Bookmark

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

Full version game
(429.44 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help Sam Wilde rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Sams every move is being tracked so he has to be extra careful. Putting his journalistic talents to the test, Sam must find the maniac who has kidnapped Anna, and stop him before its too late. Explore gorgeous locations and solve tricky puzzles in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 469 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome 4.5 5 205 205
A fairly interesting Track and Rescue mission. If you've read BFG's presentation summary you have probably already added 2 and 2 together and have surmised the kidnapper was suffering from a mental disorder called DSG. He perpetrated this vile act in an attempt to retain or regain his youth, obsessed as he is by his own appearence. Hence the title of the game. No ghosts, no skeleton, no grave, nothing paranormal, but expect nevertheless a few corpses here and there. Sam's investigation starts with a very good intro movie backed up by a solid soundtrack. Later, the in-game music is discreet except when used to enhance a specific event. The cutscenes are of the same quality. The voice-overs are perfect, very professional, highly natural, and a pleasure to listen to. The graphics and scenery are quite good, a wee bit blurry, thus befitting the mildly spooky atmosphere successfully. Not at all overloaded with HO Scenes, the game gives priority to the adventure side. Tasks are multiple and easy to accomplish with useful items also easy to get. HOs are not difficult to find either as the scenes they're in do not look like awful junkpiles. Assistance is provided efficiently by the unlimited hints that recharge fast, the clues on screen, the audio, and in the journal, together with a map showing your current location, the areas to explore and were the puzzles are. Puzzlewise [and minigames] the developers did a good job; all those I played in the demo were fairly tricky, challenging and fairly uncommon. Some are randomized, I am not sure they all reset as I saw a Reset Button in only one, but you can skip them. Click on the Question Mark to get the instructions. Unfortunately for puzzle lovers like me, the game is not packed with them, but there is enough of them to keep you busy and make you think. Let's add to that 2 Modes of difficulty, a wide monitor option, and the possibility to replay the kidnapper's verbal comments via the journal. The demo takes you to the beginning of Chapter 3 only, so it's difficult to estimate the gamelength, or assess how well the storyline unfolds. Considering that I got to the end of Chapter 2 in just over 56 mns after visiting 9 locales, it is possible the game may be shorter than expected. Note: DSG: Dorian Gray Syndrome, named after Oscar Wilde's famous novel: The Portrait of Dorian Gray. January 21, 2012
more adventure than HOG I just finished the Demo & I'm downloading the game. I was in the middle of chapter 2 when my hour ran out, so the time length for the game must be pretty good. Items in the HOGs have been easy to find & I only game across 2 HOGs during the hour. Puzzles were a little different, which was nice. January 21, 2012
Where, or where, has sweet Anna gone? In this game, you get to find out. You will enter a place that is frightening, confusing, and will give you the shivers every time you turn a corner. You are given options on game play and the regular things like music and sound effects, but don't turn off the sound...even the game recommends you play with the sound on. The voice-overs are good, and the bad guy's voice-over is stellar. It goads you. It scares you. It belittles and harasses you. It's wonderfully creepy and slightly mad...(but aren't we all just slightly mad?). The graphics are really good..hidden object scenes were not overly cluttered and had a bit of interaction. The environment - colors, textures, things you interact with or explore - really good. There is a journal and a map. The map shows areas of interest and that sort of thing, but it doesn't allow "jumping" to active areas, and you'll use some shoeleather in this game and I did get turned around a couple of times. The hint system is fine in the hidden object scenes and pretty much useless every place else - the "nothing to do here" type, but it will show active areas in a scene if you are required to do something with a puzzle or piece of inventory. The puzzles are innovative - not seen in many other games and all are skippable and, where applicable, can be reset. I didn't need the available walk-through at all during the game. The game play is long. It took me four evenings to finish - about 12 hours, give or take, and the game has a satisfactory ending, so you really don't miss the bonus play that would be available in the Collector's Edition of this game. Overall - a great spooky game, made with imagination and just the right amount of "creepy". I'm not sure I could play this game without the lights on...could you? January 23, 2012
A Fun Hidden Object Game There were plenty of rooms and outdoor spaces in this hidden object game. the hidden object scenes were easy to moderately easy. the mini puzzles were hard to really really hard. Thank goodness for the skip button. The storyline was suspenseful, eerie , and macabre. This game is well worth the money as a SE. January 21, 2012
Close, but no cigar Stunning graphics. Excellent voice acting. Best use of music ever. (This is high praise coming from someone who usually shuts it off.) Wonderfully executed HO scenes. (No junk piles) Maps useful but could have been better. Some puzzles/mini-games very difficult and tedious Way too much "back and forth" required Ending did not impress. January 23, 2012
Very Challenging Game This is one of those very challenging games that you don't see too often. After seeing how the game ends, I can honestly say I wish I had bought the CE. I'll highlight the major points: *Game length is pretty good (I didn't, however, finish the game in one sitting#. *Puzzles can be very tough; there was one that took me hours to do until it clicked in my mind how to solve it #I was too stubborn to hit the Skip button). *The antagonist speaks a lot during this game. I found that kind of annoying, especially because I would be really into a scene and then jump off my chair from fright. His voice tended to come out of nowhere. *This game plays like a horror movie. I have never played a game like that on BF. That said, it isn't for the faint of heart because you will probably jump a few times, and there are dead bodies. *There's a lot of backtracking, but I didn't mind it. You have a map that tells you where you are, which is good, but you can't jump to a scene by clicking on the map. You have to do it the old skool way: walking. *Every item you pick up serves a useful purpose, even if it doesn't seem like it at the time. Overall, I thought this was a very well-done game. I would definitely classify it as a mystery rather than HO. HO scenes were very few and far between. The game is almost all puzzles, and some can be quite hard. I found the HOS a good way to relax until the next puzzle. Graphics were very good and realistic. As much as the sound irked me, I can honestly say that it was good for this game. I just scare easy. I'm looking forward to playing the sequel! February 7, 2012
better than average This game is fairly typical of a certain theme within HOGs. A madman has kidnapped someone and the main character is slated to perform a rescue. Then there is the standard fare of finding objects for an inventory and picking up items along the way which are scattered in different areas. So sportsfans, there is relatively nothing novel about the premise of the game. Some of the puzzles are different and given time would be a nice challenge. I skipped most of them due to the time restraints of the trial. I am on the fence as to wether this will be a purchase for me. I did notice one small faux pas by the devs early in the game. During the introduction it is obvious that the characters speak with a very British accent. Yet when Sam leaves on his motorcycle, he drives on the right side of the road as Americans do. Like I said, a "small faux pas " January 22, 2012
Wonderful game, except... This was a very good game. Great creepy storyline. More adventure than HO, yay!!! No penalty for misclicks. Great voice overs. You do get a map, however, it is not transportable. It tells you where there is a task or puzzle that needs to be done. Soooo, you spend a large large part of the game running back and forth and back and forth over 3 floors of this scene. Because of that, the rating went down in my book. I do not think a good game should consist of the ability to run back and forth through multiple floors and rooms to complete tasks. The mini games were good. Great game all in all. March 28, 2013
Good game, though not "Dorian Gray" After I got over the disappointment the game was not truly based on the original book then play/movie, ___ Portrait of Dorian Gray, and then experiencing an additional caveat toward the beginning, #a scene appeared to depict something other than what was said to be a mythological character# ; I ventured onward and enjoyed the game. I did so after doing a little research and taking the dev on their 'word' for same. Overall, Brink of Conciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome was well done with good suspense and interesting gameplay... It's the only game where I've had to turn off the voice acting; however, because the villain was just too cheesy and overly annoying to enjoy listening to and actually took away from the game overall, IMO. Fortunately the developers had the forsight to offer a subtitle script option. Overall, worth the $ and time playing. Thumbs up. January 26, 2012
Excellent Game Intricate Puzzles I spent hours playing this game. The puzzles are intricate, actually hard to solve. The story line was pretty good. I got tired of hearing Oscar at every turn. All in all, it was well worth playing. May 5, 2012
141-150 of 205 Reviews <<prev 1314151617...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

Help Sam rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.