Bookmark

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(614.36 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Help Sam Wilde rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Sam’s every move is being tracked so he has to be extra careful. Putting his journalistic talents to the test, Sam must find the maniac who has kidnapped Anna, and stop him before it’s too late. Explore gorgeous locations and solve tricky puzzles in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Interview with the developers
  • Concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 693 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition 4.6 5 204 204
Excellent game - shame the map was not interactive This is a game with an involved and excellent storyline from MagicIndie Softworks; in addition the artwork & voiceovers really are superbly done. At first I found the psychopath Oscar?s commentary a little annoying but it grew on me, sort of hypnotic in a way. There are two modes of play, casual with sparkles, glints & a 35 second hint renewal & expert with no glints & 70 second hint. You do get a map but it is not interactive & the world of this game is huge so you will have to go back & forward a great deal. I confess I got lost on many occasions whilst making my way around. You also get a journal which details the story as you play & you can also replay the dialogue if you wish. The hidden object scenes are very good, some items are well hidden & there are also interactive objects. The mini puzzles really are splendid, lots of variety & some of them are fiendishly difficult, there is a skip button. This is a game that should keep you involved for hours, just one small observation the story is only very loosely linked to that of Dorian Gray so don?t expect something similar. The ending to the main game is very good but the bonus play does add an extra & interesting twist. February 5, 2012
Good storyline! I enjoyed the trial of this game which has a good storyline, realistic graphics and just enough mystery to keep you moving forward to see what happens next. It's not too difficult but just challenging enough. Probably a good one to buy. December 25, 2011
Lots of areas with plenty of challenge! I really liked the storyline and graphics. To me, the game seemed focused mostly on gaining inventory items to open other inventory items by way of puzzles instead of HO scenes, though they are in the game. The puzzles were fun to solve. There are lots of areas to explore and this game included a map indicating an area of interest to help you remember places to return with your newfound inventory. The music was perfect and I didn't feel the urge to mute it one time, but was actually relaxing. The bonus game is pretty lengthy with a totally different setting--an amusement park. I rate it four stars instead of five because I would've really liked to have had more HO scenes. A really good game and glad I purchased it. January 13, 2012
worth buying Challenging game which keeps you involved. sometimes hard to figure out what to do next or where to look for items you need. Hint not real helpfull, only tells you NOTHING TO DO HERE. Graphics very good. Worth the money Replayable many times. December 27, 2011
High on the "creepy" scale! The premise is unique to most of the standard HOG/adventure games and is even borderline disturbing...but in a good way if you like that sort of thing, which I do . The artistry and graphics are stunning, hidden object scenes crisp and clear. The one drawback I encountered was that the back and forth from scene to scene looking for the necessary items to advance in the game was so involved and numerous, that I started getting a tad frustrated with it. This definitely could have used a "jump" option in the map! And the villain, "Oscar" obviously loved to hear himself talk...blah, blah, blah. Overall, this is a well thought out, well developed game, so I'm going to recommend it! December 27, 2011
Excellent gameplay and production value more than makes up for a weak story. I wasn't particularly intrigued with Brink of Consciousness after playing through the demo, but I was drawn in enough by the graphics and atmosphere that I resolved to buy the SE if it ever went up for the Daily Deal. When the CE came up on sale for $4.99 not long after, I simply couldn't pass on the opportunity. Despite a silly premise, I was captivated by the gorgeous graphics and strong adventure game elements. Thankfully, the more I played, the more I became enveloped in the story, even though I didn't quite care for it in the beginning. I would classify Dorian Gray as more of an adventure game than HOG as there aren't many hidden object scenes, but that suited me just fine as I'm more of an adventure gamer than anything else. There is quite a bit of backtracking and exploration, and a large number of items find their way into your inventory, all of which I know many HOG gamers are not fond of, but I thoroughly enjoyed those elements of the game as they get me exploring and help immerse me into the game world. My play through took about 12 hours (both main game and bonus chapter). I played on Expert with minimal hint usage and only consulted the strategy guide a couple of times. I generally take my time and try to stay away from the Hint/Skip button unless I'm completely stuck. This not only helps immerse me in the game world, but stretches out the playtime giving me more bang for my buck. Pros - Gorgeously detailed graphics and locations - Nice unobtrusive music (although somewhat unmemorable) - Sound effects are very good, especially the room specific noises that add greatly to the atmosphere - Hidden Object Scenes are clean and organized with items that make sense to the locations - Hidden Object Scene color schemes are somewhat muted making the searches easier on your eyes - A huge number of areas to explore, one of the largest IHOGs I've played - Map (thank goodness) that updates as you play - Toggleable grain filter is a nice touch and helps add to the game's atmosphere Cons - Puzzles are easy, most of which require very little thought (and are often just repetitive tasks once you figure out the method) - Voice acting can be melodramatic, although admittedly better than most other HOGs - Oscar shows up and is heard a bit too much which often pulled me out of my "adventure gamer" mode, but this is a personal gripe and others may have no problem with it - Storyline is a bit hokey CE/SE Comparison One of my biggest gripes is when devs cut off the last chapter in the SE requiring you to pick up the CE to get a satisfying conclusion to the story. That is not the case here. The main game sufficiently wraps up the plot and completely stands up on its own. The bonus chapter picks up a few months later and doesn't add much more to the overall storyline. I preferred the main game's ending personally, as the bonus ending seemed silly and implausible to me. That said, the new locations and gameplay were of the same high quality and worth playing through, but not required to fully enjoy the main game's storyline. Adding only another hour of gameplay, maybe two if you're playing on Expert without using hints, those on a budget should feel safe picking up the SE as you're not missing out on very much of the story at all. The rest of the bonus materials is where the real value of the CE lies, however. The full soundtrack is included with the ability to download to your desktop in OGG format (something more CE's need to start doing). The concept art, wallpapers and Oscar "cartoons" are also nice additions, but it's the interview with developers that I enjoyed the most. This is one of the few CE's that I really felt like I was getting my full money's worth. Bottom Line - Beautiful game that's a bit too easy, but gameplay and scope make it worth the journey. November 1, 2012
An absorbing game ! MagicIndie games are always value for money. They have great music,sound effects,illustrations,quality puzzles / HOBs and first class story lines. This one is no exception. This is a dark and twisted game. There is no light relief. In the collectors edition that I played you have a choice of endings. Neither is a traditional happy one. Here is a battle of good and evil done with realistic perception with good puzzles, some hard,some easy. It is the small details that draw you into the game. Quickening of breath, fast pulse beatings and sighing. Take your time, go slow, and the reward is one of the best game you can play ! July 25, 2012
worth the CE price pretty good game, didn't even mind the voices in this one, except for the coughing, breathing and hmmmmmm sounds, really could have done without those. Good length and plenty of places to explore. Hidden object scenes and puzzles somewhat challenging but not expert level. Wish they had expanded the bonus scene into a sequel game. January 2, 2012
Sample hour only The art and visuals were good. Storyline is a little slow, but enjoyed it. The mini games were varied but easily figured out. I also liked the strategy guide easily available and a map so I knew where I was and where I was going. I enjoyed this game December 29, 2011
Brink of Unconsciousness I liked this game very much. I like the challenge of travelling to many locations. But could somebody make the villain shut up? The length of the game is wonderful-something I always look for. Enjoy! March 4, 2012
161-170 of 204 Reviews <<prev 1516171819...21next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Help Sam rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.