Bookmark

Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(835.77 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

After your son, Bobby, mysteriously disappears, it’s up to you to find him in Surface: The Mystery of Another World! A peaceful train ride to the coast goes way off course and now strange occurrences are happening all around you! It seems that there is another world just past your reflection. Use your Hidden Object talents to explore the mysterious area and save Bobby before it’s too late in Surface: the Mystery of Another World!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Awesome Concept Art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 905 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Mild Violence
Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition 4.4 5 170 170
Super game Loved it! Loved the storyline and the fact that they used real people for the caracters. It had good puzzles that where just right. February 24, 2012
5 STARS! This game is quite possibly THE BEST I have played. I was challenged, engaged and in awe. Absolutely worth every penny! The scenes are beautiful and it's long which for me is a plus. This one will not disappoint. I had a blast! More like this one please :) February 24, 2012
Best Game of 2012 I loved this game. It didn't start out with an overly long backstory, you were just thrust right into the game. The puzzles were fun and you had to do a lot of searching around. The game turned into a maze of sorts and that is exactly what I really love. There wasn't too many of the hidden search areas which made this game even better. And the ones they did have were great! You had to use your own inventory to complete the hidden searches! I haven't come across that one yet. I played this for hours. LOVE IT! February 17, 2012
Really enjoyed playing this game Just a little bit different story line that was easy to follow, I had a lot of fun with this game. I especially enjoyed the mini-games. Some were not the "same old thing" and had some challenge to them. It was difficult enough that I had to get help a few times, although I'm not a genius when it comes to these games. Overall Surface was a great game and well worth the money. February 17, 2012
Not exactly impressive I must say I was pleasantly surprised by the top-notch quality of the intro movie, the professional acting and voice-overs, and I expected the rest of the game would be at the same level. I was soon to lose my illusions. The game falls back immediately into the pure tradition of HOGs mixed with some amount of adventure and doesn't offer anything new or outsanding except for some clever minigames. I also thought there would be a lot of interactivity. Hard luck, it's not an interactive movie. I also expected the visuals to be extraordinary. They're not. They are good but nothing more. As usual the HO Scenes are cluttered with useless items but, on Casual Mode, you have plenty of hints and you can misclick as much as you like. Tasks are similar to those we find in other games; you can't avoid the odd screwdriver, the bucket, the ladder and other items of like genre the use of which is obvious for those who are used to casual games. I wasn't impressed by what I saw of the storyline; it, too, is classical, meant to be spooky but is actually weird. It's impossible to tell whether it unfolds well and makes sense until you have completed the whole game. The SG is well conceived, complete, and lets you sneak peek into all its chapters [4 + the bonus]. In addition you earn achievements, have extra minigames in the CE and can modulate the overall difficulty. Surface is good enough to be recommended and opting for the CE is mainly a matter of how much you value the extras. I am waiting for the SE. February 2, 2012
A Delightful Challenge! Note: Review is of completed STANDARD EDITION, with Bonus Content listed. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Well, Surface: Mystery of Another World is a pretty good, challenging game. When I first finished it, I would have given it a five, but now, after finishing it again, I give it a four. A well-deserved four. The story is... Well, it's just strange, but in a good way. It's the perfect mix of creepy and gripping, and shows off the imagination of the developers. The game starts off pretty normal, with you and your son, Bobby. On a train home. All of a sudden, he disappears. At this time, I was still thinking this was pretty normal, aside from the creepy reflections in the water. As the game progressed, however, I began to discover that this game and its story were anything but normal. Instead of trying to save Bobby, you were now caught up in the world of Agonia, trying to save its world and yours from destruction and from the evil Lord Toriar, but all is not as it seems... From there, the story just gets more and more interesting, followed by a twist that I wasn't really expecting to begin with, but as soon as it happened, I kind of knew that it was going to be like that. The ending to the story is good and conclusive, so the Bonus Chapter is not needed. This game was a very big challenge for me. I found myself getting stuck a couple of times and had to rely on the hint towards the end of the game. However, the gameplay is standard HOPA, so you shouldn't really have trouble navigating. You have the usual diary and map, although I should point out the map doesn't help at all, except for transporting you to locations. Where things started to get tricky for me was the HOS. They were a unique thing for me, as they were ?inventory-HOS?, HOS that required items from your inventory to be completed. This was a challenge for me as I had to find the items to use and then complete them. Most of the time, this would mean I would have to leave HOS unfinished, some for quite a while, until I found the object. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying I didn't enjoy them, I'm just saying they were quite challenging. The puzzles were also quite challenging. I was able to solve a couple, but the rest I had to skip. The graphics are great. There is so much detail in them, and they are a visual delight. The characters are real actors, so character design can't be commented on. There were no over-done or terrible voice-overs. They were just standard. FEATURES Diary. Keeps up to date with events and case findings throughout the game. Map. The map is interactive, but as stated before, doesn't really help. 3 modes of difficulty- Casual, Advanced and Hard. Only difference is hint/skip recharge time and sparkles. Mode 3 does not allow hint/skip. I played Casual. Hint & Skip- both recharge fairly quickly on Casual mode, and the hint is very helpful outside HOS. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter- not needed. The game ends very well, and I, having owned the SE for some time now, see no need to upgrade. Collectible flowers for a shop of some sorts. Concept Art Wallpaper Achievements Replay Puzzles (Could only replay a few) Extra puzzles- can be unlocked by collecting flowers. Extra videos So, to conclude, I believe the SE to be a much better buy, as you do not miss out on anything of great importance. This game was the first in the Surface series and was the start of something great. I recommend this for experienced/advanced players, but I would be a little cautious if you're a beginner. Overall, this is a great game that I have replayed many times. On the game length: There are 4 chapters, but don't be alarmed, these chapters are long. It seemed to take me ages to complete this game. I'm estimating around about 3.5-4 hours on Casual mode, so this is a fairly long game. October 10, 2013
Good game, with a few flaws This is a relatively good game for the most part, and certainly better than some newer games out there in the same category. That being said, it has some flaws, many of which I think will be more frustrating for a more novice player than an experienced one, but they're still not necessarily a thrill even as an experienced player. I enjoyed playing it for the most part, but I'm not entirely sure it's worth it as a CE or not. The storyline is okay, if a bit cheesy at times. It's those over-the-top moments that detract from it the most and take away from some of the better aspects. The graphics are pretty good, but the animated/cut scenes are not the best. Mainly because they use live actors, and the live actors stick out a bit. They are better than in some newer games (Web of Deceit comes to mind as a newer one where the live actors don't fit in at all and really ruin it), and seem to blend into the scenes better, but they're still not great. Their speech doesn't match their mouths at all, I think in part because the actors aren't originally speaking English. (I'm guessing Russian from some of the mouth movements compared to the English words. Not important, but there you have it.) Anyway, it makes the live action scenes a bit hard to watch. The costumes are a bit over the top as well, even given the storyline. (Why do there seem to be so many cheesy robe costumes, and why does Kira have her son wearing his while they're on Earth? She's wearing "normal" clothes, after all.) The voice acting is okay, though nothing to write home about either. The sound is fine as well, it didn't really stand out, but didn't bother me either. The game plays relatively well, other than more back and forth than I think is necessary. It can also sometimes take so long to get an item you need for somewhere that you'll find yourself trying to remember where you needed it. And occasionally, some of the objects are used in a way that isn't at all intuitive, leading you to occasionally try almost everything in your inventory just to make sure you aren't missing some off the wall usage for something. There is an interactive map, which is nice for jumping between locations, but it's still a fair amount of back and forth even with that time-saver. I also wish that you could have combined items that needed to be combined in your inventory, rather than having to go back to a location to combine them before ultimately picking them up. That may just be my personal preference, but it certainly would have cut down on some of the back and forth. You'll encounter something that you know you need another piece to complete, but you can't take it with you - you have to take the piece back to the object before everything goes with you. That being said, this is the first game I think I've tried where the hidden object scenes use items from your inventory, which is a neat feature. (What you need tends to be rather obvious once you're in the hidden object scenes, so those aren't the oddly used items usually.) The game has three levels of difficulty, as well as hints and a strategy guide. Of course, since most games have walkthroughs online these days, the strategy guide is more of a nice thing to have in the game rather than the only way to get extra info. I didn't use the hints, so I can't comment on how they work. You can also collect sort-of hidden flowers throughout the game to earn some extra bonus mini-games, which is kind of neat. The bonus gameplay is an actual bonus - while it sort of continues the storyline, it's not a necessary part of the main storyline, it's just extra. Which is how bonus gameplay should be, so that's a good thing. That being said, I didn't find the bonus gameplay so compelling that I'd recommend getting the CE just to have it. It's not awful, it's just not fabulous either. There are also the typical extras included with a lot of CEs as well. Ultimately, it's an enjoyable game which I'd recommend, I'm just not sure if the CE is necessarily worth the extra price. If you can get it on sale or for free, then go for it. Otherwise, consider if the extra gameplay (and other extras) are worth the extra price to you or not. But despite the flaws, I'd recommend this game, whether you go for the CE or the SE. February 22, 2013
Unique, Fun, and Long Game Time This was a nice game with some unique twists on the standard HOGs and various puzzles. I enjoyed making my way through the various worlds, and was surprised at how many different areas kept opening up. There is a bit of back and forth, so it helped to have a map that could be used to "teleport" to an area. At times there was so much going on that I couldn't figure out where to go next, or I'd just not spotted something -- hints helped with those moments, although perhaps they helped a bit too much. I didn't need the exact answer, just a nudge. Overall, this was a fun game. I'm not sure about voiceovers or music, since I always turn sound off when playing. February 26, 2012
Greaty story line and graphics I really liked this game; I would give it a 4.5 if that was allowed. The graphics were wonderful, and it had a fun story line. Something a little different in the HOGs was that sometimes you needed items from the main part of the game to complete the HOG. That could be a little frustrating at times, but it also integrated the HOG into the main story. My one objection was that the hint command provided too much information. Instead of giving a hint, it told you exactly where to go. If I wanted that much information, I would look at the game walkthrough. Overall, though, the game is very enjoyable, and took several hours to finish. April 27, 2012
Another good HO This is a very well done HO - and except for the too small and too ornate font used for the HO lists, it is beautifully drawn. I also really enjoyed having to use something from my inventory to find an object in the HO. I played the full hour available for the demo and will definately buy the full version. I Recommend This Game! February 2, 2012
111-120 of 170 Reviews <<prev 1011121314...17next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: Mystery of Another World Collector's Edition

After your son, Bobby, mysteriously disappears, it’s up to you to find him in Surface: The Mystery of Another World!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.