Bookmark

Phenomenon: City of Cyan

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help Monica uncover the secrets and tragedies of her childhood in Phenomenon: City of Cyan! 20 years ago a dangerous experiment destroyed most of Cyan City and turned many of the citizens into strange creatures. Explore the deserted city, overcome supernatural enemies, and find powerful allies on your quest to find out what happened to Monica's parents in this fantastic Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

  • Master the minigames
  • Explore the deserted city
  • Uncover Monica's past!
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 325 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Phenomenon: City of Cyan

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Phenomenon: City of Cyan

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Phenomenon: City of Cyan 4 5 231 231
Wow Cons: 1. Poor writing & storyline - the heroine is both too dumb to know how to get into the city by crossing the bridge and yet has immediate encyclopedic knowledge of the technology surrounding her. Info dump galore, via her mouth. Makes no sense. 2. S*x kitten heroine, as a teenager? Really? Demographics for these games, again? Pre-teen boys? I don't think so. 3. The voice acting is... bad. 4. Easy puzzles. 5. Unduly complex tasks that ultimately make little sense (to me, anyway) in the context of this created environment. Former townspeople need to get through a gate? Good luck, since one must jump through 10 hoops to get the gate open. 6. Pandering to the women gamers (actual demographic of these games from my understanding) by having the scientists be women. As long as they're male-defined gorgeous, that is. Sorry, devs, didn't work on me. Pros, because I feel the need to find something: 1. Artwork of the river and long shots of the town was nice. 2. Fills my widescreen monitor without losing aspect ratio. 3. Difficulty choice = good. 4. No sparkles = good. Goodness, I don't understand the positive reviews here. I have not been this disappointed and fed up with a game like this one in a long time. March 26, 2012
No Challenge I'm pretty disappointed in this game, especially given the ratings it's had so far. I was expecting something much better. The good aspects of the game simply don't outweigh the bad ones. Good: *graphics overall quite nice. *some originality in the hidden object scenes, which is rare these days Bad: *lead character voice-over painfully bad. *any challenge in the game -even on advanced mode- is eliminated by the game either telling you exactly what to do or just doing it for you. Blah. *the WORST example of non-ending I've seen in a game yet. I realy wish game makers would consider story-telling an important part of a game. Stories should have endings. This one fails utterly. The last two points are why I rate this game so low. I want to be challenged by a game and play through a satisfying story. Sadly neither happened here. April 4, 2012
Why are people rating this with 5 stars? Check out the reviews for 1 and 3 stars i agree with them. Story line could have been good but very bad acting, and provided you with not only major hints but they just downright told you what to do (donot read the journal if u want to try by yourself). After a cutscene items were placed into my inventory with no explaination or letting ME try to find them or figure out i Needed it. They just gave me exactly the knife i needed and boom puzzle solved. Ending caused me to believe this was a pure waste of money. March 27, 2012
Wait. What? That was it? The story ended so abruptly, it left you wondering what happened. It's like reading a book to the end, only to find out someone ripped out the last 5 pages. There was almost no resolution. Maybe they are planning a follow up game, I don't know. Definitely anticlimactic. I don't recommend. June 7, 2012
Definitely not the genre for me This game falls under science fiction, which is not a genre I usually play on BFG. I decided to try it out since I almost always play psychological/spooky/creepy games and really didn't like it. I'll start with the positives: *The visuals were really nice...lots of clear and sharp images with tons of colors. *Music was good and went with the game. Now for what I didn't like: *The storyling was just too strange for me and didn't really make a lot of sense, but this is a sci-fi genre. I found myself not really caring about whether or not I finished the game. I did, but I did it over a period of a week. *The voice acting was terrible. The character you play talks as if she is reading a script. A flat performance, period. If this had been a movie I would have stopped watching it. *The puzzles were not really a challenge, which is one of the factors I look for when I get a game. The reviews said the puzzles were challenging, but I didn't think so. I'll add that they weren't exactly awful and a lot of them were puzzles I've never played before, so I give the developers an A for originality, but most of them were just not challenging. Some of them were fun though. Overall,this just wasn't the game for me. What I look for when I buy a game are a cool storyline and puzzles that make me think, but that is just personal preference. If you like a story that's really out there and strange and just want a relaxing game with not a lot of challenge, then this is a game you might like. April 4, 2012
Who's your Daddy?? If you are tired of same old puzzles and hidden objects this game might be for you. Otherwise the storyline was really choppy and came to a very unsatisfying ending. In this game you collect a lot of inventory and I have to say the cursor was really bad .It was really difficult to handle the cursor especially if you needed to scroll through your inventory . I would give it 2 1/2 stars April 15, 2012
Boring for me After seeing all the 5 stars reviews I thought I would give this one a go. I played the demo, it seemed like a good game - until I bought it, then I was sorry I did. It soon got boring after that. Yes I will say that the game play for HOG's was a bit different than the norm. I wouldn't say the graphics were over the top, except the cut away scenes they were done rather well, neither was the story line for me either. It was a bit confusing at times as to where to go - thanks heavens for the map. Thought the puzzles were rather simple and didn't require to much thought. It ended to abrupt for me and was way to short! March 27, 2012
Don't let the high ratings blind you I downloaded this game because it had such a high rating at the time. I always review comments before purchasing a game and I will admit that my expectations were high after people were so excited about HOPs within HOPs and the visual quality of the game. Yes, the visual quality was beautiful, but that is about the only good thing that I can say about this game. Let me warn you upfront. Do not play this game if: -- You are detail-oriented about spelling and grammar -- You are highly aware of poor voice acting -- You desire a deep, well-thought out plotline -- You are logical to the point where you expect puzzles to make real-world sense Why do these things matter? ATROCIOUS SPELLING AND GRAMMAR: I can't even count the number of typos, incorrect uses of punctuation, and lack of clean grammar instances that plague this game. One example: On multiple screens, you have access to enter a bell tower but, upon doing so, two movement screens then switch the words and offer you the ability to climb to the top of the tower bell. Yes. The tower bell. How did THAT get through the editors!? Twice even!? POOR VOICE ACTING: How can you really provide an example of this through text? The best way that I can describe the voice acting is ?forced?. It did not feel sincere. The main character is looking for a lost family member and, upon discovering the possibility that the family member is located within the Cyan City, her reaction is monotone and every word is painful, when it should be full of energy and natural. The best voice acting was the antagonist and he/she only got a few sentences. Monica?s scenes were so terrible that I actually called some of my family members into the room to hear it because I was so incredulous of its pitiful quality. LACK OF A DEEP PLOTLINE: As noted earlier, the story follows Monica Dipp, a young woman who is searching for a family member who was lost in an accident 20 years ago. That?s about it; really, it is. She makes it to Cyan City, finds a helpful friend, meets an antagonist, collects a few pieces of a broken pendant, and then somehow, magically fixes the problem (I won?t spoil it with details). There are a few mal-aligned characters that pop up every now and again, but Monica is supernaturally protected by her massively gaudy, heart-shaped pendant and therefore, any tension regarding her safety is completely eliminated. So, what is the point of those encounters? Your guess is as good as mine. ILLOGICAL PUZZLES: This is one of those games where you find random keys in the most ridiculous places, the mini-games are obviously placed to provide a halt to the game but have no connection to the atmosphere around them, and you can often figure out exactly what you are supposed to do to continue the story, but will have to spend 10 minutes trying to figure out what specific step the game wants you to take first to make it happen. The one saving grace regarding this point is that the map indicates which places have activities in them. So, you know that you are supposed to take action in a specific room, but you sometimes have the randomly click everywhere to figure out what it is because the game hasn?t indicated the purpose of it to you. Let me end this review with what, I believe, should have been the bright-as-day signal that indicates the poor quality of this game and the subsequent decision to quit right then and there. Yes, I did complete the entire game, so I ignored this sign, but I just want to emphasize that, even at the very beginning, I should have known that things could only get worse. This is not a spoiler; it is the very first puzzle of the game. You begin by meeting a male stranger sitting on a bench in front of Cyan City. This bench sits on the edge of the forest, so there is a bit of foliage around him. Monica sees that the stranger has bright blue eyes and, when she asks about them, the stranger explains how he lost his sight 20 years ago due to an explosion. Monica expresses her condolences and then tells the stranger that she desires to make it across the broken bridge into Cyan City. The stranger is willing to help her get there, but first she must create a curative potion for his blinded eyes. He says that it should be very easy for her because all of the ingredients she needs are located in this very forest! In fact, they are within two screens of him! So, Monica finds a random cauldron sitting around, fills it with water, grabs some fauna, and mixes everything together. No heat, no spoon, no measuring cups, no magic fairy dust -- nada. Somehow, this is the perfect potion for the man?s eyes and I can only assume that he must have dunked his head into the cauldron because Monica surely didn?t put the mixture into an eye dropper for him. Unbelievable! The man can suddenly see again! So, what on earth was this stranger doing for the past 20 years? Was he just sitting on that bench, waiting for some by-passer to mosey along so they could pick up some leaves, drop them into some cold water, and then miraculously cure his blindness? How could he have known what kind of curative potion he needed? Even more surprising, how did he know that all of the ingredients were less than 20 feet away from his bench? Also, where did that massive cauldron come from!? You can see, from the very first puzzle in the game, that this is the logic that flows through the cracks of every puzzle thereafter. If none of those things bother you and you are just looking for a short, visually-stimulating, calming game, then you will probably enjoy it, because it is definitely beautiful. I would love to see more graphics like that in future games. Otherwise, please don?t waste your money, or your time, like I did. Just for clarification, I gave it 2 stars because I actually finished the game. I only rate 1 star for games that I am so disgusted with that I refuse to finish them. April 18, 2014
not worth the money very disappointing. the narrating was bad and way to much talk telling me what to do next...and that was expert mode. the graphic were poor and overall I cannot recommend this. June 29, 2012
Awful voiceover The story was confusing - kept talking about 'cyan' though have not idea what this means. Graphics and gameplay average. Voiceover is frequent, bad acting, very annoying and spoiled the game for me. March 27, 2012
201-210 of 231 Reviews <<prev 192021222324next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Phenomenon: City of Cyan

20 years ago a terrible accident destroyed most of Cyan City. Now, Monica returns to uncover the secrets of her childhood!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.