Bookmark

9: The Dark Side

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

End a centuries-old war between the Guardians and the Clan of the Nine in 9: The Dark Side! Are you the Last Descendant of whom the legend foretells, the one who will stop the darkness that haunts Prague? Find out in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Take on dark enemies and solve perplexing puzzles as you explore the gorgeous city of Prague. Fulfill your destiny in 9: the Dark Side!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 209 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
9: The Dark Side

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

9: The Dark Side

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

9: The Dark Side 4.5 5 122 122
9: The Dark Side Excellent game, would recommend it to any one, had fun playing it also. If you can do the Collector Edition for the walkthrough. January 4, 2012
For Puzzle Lovers Only! Although there are some HO's (about a dozen), this game is mostly made up of Puzzle/Adventure fun... so count me in!!! There are 3 levels: Casual, Expert, and Hardcore (I usually start on the Beginning level to get a feel for the game, but am excited to give Hardcore a try!) The graphics and artwork are great, the story is interesting (I like period pieces), and even the music and sound effects are enjoyable (I usually mute the volume)! If you like P/A/HO games, but are tired of seeing mostly HO's, I think you'll be happy with this one!!! January 29, 2012
A fine example of how to make a good game I was always going to be interested in a game based on the Middle Ages and this one certainly lived up to expectations. The puzzles range from easy to fiendish and there was just the right amount of hidden object scenes to contend with. The visuals are excellent and the background music atmospheric without becoming repetitively annoying. The one negative I would have was that I don't particularly like being insulted whilst playing and the comment that a Descendant would know better was unneccessary and irritating. But this is a very minor niggle in an otherwise exceptional game. January 11, 2012
Good relaxing game Keeps me thinking to get past many puzzles of the game. So far, I haven't had to walk in TOO many circles to get things to be able to continue. The help is good and actully helps if you happen to need it. I played in casual mode and I bought the game. January 4, 2012
Challenge Accepted! If you're looking for a challenging adventure game, this would be it. There are a combination of mini puzzles/brain teasers and a few hidden object scenes within the story, but this isn't a heavy HO game, more for the puzzle minded person. It is a dark game in that there are ghosts, demons, werewolves, etc, and at any moment, one could jump out and scare the bejeebees out of you. Um, werewolf anyone? Graphics: Fabulously creepy. Well done. Music: Adds wonderfully to the ambiance. Enough variety, though I found some of it repetitive at times. Length: This is a LONG game, especially if you don't skip anything. Several hours. Story: Interesting enough. The voice overs are very well done. Kept me entertained. Challenge: Definitely challenging. I admit to skipping a few of the puzzles when I became more frustrated than challenged. If you like brain teasers, these are your kind of puzzles. Options: After a while, the skip button will charge and you can skip puzzles or get a hint on where you should go next. The HO scenes are marked with sparkles, but this game is more of a run your mouse over the scene to find areas of interest. Play Again: Most definitely! Overall: A (not A+ because I'm pretty sure the gate with the dragon insert on the wall is only accessible in the CE version, but it drove me nuts that it appeared to be something I needed to find and I was bummed when the game was over and I never found it). January 31, 2012
one of the best I have played many-many HOG's by now and must say that this one is among the best. The graphics are authentic, imaginative and beautiful, the hidden object areas are not as boring as they usually are in the majority of these games - I actually enjoyed looking at different things trying to find the ones I need. Music is a little bit repetitive, becoming annoying when you're stuck on a puzzle and are forced to hear the same tune over and over again. But the puzzles are excellent! I like the fact that you cannot skip them, so you're forced to find a solution before going further. All in all I loved it! January 12, 2012
The Dark Side What a fantastic game with a fantastic story! The Guardian Army has returned from the Crusades and are fighting a war to protect a sacred amulet. The Guardians called for the dark side to open, but the dark side shows no mercy and destroys everyone. Only 9 survive and retreat into the fortress, never to return. As the descendant of the Guardians it is up to you to enter the fortress and use the amulet to close the dark side and save Prague from evil. I couldn't help but feel as if I were actually searching this long abandoned fortress myself which is a testament to how professionally produced this game actually is. The HOS were very well done and are interactive list finds. I will admit that I skipped a few puzzles just before pulling my hair out! You will receive an amulet from one of the dearly departed Guardians, which will allow you to "see" hidden clan symbols. I really liked this game and think that the SE is the better buy, enjoy! January 29, 2014
You won't lack for challenges if you attempt this game The puzzles are very challenging. I usually play hard core and attempted to do so initially with 9 the Dark Side. I had to start over and play mid level because I had to skip 2 puzzles! I enjoyed the game play and found the HOS to be comfortable and relaxing. This game is the opposite of boring! I WILL replay this one if only to get those two puzzles. I played the SE and feel there was one area that didn't get completed. I am assuming that was the lead into the extra game play if doing the CE. Since I turn off the sound, My V/S quality stars are for the visual only. SUM: For those looking for a challenge jump in but for those just beginning jump in but don't give up. It is worth the effort! August 17, 2012
Come to the dark side - A guy's review *review based on completing the game in advanced mode* This game is so good I almost want to play it again straight away. It has everything an adventure addict like me could want. Good story, awesome puzzles and HOS, amazing graphics, dramatic and atmospheric music, engaging. Truly brilliant. I kick myself for not getting the CE, and haven't even dared to see what extra that contains. The graphics are crystal clear and vivid. It is dark in several places, but never faded, pale or grey. Even the HO scenes are wonderfully crisp. Most of the game seems drawn in 3D, which adds to the level of depth in the game. There is a high level of detail in every scene. The music and sound effects might be the best I've come across in any casual game. It is atmospheric and dramatic, and changes from scene to scene, fitting what is showing/happening in front of you. Voice-overs are well done, and the characters feel believable. The story is rather good, and is cleverly written around you. You actually feel like you are the center point of the story, and in the middle of something important. Truly engaging. So much unexpected is happening, that the game amazes you over and over again. I almost even jumped out of my seat a couple of times. It might be scary at times, and the story is dark, but it never is morbid. Nobody should have a problem with it unless they don't like scary subjects at all. The game mechanics are wonderful, everything seems smooth and on target. There's a journal to read through, that guide you through the story. There are plenty of adventuring, pick-ups and use, and a bit back and forth through scenes. Not a problem for any adventure addict, and not even much for others as something new happens in many of them. There are also many cleverly made puzzles, of which some are actually quite hard and require some brain twisting. Some of them are really original, and all of them are well done. You also have the hidden objects scenes, which are really crisp. They are not overcrowded clutter scenes, but some items are really cleverly hidden in the scenery. They are also cleverly interactive. The best of all, you never have to revisit the same scene.... EVER. What that does is that everything seems refreshing, and you don't feel like having to do the same thing over and over. Other developers take note ;o). The one thing in the HO scenes that could be confusing is that there might be several of the item requested in which only one is accepted. There are 3 difficulty modes to choose from: Casual: Ample hints, no misclick penalty, quick skip. Advanced: Moderate hints, misclick penalty, slow skip. Hardcore: No hints, misclick penalty, really slow skip. I played in advance, and found it quite challenging at times. I even had to use the skip once, which I very rarely do. I recommend this game to anyone who wants a memorable game experience. If you feel like a beginner or only comfortable with easier games, you might want to practice a little before playing this, but I recommend you still get it. There is a sequel on the way as I write this review, and I can hardly wait. For the guys: As far as I can tell there is no gender bias at all in this game. You are simply referred to as the Descendant. Game should suit everybody who loves a great challenge and a great story in which you feel involved. TJ June 3, 2012
Great Puzzle Game This was a very enjoyable game. I loved the fact that the puzzles outnumbered the hidden object screens by about 2 to 1. The majority of the puzzles were original and the difficulty level varied from fairly simple to very challenging, with only one frustrating puzzle (the double-sided dice roll). The story was interesting and the graphics were nice. The usage of inventory items made logical sense. I'm looking forward to another game in this series. February 22, 2012
11-20 of 122 Reviews <<prev 2345...13next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

9: The Dark Side

End a centuries-old war between the Guardians and the Clan of the Nine in 9: The Dark Side!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.