Bookmark

Rita James and the Race to Shangri La

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Join the “More Brave than Brilliant” Rita James on another whirlwind adventure in search of the mythical paradise of Shangri-La in Rita James and the Race to Shangri-La! Travel with Rita, Sebastian, Dr. James, and Marbles the one eyed monkey, to a land of mystery where few have ventured in this mesmerizing Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Find the legendary city while being chased by the sinister Dr. Stroheim!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 352 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Rita James and the Race to Shangri La

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Rita James and the Race to Shangri La

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Rita James and the Race to Shangri La 3.6 5 44 44
A fun and quirky game Another adventure with Rita and the one-eyed monkey Marbles. Whilst not as good as the first one in the series, it was still a fun game. Loved the humorous cut-scenes! The game offered nothing special. More adventure than hidden objects, without any frills. The games and puzzles were relatively easy, and the hint button charged quickly. The tasks tab worked almost like a strategy guide in that it showed you what scenes still needed completing, when stuck. The graphics were okay, voice-overs good, and the game ran smoothly and loaded quickly. The storyline fell short - just sort of bumped from one scene to the next without any plot. The length of the game was fair. Whilst not to the calibre of most of the CE games around, it was still fun to play with a bright and chirpy feeling to it. March 28, 2012
FUN & QUIRKY CHALLENGE...MONKEY INCLUDED!... Reveiw is on demo but that is the usual place to decide. This was a refreshing change and must state a challenge for me. Have not played any other 'Rita Adventures' so really enjoyed the whole idea of a trio of 'drawn cartoon characters' and of course the 'crazy monkey'! That said the storyline was as the title stated and done well as it kept me interested to find out 'what is next'? Game does make you do some thinking but must read what is explained. Liked the map area with task to do and checked off, quite unique. Audio was appropriate for the area of country being explored and frankly not annoying. Graphics were defined but in some area on the dark side making some things harder to find. No sparkles which are o.k. if game has them or not but when none, that make you have to 'go to the thinking cap' part of brain and a challenge IMO. Was amazed when time was up, Oh NO!... and now will be one game as a got to 'buy'. Just have to find out what this 'trio' will be up to as they progress to Shangri La. Its four stars here and will say 'try it'! Laughter is good for you! March 27, 2012
Finally a few laughs I love to laugh and this game does it for me. I agree that most HOB scenes are very dark but I still enjoy the challenge of figuring out the next step. Good music to keep me going in the game and off course a few comical cartoon characters to keep you laughing. You have many challenges so stay alert. Can't get bored in this game. I love it and will of course purchase it. Try it, you'll like it! March 26, 2012
A cartoon style graphics game with the old serial style of story presentation Cartoon style graphics divided into chapters much like the old TV serial type programs where they end an episode on a cliff hanger and then come back the next week and getting out of the situation. The story was interesting and easy to follow but there were times when where to go next could be confusing. As you often had several directions in which you could go, it was nice to have a task list (which I didn't discover until a third way through the game) to let you know when an area was completed. There were some funny moments in the game especially with the monkey and panda sidekicks with plenty of HO screens to hunt through containing interactive items some requiring multiple steps to complete. Some of the mini games had little or no direction leaving you to figure out what needed to be done and a few were timed with very short time frame to complete the tasks. Fortunately it only restarted the mini game and didn't repeat some of what was already completed. There is a skip button for all but the final scene. Not a bad way to spend a few hours when you have nothing else to do. July 13, 2014
Another Enjoyable Game In This Series ... I Bought "Escape From Thunder Island" On Special And Went Looking For This Game As Soon As I Had Finished To Use Up A Game Voucher ... They Are Two Comical Adventure Games With Creative HOG's And Lengthy Game Play ... Great Value And Great Fun ... September 7, 2013
Scenes rather dark but challenging to play From Big Finish Games this is an amusing hidden object in the style of a 1950s adventure, the graphic are clear & cartoon in style. I found the scenes a little dark although the cut scenes are bright enough, you really should watch these as there are some hilarious moments. Be sure to explore the scenes thoroughly as you will find many inventory items which are not always easy to spot. Most of the items will be used reasonable quickly so your inventory will not get too full. There is no choice in gameplay but the only sparkles are for the H0s & they are very subtle, the H0s have some excellent interactive items some of which require 3 or 4 items to complete the object. The hint recharges in 40 seconds & can be useful outside the H0s; it will give a clue what to do next if you get stuck. The mini games range from easy to rather hard; once you get into the mind-set of the developer they are a little easier to solve. I found them interesting & they form part of the gameplay rather than being add-ons; there is a skip button. There is a task list which shows what actions still need to be performed in an area; some gamers may find this too much like hand holding but you do not have to use it as it has to be clicked on in order to read it. Through the game you will collect an amulet & crystals; each crystal will give you a different ability to help you. There are not a great many H0 scenes, this is more about solving problems to get to the next part of the game. March 26, 2012
So-So Fairly average HO/Adventure, graphics a little fuzzy at times but not too bad and the music was ok. The storyline was alright, not particularly gripping (I started skipping the cutscenes) Puzzles aren't too difficult and objects are fairly easy to find. One thing that stops this game from being better is the Hint button. I had to use it occasionally to find out what to do next and even if there is nothing to do in the scene it uses it up and you have to wait for it to charge again. The free hour was more than enough for me and I leave the game unfinished with no regrets. March 26, 2012
CUTE GAME A simple but cute and amusing game. HOS are detailed but not overcrowded. Some locations are a little gray, but that's to be expected when looking at machines and snowy locales. Not difficult to figure out what to do. One thing that is a little interesting and unique is that you can click things in the HOS and they will fly off the screen, only to reappear when they weren't on the list. If not paying attention, easy to miss. Also like that sometimes you need more than one interaction in the HOS to collect your item. April 2, 2013
What Race? I was quite disappointed... the promising start then turned into a boring illogical roundabout. Sorry devs the promise of a good game was not fulfilled for me. The idea is great but needs work to keep players attentive. I agree that the Hint button was not a good help although I used it twice - but to no avail. keep working on things because the graphics etc were good, but in a race there should be an element of urgency. This is just not for me. March 26, 2012
Interesting I enjoyed the cartoon atmosphere and found the humor of the cut scenes amusing, tho anyone under 18 may not like it so much as the references are of a different generation. All in all the graphics, music and voice acting were good. Some things in the HO's didnt corrolate to the description you were looking for (i.e.dashboard hula girl as protective equipment, but ah there's that humor again) so remember to think outside the box :) and you will have to hit the hint button more than you may have in the past. Also read the Help before playng, minipuzzle hints work different than you may think. 3 stars as i do recommend this game for those who would like something a little different, its not great, but it is different. April 10, 2012
21-30 of 44 Reviews <<prev 2345next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rita James and the Race to Shangri La

Join the “More Brave than Brilliant” Rita James on another whirlwind adventure in search of the mythical paradise of Shangri-La!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.