Bookmark

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Rumors surrounding the history of stately Ravenhearst Manor have circulated for decades. The recently acquired diary of Emma Ravenhearst may hold the key to unraveling the tale behind this unsettling place, yet the pages are missing. Players assume the role of Master Detective to unlock secrets held within Ravenhearst ®, scouring a myriad of enchanting rooms in the manor for cleverly hidden clues. Locating and assembling diary pages helps tell the story of the house and, ultimately, unlock the mystery.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.4, 10.5 (recommended)
  • CPU: 1.83GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst 3.5 5 127 127
Fun first game This is my first hidden object game. I'm more into puzzle games but decided to try this out. I wasn't sure in the beginning if I would like it - it was a little creepy - but after exploring a couple of rooms and really getting into the game, I started to get lost in the game. Love the graphics and the music; objects weren't too hard to find and I like the mini-puzzles although I had to go to the forums for help with a couple of them. I didn't like putting together the puzzle between the diary pages. That got to be a bit tedious after awhile. Overall, a great intro to hidden object games. August 16, 2012
When Emma Met Charles... First, for everyone who complains that Ravenhearst isn't as good as the games that came after it, how could it be? Every first game in a series is improved upon, both graphically and in terms of gameplay (is Daggerfall as good as Skyrim?#. Don't review this game relative to the others in the series; review this game on its own, by its own merits. Ravenhearst introduces us to Emma, a woman who falls in love with Charles, a man with dubious intentions. His obsession with Emma results in dire consequences. This is the first in a series of games following this plot. The game is set in a mansion, with several rooms to "visit". Some of the rooms have elaborate locks on them - Rube Goldberg style devices - which have to be resolved before continuing to the hidden-object scene. At the end of each series of hidden-object scenes #several rooms completed), there is a jigsaw-type puzzle to complete which reveals a descriptive scene and another page of Emma's diary. Through the diary, we begin to learn of her relationship with Charles. The puzzle locks are challenging, but not impossible; a little deductive reasoning will tell you what you need to know. They are fun. The hidden-object scenes are well done, both challenging and nicely drawn. And the jigsaw-type puzzles are not too easy, not too hard. While Ravenhearst may not have all of the animation and other graphical elements of later games, it is engaging and intriguing, as much a mystery story as an item-finding game. I played it after I played Return to Ravenhearst, and still found it enjoyable and worthy of the time I spent playing it. As I said, judge it on its own merits, not relative to the later games of the series. I definitely recommend it. June 23, 2012
I enjoyed it Fun game. The graphics are fantastic. The hidden objects are well hidden, and the puzzles are fun to figure out. I wished there were more puzzle doors. In all, I really enjoyed it. May 28, 2012
Ok But Showing Its Age I bought this game because I just became aware of the Mystery Case Files series, and I want to play all of them. With this particular game I feel like if I'd played it 3 or 4 years ago I'd be giving it a higher rating. It's definitely not as fun as the more recent installments. For one, this is more straight up HOG, rather than the Adventure/HOG mix that the series has become. Also the graphics are definitely showing their age. They were pixelated and blurry on my 1440x900 monitor. The atmosphere and story were quite creepy though, so I'm looking forward to playing the sequels. The hidden object scenes were challenging, and the door puzzles quirky, but some of them were a bit too hard. November 28, 2011
Mayzy's Review- Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst After getting involved in hidden object games, I was very excited to play Ravenhearst. After all, it's ALL OVER bigfishgames.com, so it must be good, right? I love a good spooky game and was eager to get started. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. For me, it is important that hidden object games have some sort of sense and visual appeal to the scenes. The ugly junk piles with the same objects over and over just don't appeal to me. The game lost major points in my book for the haphazard, illogical messes that it calls hidden object games. That said, I really enjoyed the door locks. While the Rube Goldberg-esque puzzles might not have been 100% logical, they were definitely unique! I really appreciated the little details, such as the pictures that didn't technically have anything to do with the lock, but which moved and made noise when clicked on. The spooky factor was fairly minimal. It was more of a murder-mystery than a ghost story, though the sound effects did add a nice chilly effect. The ending was pretty easy to anticipate after the fourth or fifth diary entry. Overall it was a decent game, but I'm afraid that, for me at least, it just didn't live up to the hype. November 26, 2011
Interesting Antique BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS This, the third game of the Mystery Case Files series, is also the first of the series-within-a-series, the Ravenhearst games. I can see in this game the origins of some of the great traditions for which MCF is known. But it is still an archaic game, and not much fun to play. SIGHTS & SOUNDS Ravenhearst is miles more sophisticated than the first two MCF games. Not only are the graphics much better, but the gameplay and story treatment improves too. But the graphics are still awful, the HOP scenes are still junkpiles of irrelevant stuff, and some items are still tiny or partially hidden. The jigsaw games at the end of each chapter are distorted by the no-WS stretch, and are therefore more difficult to play. I do like the improvements in sound, however. The music is varied, both eerie and suspenseful. There are some great sound effects, and there is the moaning and whispering of faint voices, just out of hearing range. Lovely spooky stuff! WHAT?S HAPPENING? Ravenhearst Manor?s story is shrouded in mystery and myth. Is it haunted? By whom? Emma?s diary may have the answers, but pages are missing from it. Your latest assignment, Master Detective, is to discover the missing pages, and reveal their secrets. It is a classic haunted house tale. The nice thing about it, is it is a story. One that unfolds for us with the recovery of the diary pages. It is very involving, and even knowing the end, I still found myself looking forward to each new unveiling. GAMEPLAY This is a HOP game, and there are no inventory items, quests or side tracks along the way between HOPs. But there are puzzles. At the end of each chapter, a jigsaw in sepia must be completed to move on. As well, most locations have a ?puzzle lock? to be opened in order to enter them. These are what are now seen as classic MCF puzzle boards, where a series of moves, most of which you can only discover by trial and error and a lot of random clicking, eventually activates a contraption that opens the door. These are far from easy and get harder as you progress, but there is no skip option. You can use your (limited number of) hints. The HOPs are standard word lists, still as cluttered and irrelevant as the other games, and just as irritating. Here, where you need them, the vast improvements in graphics are not so noticeable. You travel across 32 locations (HOP scenes) in the house, repeating some several times. The game is different in a couple of other ways as well. There are two modes of play, regular and relaxed. Both are timed, but relaxed gives you more time. And we see what I imagine are some of the earliest morphing objects. They are not for collection, simply to add an extra layer of creep and charm to the game. COMBINED IMPACT Of its kind and time, this is an excellent game, showing the ability to adapt and improve over the previous MCF games. It is still too archaic, though, to play for fun unless you have far greater tolerance than I for awful graphics and repetitious gameplay. But those puzzle boards are something else! January 21, 2014
Great game for people who like HOG This was a neat game. It has a few suprises that I didn't expect. The game is great for people who like to play hidden object games. If you love HOG this is a must for you. To me the story is lacking but the game play is really good. The length made up for the story. It dose have a nice length. January 30, 2012
Beginning of the series, so necessary Based on my completion of the standard edition version of the game: This is the first in the MCF series. In fact, the Ravenhearst storyline is continued in several of the MCF games. Therefore, this game is a necessity, especially if you are the type of person that enjoys playing the games of a whole series in order to get the back story. Also, as the Ravehearst storyline continues, this is the first stepping stone. That being said, this is a mediocre game with a heavy emphasis on hidden object scenes (actually, hidden object scenes make up the majority of game play). For a nice game that doesn't require a lot of cognitive thought or a complex story to follow, this is a good game. The level of challenge is decent as the HOS are not too easy and the puzzles are challenging. The storyline is ok (it is the foundation, so again, necessary), but the diary entries read like a middle school student wrote them. Mystery Case Files games get better as they go (much, much better!). I do suggest this game; however, try to get it on sale and definitely do not pay full price for it. April 22, 2014
Glad it was half price Oh dear, minimal storyline mostly hogs and door lock puzzles, though these door lock puzzles were the only enjoyable part of this game for me. The HOGS were very cluttered with limited hints and if you don't complete the level in time you have to restart the level from the beginning with yet more cluttered clues. I spent a long time looking for a sling, when I finally gave up and used a precious hint I was directed to a slingshot. Yes, I am very glad I only paid half price February 24, 2013
Needed to fill screen and have More story for a HOB game I thought it was okay, not as good as Dire Grove. I had one issue which was getting the game to fill my screen so with it being a small picture I had trouble with keeping my concentration on finding things. The puzzels were easy enough and the story behind it was interesting but I wish it was longer adn had more details. Over all if you can get this on a deal then its worth it November 30, 2011
71-80 of 127 Reviews <<prev 678910...13next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

The history of Ravenhearst Manor is shrouded in mystery. Unlock the secrets within this episode of Mystery Case Files™.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.