <<prev 45678...11next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness

Explore a terrifying tale in Mystery Stories: Mountains of Madness! Find out what happened to an entire team of researchers!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.