Bookmark

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Help Sam Wilde rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Sam’s every move is being tracked so he has to be extra careful. Putting his journalistic talents to the test, Sam must find the maniac who has kidnapped Anna, and stop him before it’s too late. Explore gorgeous locations and solve tricky puzzles in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Interview with the developers
  • Concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.7/OSX_10_6/OSX_10_5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 658 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition 4.6 5 209 209
Review The game was interesting, I liked the large game board to venture around and the many puzzles. The details in the graphics were excellent. The storyline was not bad, thank god not another demonic game or character just psycho. December 28, 2011
Good hidden object game Although the game was good the amount of back tracking that was required to go from scene to scene was over the top. It would have been better if the map was interactive so moving between scenes was less time consuming January 1, 2012
hour limit !! I only had an hour but I had fun with this one . Runs you around a bit but, made it worth it Very good game !!! Way To Go Big Fish ! December 26, 2011
We are smarter than you think !!! My complements go to the designer of the mask at the beginning of the game. It was a piece of art. To the artist of the game that puts hints on the top of the games. I consider myself and all of the others that like hidden object/adventure games to be smarter than a grade three player. When you see a lock that is locked with a key hole the answer would be we need a key! We don't need you to put on the top of the screen Get a Key. When I play a game I like to do some thinking and reasoning for myself. If you must put these hints for the few players that are mentally challenged then have for them the choice of difficulty. December 29, 2011
myreviewtitle very good game,enyojed playing it January 7, 2012
Too much and not enough I thought this was a good game, but there were several elements that got on my nerves. First, the concept of the Dorian Gray Syndrome. I am very familiar with the story of The Picture of Dorian Gray, and I am still at a loss as to how this guy wearing a mask compared with Dorian Gray. "Oscar" never shows any desire to transfer his evil to anyone or anything else. I also thought that, although there were many hints and scenes obliquely referring to Oscar's tortured youth, there weren't enough details to fill in the blanks as to why he had become what he had. On the other hand, there was way too much going back and forth and WAY too much of Oscar's one-sided conversations with Sam: "Sam, I've always meant to ask you, do you think art is important?" "Sam, you'd better hurry, you're running out of time," "Sam, no one was ever nice to me, so I have preserved this victim for eternity..." blah blah blah To be fair, you can turn him off. I did love the fact that this game was different, and the graphics and music were excellent. I also found Oscar's "art" genuinely creepy, and there were several moments that actually startled me. I'm not sure why I bought the Collector's Edition, but by the end of the main part of the story, I had had enough of Oscar and I did not play the bonus chapter. I would recommend this game, but if I had it to do over again, I would turn the voice off once I had the gist of Oscar's personality. July 25, 2013
So creepy! It seems that hidden object mystery games just get creepier and creepier, and Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition is one of the creepiest by far. While there is no blood, there is one psychotic "artist" that is our antogonist, and is he ever deranged. We play through the POV of Sam Wilde, an investigative reporter, and even though the place names sound very English, the background looks to be in Central Europe. Well, Sam is getting a little to close to the truth, and even in 1950, the time when this is all taking place, some low tech can be used in finding what has been missing and saving more lives, including the one dearest to Sam, his girlfriend, Anna. "Oscar" has kidnapped Anna, and has brought Sam to his "gallery", where he has created life-sized works of art from the perfectly preserved bodies of his young and beautiful victims, dressed to reflect the image he wants them to portray, Icarus on the ceiling, his mechanic always in the garage, The Vitruvian Man, a flower girl in the indoor garden. So "Oscar" is a man of resources, but his insanity had lead him to using them for all the wrong reasons, and I was a little disappointed that in this very creepy mystery that there were not man HO puzzles to go through. Many logic puzzles, and lots of running back and forth to take one item to make another thing work, and so on, which is pretty common with these kinds of games. Had this been a horror film, I would have been riveted to find out more about Oscar. Perhaps the writers of this game might want to consider taking this script to an independent studio, because it would make one amazing scary movie. I've played my share of creepy games, and was glad not have run into swarming spiders in this one. You might even consider reading Oscar Wilde's works or at least watch LXG after playing this to learn more about Dorian Gray, but I was glad for the reprieve when I chose the more upbeat "Legally Blonde" to view after playing this game. June 20, 2012
Great HOG with lots of backtracking Bought this from the CE sale last weekend, I am not disappointed. The graphic is great and the voice over sounds pro, there are a lot to do although I checked the strategy guide I am already in Chapter 3 while playing for about 1 hour. The storyline is not unusual, but it is twisted so it's kinda unique in a way. I would give this game a 5 star if only there is not many backtracking.. You go back and forth, back and forth, and although there is a map, you can't click on them to move from one location to the other. Once you acquire an item, you have to go back many scenes and then go forward again to find item and them go back again... And I notice there is a 2-3 seconds loading between scenes which takes it longer if you have to go backward 5 scenes, for example. But in short, I enjoy this game and I think you should give this one a try. April 16, 2012
Dark fun Very reminiscent of Saw movies. So if you like that kind of stuff, this is right up your alley. Been a while since i played it, but the puzzles were good, its a dark game not only in storyline, but also color/brightness on your screen. Would recommend if you like the psycho/serial killer premise. April 1, 2012
It's just okay I'm glad I played Dorian Gray Syndrome once, but I'm not expecting to replay it anytime soon. The music and graphics are beautiful, first of all, and I'm impressed with the voice acting in this game. Oscar's voice actor is very Vincent Price-like and he's really what makes this game. But in terms of game play and story, it falls flat. For game-play, it's your standard HO game. You collect items, find hidden objects, and solve puzzles. So, it's pretty standard. My only criticism is there is a LOT of backtracking in the game and the world is so big it gets tedious way too early. A "go to" option on the map would have really helped. The story is essentially a rehash of Vincent Price's "House of Wax", but lacked the suspenseful build up the film had. If the story took its time gradually building up Oscar's psychological profile and what happened to the victims, I would have enjoyed it so much more. It's not a bad story - I just think it needed to slow itself down for a bit. The bonus game for the CE is a bit too short for my liking (although I enjoyed the twist). I would have liked a longer bonus game that went into Oscar's head a bit more. Overall, I'm glad I played it. It was a pleasantly creepy and atmospheric game, I just wanted a bit more from it. October 25, 2013
181-190 of 209 Reviews <<prev 1718192021next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome Collector's Edition

Help Sam rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.