Bookmark

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Help Sam Wilde rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Sam’s every move is being tracked so he has to be extra careful. Putting his journalistic talents to the test, Sam must find the maniac who has kidnapped Anna, and stop him before it’s too late. Explore gorgeous locations and solve tricky puzzles in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Interview with the developers
  • Concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.7/OSX_10_6/OSX_10_5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 658 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition 4.6 5 210 210
A fairly interesting Track and Rescue mission. If you've read BFG's presentation summary you have probably already added 2 and 2 together and have surmised the kidnapper was suffering from a mental disorder called DSG. He perpetrated this vile act in an attempt to retain or regain his youth, obsessed as he is by his own appearence. Hence the title of the game. No ghosts, no skeleton, no grave, nothing paranormal, but expect nevertheless a few corpses here and there. Sam's investigation starts with a very good intro movie backed up by a solid soundtrack. Later, the in-game music is discreet except when used to enhance a specific event. The cutscenes are of the same quality. The voice-overs are perfect, very professional, highly natural, and a pleasure to listen to. The graphics and scenery are quite good, a wee bit blurry, thus befitting the mildly spooky atmosphere succesfully. Not at all overloaded with HOScenes, the game gives priority to the adventure side. Tasks are multiple and easy to accomplish with useful items also easy to get. HOs are not difficult to find either as the scenes they're in do not look like awful junkpiles. Assistance is provided efficiently by the unlimited hints that recharge fast, the clues on screen, the audio, and in the journal, together with a map showing your current location, the areas to explore and were the puzzles are. Puzzlewise [and minigames] the developers did a good job; all those I played in the demo were fairly tricky, challenging and fairly uncommon. Some are randomized, I am not sure they all reset as I saw a Reset Button in only one, but you can skip them. Click on the Question Mark to get the instructions. Unfortunately for puzzle lovers like me, the game is not packed with them, but there is enough of them to keep you busy and make you think. Let's add to that 2 Modes of difficulty, a wide monitor option, and the possibility to replay the kidnapper's verbal comments via the journal. The demo takes you to the beginning of Chapter 3 only, so it's difficult to estimate the gamelength, assess how well the storyline unfolds, and how interesting the CE's extras can be. Considering that I got to the end of Chapter 2 in just over 56 mns after visiting 9 locales, it is possible the game may be shorter than expected. Note: DSG: Dorian Gray Syndrome, named after Oscar Wilde's famous novel: The Portrait of Dorian Gray. December 25, 2011
Liked it very much I liked this game. It was very nice to look at since the graphics were very clear and beautifully done. I loved the gameplay except for two things...one is because although it includes a map it does not allow u to skip to areas from it so there is alot of backtracking to get back to where you need to be. So because of that I'm thankful they did include a map to help me find my way. Second thing is there isn't very many HOS scenes really. A few of course but in large part considering the length of the game I would have expected quite a bit more. But overall I would still recommend it because it was fun to play and that's what counts for me. January 4, 2012
Fun but not unique This review is based on the trial version, which took me 55 minutes. There is voice-over, which is very well done. There is a choice of custom and system cursor. There is an option for widescreen, and for film grain. There are 2 gameplay modes. The SG [strategy guide] only showed the first 3 of the 7 chapters [7 chapters plus bonus game]. The graphics were very well done. The gameplay was somewhat tame and pretty much routine. I liked the puzzles I encountered in the trial version, and they were all doable. Both the HINT and SKIP buttons filled quickly. The HINT button is on the left-hand side, and the journal and map on the right, rather than the other way round as is the case in most games. The map shows where you are, and what actions need to be done, but you can't use the map to jump to different places. There is a lot of talk, but you can click on the text to make it stop. This game didn't throw me off my chair with excitement [I seem to be too spoilt], but it was interesting enough for me to want to buy the SE. However, since the game was on offer in the Christmas sale I bought the CE. December 25, 2011
Interesting twist on the haunted house HO game This was a pretty fun game. The artwork was great and the story was interesting. (You get to see the preserved corpses of the murderer's victims, so it isn't a game for the extremely squeamish). There weren't many HOS and they weren't all that challenging, but they weren't bad. Two things were frustrating about this game. For one thing the objects had to be used in VERY specific spots within the scene. Several times I had to walk back and re-do something I'd done before because I was off by a tiny bit and it didn't "take." Also, the layout was confusing and sprawling, and the rooms started to run together. But there wasn't a lot of pointless running back to the beginning, which was good. The guide is very clear and probably made the difference for me between a frustrating game and a fun one. I don't usually buy Collectors' Editions but in this case, it was worth it. The well-done, very substantial bonus chapter was just gravy. On the whole this is well worth the time. December 25, 2011
Excellent game - shame the map was not interactive This is a game with an involved and excellent storyline from MagicIndie Softworks; in addition the artwork & voiceovers really are superbly done. At first I found the psychopath Oscar?s commentary a little annoying but it grew on me, sort of hypnotic in a way. There are two modes of play, casual with sparkles, glints & a 35 second hint renewal & expert with no glints & 70 second hint. You do get a map but it is not interactive & the world of this game is huge so you will have to go back & forward a great deal. I confess I got lost on many occasions whilst making my way around. You also get a journal which details the story as you play & you can also replay the dialogue if you wish. The hidden object scenes are very good, some items are well hidden & there are also interactive objects. The mini puzzles really are splendid, lots of variety & some of them are fiendishly difficult, there is a skip button. This is a game that should keep you involved for hours, just one small observation the story is only very loosely linked to that of Dorian Gray so don?t expect something similar. The ending to the main game is very good but the bonus play does add an extra & interesting twist. February 5, 2012
Good storyline! I enjoyed the trial of this game which has a good storyline, realistic graphics and just enough mystery to keep you moving forward to see what happens next. It's not too difficult but just challenging enough. Probably a good one to buy. December 25, 2011
Lots of areas with plenty of challenge! I really liked the storyline and graphics. To me, the game seemed focused mostly on gaining inventory items to open other inventory items by way of puzzles instead of HO scenes, though they are in the game. The puzzles were fun to solve. There are lots of areas to explore and this game included a map indicating an area of interest to help you remember places to return with your newfound inventory. The music was perfect and I didn't feel the urge to mute it one time, but was actually relaxing. The bonus game is pretty lengthy with a totally different setting--an amusement park. I rate it four stars instead of five because I would've really liked to have had more HO scenes. A really good game and glad I purchased it. January 13, 2012
worth buying Challenging game which keeps you involved. sometimes hard to figure out what to do next or where to look for items you need. Hint not real helpfull, only tells you NOTHING TO DO HERE. Graphics very good. Worth the money Replayable many times. December 27, 2011
High on the "creepy" scale! The premise is unique to most of the standard HOG/adventure games and is even borderline disturbing...but in a good way if you like that sort of thing, which I do . The artistry and graphics are stunning, hidden object scenes crisp and clear. The one drawback I encountered was that the back and forth from scene to scene looking for the necessary items to advance in the game was so involved and numerous, that I started getting a tad frustrated with it. This definitely could have used a "jump" option in the map! And the villain, "Oscar" obviously loved to hear himself talk...blah, blah, blah. Overall, this is a well thought out, well developed game, so I'm going to recommend it! December 27, 2011
A good game that didn't age well. This review is based on a complete playthrough of the game plus bonus content. This was one of the first games I bought here, but for some reason didn't play it until now. I've got to review it compared to new games in 2014, since this is when you'll be spending your hard earned cash. First off, the Bonus Content (or Why should I pay double for this game?): there's not much. No achievements, morphs, collectibles, or a lot of the 'bling' that comes standard with CE games today. The bonus chapter is about an hour long, ties up a loose end from the main story, and ends on an 'unresolved' note of its own. Personally, I think the SE is the way to go on this one. Now the game: THE GOOD: Graphics were a 'realistic' style, with a darkness that worked well with the mood of the game. The map was also presented as though you were drawing it in yourself as you went: it labeled each room and showed 'points of interest', puzzles, HOS (very useful, this), and locked doors. The puzzles were challenging - some very challenging. I had to skip a couple - something I almost never do. Not all were maddeningly difficult, but there were enough. The storyline: it's a 'psychological suspense/thriller' and holds to that pretty well (no comic relief or other 'breaks'). The game does a good job of reminding you what's at stake so you always have a 'sense of urgency' in moving forward. THE BAD: The map/layout. This game needed a jump map in the worst way. The entire game was in one continuous area that you kept going back and forth and back and forth over. Not just a few rooms either, often it's double digits each way. The HOS - a monochromatic, dreary gray. Especially in the start of the game. I get what they were trying to do, but they sacrificed too much in terms of playability in the attempt. I think every scene gets repeated once: things you pulled out are back in the picture the second time. They aren't terrible junkpiles, but games today do it much better. The story gets repetitive. You can only be surprised by the same thing so many times. The sound effects compound the effect as you hear the same ones over and over. THE UGLY: Apparently you're asthmatic by the way you breathe in almost every scene. They were probably trying for fright or shock or something, but after hearing it so much it just got annoying. BOTTOM LINE: Better than just an ok game: 3 1/2 stars rounded up to four. I still say the SE is the way to go, but if you want the resolution of the bonus chapter (and a nice 'twist' ending: not the switch I was expecting), you can do a lot worse. April 20, 2014
161-170 of 210 Reviews <<prev 1516171819...21next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Help Sam rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.