Bookmark

Otherworld: Spring of Shadows Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Use a mystical locket to explore a magical world and save a young girl in Otherworld: Spring of Shadows! After buying a quaint house in the country side, you embark on an incredible adventure. With help from magical creatures, find and save Fiona before it's too late! Find the menacing shadow that took Fiona and return her to our world. Solve inventive puzzles and discover secrets in Otherworld: Spring of Shadows, a fun Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Wonderful Wallpapers
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 800 Mhz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 567 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Otherworld: Spring of Shadows Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Otherworld: Spring of Shadows Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Otherworld: Spring of Shadows Collector's Edition 4.4 5 151 151
A nice relaxing game Straight from the production house that brought us the Awakening series - this does not fail to hit the required standard. Very pretty to look at and an interesting story (once you get over the laughable accent). It is more adventure than HOG with lots of puzzles and things to spot in the body of the game rather than endless HO scenes. I didn't find it too challenging completing the game in 4 hours on expert mode and only one skip. Still it was perfect for a rainy sunday afternoon! January 22, 2012
This one is special - a real winner! This review is based on advanced, the 2nd of 3 game modes. I absolutely loved this game. The artwork for the story from the vary beginning was original, lovely, and outstanding. The graphics were crisp and beautiful. As a pleasant change of pace, I found myself turning the music up as it melded very well with the context of each scene throughout the entire game. This is one beautiful game with clever and cute mini-games, that trended toward the easy. The HOS were fun and varied. Some were "find related pairs", others, "find a certain # of something", and in one case, find the fragments that will combine into an object. There is a map but it serves to guide the gamer to places open during each chapter, so it not frequently used. There is a journal that serves as a reference a couple of times. There are 'artifacts' which are little fairies hidden within most scenes. I was able to find 55 of the 60 so that was a bummer. This is a fairly long game, with about 6 chapters and bonus materials. I am a slow player and it took me a couple of days. What I didn't like - The game was buggy. It died more than once and had to be restarted. A couple of times completion of a mini-game did not cause the game to continue. Instead, I would back out of the game (such as the runes in the church) and start from scratch, then things work work just fine. During the mini-games, such as at one point, when putting together a stained glass window, the comments at the top of the screen were things like "that's not right! What am I thinking!", or "I should try something else", and on and on, even though I was doing the right things. If this happens to you, just continue and all will be fine. A couple of the mini-games had a timing element to them and I just do not like being rushed. I play these games to relax so I could do without those puzzles. Gorgeous Game! Highly Recommend. August 26, 2012
Review of Otherworld: Spring of Shadows CE *This review is based upon completion of the entire game and the bonus content* My first overall "hurray" for this game is that I was well into the game, and I mean WELL into the game, before I ever got to a true hidden object puzzle. This game is clearly more of an adventure game than a HOG, so for adventurers like myself - YIPPEE! I am a very critical gamer, but I really would struggle to find weaknesses in this game. There is one, but I'll get to that in a moment. Strong graphics, strong storyline, strong voice-overs, strong UI, this game just really hits on all cylinders. The mini-puzzles are fun, but they tickled the line of being not challenging enough. My only complaint is the achievements. Of course, any true gamer wants to nail ALL achievements in a game, and the ones that this developer has set out simply make achieving all of them out of reach. Maybe that's the point. However, with two of the achievements being "Finish the game in one sitting" and "Finish the game in under six hours," many of us are really sunk before we ever start. The part that really annoyed me was having to find 60 angels while playing the game. At first, it was fun; I always enjoy finding a little something extra in a scene. But, after only a short while into the game, the game play no longer was fun because I became so distracted by finding those darn angels. They had nothing to do with the game, and they really took focus away from the game and took a LOT of fun out of it. By the end of the game, I was really hating on the finding the collectables. But, despite those couple of things above, this game was really great. It was just a classy game. No misspellings, good game flow, fun mini-games. I was sad when it was over. Well done! All in all, this was a fun game that I would recommend. SPOILER ALERT: READ AT YOUR OWN PERIL! A gentle, but important warning to my BFG gaming friends: In this game, you come upon an area where the bad guy has previously killed children and dogs. I was taken aback by that, especially since their petrified bodies were shown. February 1, 2012
A fairly interesting fairy tale After a standard intro you are taken into a fantasy world inhabited by dryads, to save a little girl abducted by a horrible creature with sharp teeth, horns and no eyes called "The Shade". As I started the trial version I thought the game would go off the beaten tracks and offer us something totally different. It does in a fashion but not entirely. The first scenes, remarkable by the way they have been crafted are bucolic, similar to paintings; the highly detailed artwork is indeed a work of art and must have taken hours and hours of hard work. This idyllic atmosphere doesn't last long, soon turning towards gloom; the marvellous sceneries of the beginning become darkish, confused and up to a point a bit disturbing. That reminded me of Isabella but the other way round and with the slight difference that Isabella did not convey any impression of uneasiness difficult to define. Focusing on the game itself, and the artwork set aside, I did find some interesting features. The cutscenes are good, the voice-overs perfect, the goals unambiguously given in the journal, the useful items easy to find, the tasks simple and not too irrelevant in relation with the story, and traveling reasonnable due to the important linearity. More or less in line with the context too, are the HO Scenes, which for once, do not force us to find the odd rubber duck or the set of false teeth. However some of them are a bit tedious like having to move vines left and right to find 22 spiders that blend in perfectly with a background abundant in leaves and the like. But a few scenes are lovely and easy. Misclicking too often causes the face of The Shade to invade the screen, something definitely not to my liking. In addition there are 60 collectibles to gather. They, too, are invisible. I found only one during the demo, quite by chance actually, and made no effort to get the others. This kind of task doesn't exactly correspond to my idea of fun. The game has a total of 40 puzzles/minigames; those I played had various levels of difficulty, but I didn't really get enthusiastic about any of them as they are variants of tangrams, jigsaw puzzles and rotating circles. They can be skipped, and they reset automatically if you exit before completion. 3 Modes; on Casual hints re-up fast and guide you effectively in determining what to do next; plus a soft music that's quite relaxing, and many achievements to be rewarded with. The demo lets you play the first 2 Chapters but you need to be fast to complete them in that 1 hour. Which means a more than decent total playtime as you have 6 Chapters for the main game plus the Epilogue [bonus chapter] for the CE. All in all, in spite of the 22 spiders, the mixture of loveliness and gloom and that awful Shade, I am convinced Otherworld is worth adding to one's collection, although I cannot tell if the storyline is solid no more than if the Epilogue justifies purchasing the CE. I am waiting for the SE. January 22, 2012
Expert Challenge a Real Challenge I love games where I can choose the level to play. This time I chose Expert - no hints, no skips of mini games, no sparkles and so on. The game lived up to the claims that it was a good challenge. I bought the Collectors edition and had to resort to the walkthrough three times - so the game was overall intuitive. It was a good length. The mini games were relatively easy as were the HOGs but the storyline and the collection of objects to get from one scene to the next was complex and interesting. I also like games where there are achievements or secondary challenges to keep an eye out for. I thought I was doing well collecting the fairies and found I had missed nine. The game has many different chapters to keep up the interest, the music is non-intrusive and I loved the complexity of the graphics. Overall, I think this game would be fun for people at all levels. January 26, 2012
Otherworld CE: Redemption for Boom Zap Games If you liked or loved Boom Zap's "Awakening" series you will be be over-the-top thrilled with "Otherworld: Spring of Shadows". It features all the good things that Boom Zap has perfected without the saccharine sweetness of "Awakening". This means that you see deceptively simple or lavish lush graphics, that were at the core of the success of the "Awakening" series. This time out Boom Zap has gone for more adventure and lightened up on the sugar content. "Otherworld" is a much more robust and better constructed game. Though the plot line is actually quite lineal, somehow this factoid becomes moot. It does not FEEL lineal. It feels and plays much more like a fluid adventure game. The HO scenes are tidy and for the most part very bright and clear. There is the usual assortment of the standard puzzles, but dressed in bright appealing colors. Some of the solutions required to use the inventory are quite ingenious and require out of the box thinking. I confess, that I was completely stumped when trying to figure out to do with the wind chimes in the "epilogue" of the CE. There is an array of achievement awards to be had. I suggest that you take a look at them before you start playing so you will know what is available. The music score is just fine, not too little nor too much drama, even in "climactic" scenes. The VOs are age appropriate and above standard. It is the characters in Otherworld that makes this game a stand out. The "cast" is charming, you will be glad you got a chance to meet them. Because, chances are, you will get the chance to play with them again in Sequel Land. February 16, 2012
Amazing Mystery I am not a big fan of HO games, but this games scenery drew me in, after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try.. For me, I was a bit lost in the beginning, but as I continued to play I started getting the hang of it without using the guide. I actually enjoyed it, I was pleased because I dislike games that I have to find every wing in the trees and x amount of wood chips and such.. It is refreshing to play a game that isn't all about being horrid and spooky. The artwork on this game is incredible, very breath taking.. I will definitely purchase this game because I want to save Fiona and finish the rest of the story. This game has a huge file, so plan on taking a coffee break while it downloads. January 27, 2012
Wait for the se version The game was very well done and the hidden objects were challenging. However, this is the first CE game that I didn't have to use the Strategy Guide at all. Wait for the SE version and you'll be happy. February 17, 2012
Adorable! This is a game that goes in my category of adorable. The game has qualities that are slightly different. HOG scenes presented differently with some rather clever, for example searching for the spiders. While this is not my favorite game I still must recognize that it was a very well accomplished production. January 26, 2012
Different but great!! In this game you will find that it has 3 modes. Casual, Expert and Hardcore. It also features Achievements Award. The voice over wasexcellent and the music was okay. It does have a penalty click and get face Shadow. The game itself was beautifully done almost picturesque. There is a question mark and it will help you in need as well a a check mark which will tell you what needs to be done or where to go. There is a map but seldom used. There was about 3 HOS and the rest was all kinds of different ways to find the items needed in the game. The walkthrough was pretty much play as you go, so when needed one did not need to look far for help. The story took awhile to get going and it was okay. I loved the characters that were in this game. The game itself was more like a fairy tale as well as the scenic views. Mini games, mmm, mmm, lot's which is okay with me because i love them. Most were easy and a few of them were hard. The bonus i could not tell you because i ran into a glitch and i could not get the poker needed to take the rope off of the dog and this abruptly ended my game, i could not continue the game. Sooo, I'll have to do it all over again which is fine by me, for now i get a chance to do it in hardcore and end up with my reward. All in all i enjoyed the game very much and i am glad that i bought it. January 23, 2012
101-110 of 151 Reviews <<prev 910111213...16next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Otherworld: Spring of Shadows Collector's Edition

Use a mystical locket to explore a magical world and save a young girl in Otherworld: Spring of Shadows!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.