Bookmark

Shiver: Poltergeist Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(489.74 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

After inheriting a manor in England, you begin to explore the Kangale Estate and discover its history in Shiver: Poltergeist! Ricardo Chellini’s life is incredibly dull and full of repetitive tasks that leave him unfulfilled. One day, however, he receives a letter informing him that he’s the sole heir to an incredible manor in England. Travel with Ricardo to his new estate and discover its terrifying history in Shiver: Poltergeist, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 580 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Shiver: Poltergeist Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Shiver: Poltergeist Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Shiver: Poltergeist Collector's Edition 4.3 5 149 149
I like it, not quite long enough for my taste. Good game, main character is a bit whiny. And it's also a hidden object game. But there is only one HO per local so it's not that bad. I wish it was a little longer and had more puzzles. Like sitting in front of the screen for three days more. Haha. The story line was great but they could have done a lot more with it. Game goes pretty smooth but I think having hints AND a walkthrough guide is a little much, why bother waiting for the hint to recharge when I can use the handy dandy cheat sheet. Anyway it was all and all a good game, Don't really know if it's $14 or 2 credits good though. April 2, 2012
spooky Spooky and fiery comes this game along and startled me more than once. Graphics and music are nice and the story is not too bad either. Riddles and puzzles are nicely interwoven into the story and not too hard. Hint will not be used if you are stuck and need to go to another section of the house etc. I might buy it, but I will wait for ST version. April 2, 2012
Interesting game, with a few flaws. Overall, this is a good game. It is somewhat similar to other games of this genre that have come out in the past year or so, but it has it's own twists and turns as well. And, it has the added bonus of not just slapping a bunch of skulls/spiders/snakes/evil things all over the place over and over just in a bid to be spookier than everything else. It's dark, it's a mildly creepy, but not ridiculously so. It may not be creepy enough for some, but I like that it's at least not over the top. The graphics are pretty good, with a few of the animated scenes being slightly less than the rest of the graphics. The sound is okay, though the music can be a bit repetitive and seem overly dramatic at times, given its tendency to do swooping dramatic bits at times where they don't quite fit. (Such as when you're sitting there hunting for things in a hidden object scene.) The storyline is also relatively interesting, though it loses points for making you buy the Collector's Edition if you want the full story. I prefer the Collector's Editions where the bonus levels really are a bonus, not something that gives the rest of the story. That being said, if the non-CE version basically just doesn't involve the extra gameplay and the other bonus features, you won't feel like part of the story is completely missing like you do with other non-CE versions, but it is a nice thing to have. The comments that the player character makes during the game sometimes are a bit annoying ("Holy cannoli!" Really?), and he honestly seems like a bit of a jerk at times as well. How many comments can one make about the place being his, his stuff, his property, he can do XYZ with it if he wants to? Punctuation is really over the top as well, occasionally making you wonder if it was typed out by an overexcited teenager. It's just in text though, not in voice, so they're relatively easy to ignore. In addition to the bonus gameplay (which, like I said, gives the rest of the story), it also includes wallpapers and concept art, so not quite as many bonuses as some other CEs. There are three levels to play at - Easy, Advanced, and Expert. I played the game through in Advanced, but it's not very challenging and could probably be fairly easily played through on Expert by most experienced with these sorts of games. I finished the game in about four hours total. I honestly enjoyed Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker more than this one as it was a bit less cheesy to me, but this is still an interesting game which will provide a bit of enjoyment. Whether the CE is worth it or not is something I'm torn on. The extras that came with it just don't seem to be quite enough. It would have been nice to be able to go back through the diary to read over the story and things you collected as you went along once the game was finished, for instance. And it was over rather quickly for a CE as well, even with the bonus gameplay. So I'd recommend the game, but possibly not as a CE. April 3, 2012
I expected better Wow!! Just watched the opening scene, it looks like a movie. 10 minutes into the demo I decided to purchase the CE. I think the writers have hit the nail on the head with this one! Well, that was the start of my review when I started the demo. Quite the disappointment. Finished this game in less than 3 hours. The bonus chapter was extremely short. The story line is really very good and that?s the best I can say for this game. The graphics are ok to good, not great, no real ?art?. The bonus art concept/and wallpaper are ?blah?. Music was subliminal, only noticed when there was a climax in the game play. Very unexpected and creative use of inventory in bonus chapter, a refreshing change from the expected crow bar and screw driver. Good mini games, there was one in the bonus game I haven?t seen before. There was so much potential for this game. Great story, interesting characters, it just fell short, literally. As I stated earlier, when it first opens the video is wonderful, like a movie; I had thought and hoped it would carry through?it didn?t. Overall it was an ok game. Some to and from, no map, interesting ?special effects?, but it just felt like a disappointment to me. CE is too short to recommend for $13.99, I would recommend the SE April 7, 2012
Too many junk pile HOG scenes While both Shiver games are entertaining, I just cannot for the life of me, understand why developers insist on too many HOG scenes, which are juge piles of junk that are irrelevant to game play. This is becoming a pet peeve of mine lately, probably because some developers are really spoiling me by limiting the number of HOG scenes, and making HOG gameplay an integral part of the story, with relevant objects. On the plus side, this game is easy to play, although the SG does not keep your place, which was also annoying. I do llke the use of the camera to keep track of important clues, which was fun, but having to use the flashlight in so many scenes was rather annoying. Overall, this was a good game, but by no means one of my favorites of the year, thus far. Still worth trying before you buy. Happy gaming to all you fishies! April 4, 2012
A Little Short for my Taste. I purchased this game after I played the demo. I completed the demo in 45 minutes, but I really liked Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker so I thought highly of getting it. The storyline was decent. The art is very beautiful. It was an enjoyable game, however, it seemed so much shorter than it's counterpart. Maybe the puzzles and HOS weren't as challanging as the first game, or maybe, for whatever reason, I was able to blow through it. I beat the game in about 3.5 hours. The bonus chapter was more challenging to me than the actual game. I would give this 3.5 stars if I were able to because, although it wasn't as creepy as Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker, it was still a fun game. April 15, 2012
good, could have been better When I saw a second Shiver offering I was pleased since the first in the series is a very good HOG. After completing the demo of Poltergeist I am not as enthused. Started out well with a voiceover for Chellini and then with the butler. But Chellini never has a voice for the rest of the demo. Not good devs. So then we must get into the mansion but the doorknob is in a dirty fountain ??? Are devs running out of ideas so fast that we must suspend all logic during a game?? The storyline is no different than the fare we usually get these days in our HOGs. This is getting old too. The HOG scenes are ok, nothing special and the puzzles in the demo are run of the mill. Lots of running around within the mansion so I hope Chellini has a good pair of shoes on. Overall I am of the belief that devs want to churn out new games at such a rapid pace that quality is taking a back seat to quantity. That's sad. These guys must remember that staleness leads to boredom and boredom leads us players to doing something else entirely. I give the game a mild recommendation but only as an SE. March 30, 2012
There we go again ! Nothing really special about this mix of HOG and pseudo "adventure" aside from the well-crafted graphics, the convincing voice-acting, the intro movie and cutscenes which convery a true impression of realism, the 3 game modes, the diary containing the task list, a map, story and photos, a decent atmospheric soundtrack, no penalty for misclicking and a hint system that recharges fast on Casual, the SG, .... and the motion of the waves on the menu screen with the lighthouse in the background. Part of the dialogues is scripted, but they are not too lengthy and can be skipped. The rest is "dj vu", identical to what we've seen in many other games. Take a manor, flog in ghosts, spirits and statues weeping tears of blood that turn into fire, and you have a new game ! As per usual, the HO Scenes are similar to hundreds of other HO Scenes, with the traditional useless items such as a monkey, a crayfish, a turtle, an elephant..... well, a zoo ! Oh I forgot... the clothespin ! Sole consolation, they are are not excessively cluttered; the whole manor is in shambles anyway. And what on earth have all these pieces of junk got to do with a haunted manor ? Gee ! Also identical to the tasks in other games, those you have to perform require thinggies like a valve, carpet, electrical tape..... There is no logic to theses tasks: for instance at the beginning you have to first take a valve, then place it on a pipe to empty the fountain in order to get the manor key.... WOW ! It doesn't say anywhere you need that valve ! How are we supposed to know we need it ? How do we know that key is in the water ? Pure guesswork and application of the trial-and-error method again. Puzzles ? They shine by their absence save the two I saw which are as lame as can be. Thank Goodness, they can be skipped. It's about time some dev somewhere started to rethink these casual games that, as they are, become so repetitive that they no longer provide any surprise and end up leading to boredom: how many times have we had to use a screwdriver or a crowbar ? How many times have we had a jigsaw puzzle, a tangram... ? How many locked doors have we had to open with a key found 4 or 5 locales away and without any indication that THIS key opens THIS door, not THAT one ? Recommended for the wrapping, not the contents. March 29, 2012
Have I been here before? My title reflects my thoughts when I downloaded the demo. All through the demo I kept thinking I have played this one before, & no, I didn't beta it. Good graphics, good storyline, & different approach to puzzles. It was interesting, but not enough to buy CE. March 29, 2012
Bonus Chapter Frustrasion Overall the graphics and voice overs were nice. A lot of challenges. The strategy guide and help in the Bonus Chapter is another story. The strategy guide is incomplete, and the help system tells you to check your diary or inventory to continue. Very dissatisfied with the Bonus Chapter so I do not reccomend this game as a CE. The main game was very well done and the help and strategy guide were helpful. When it comes out as a Standard Edition I will reccommend it. April 7, 2012
121-130 of 149 Reviews <<prev 1112131415next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shiver: Poltergeist Collector's Edition

After inheriting a manor in England, you begin to explore the Kangale Estate and discover its history!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.