Bookmark

Phenomenon: City of Cyan

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help Monica uncover the secrets and tragedies of her childhood in Phenomenon: City of Cyan! 20 years ago a dangerous experiment destroyed most of Cyan City and turned many of the citizens into strange creatures. Explore the deserted city, overcome supernatural enemies, and find powerful allies on your quest to find out what happened to Monica's parents in this fantastic Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

  • Master the minigames
  • Explore the deserted city
  • Uncover Monica's past!
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 325 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Phenomenon: City of Cyan

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Phenomenon: City of Cyan

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Phenomenon: City of Cyan 4 5 231 231
Stupid and dull This is one of the terrible games I have played in the history of HO games. Graphics is bad, sound FX is so so, story line makes no sense. Big red flags: 1. The cursor is super slow 2. Mini games are very simple and make no sense 3. The enviroment is so bad you do not want to play after 20 mins. Nothing else to say. No pros. Please stop making games like this. April 3, 2012
confusing story hard to follow; instructions for games were ambiguous March 25, 2012
Disappointed i really went with the reviews on this one...sadly it was too short and far to easy....not the best of this type of game...far from it! March 28, 2012
Nice to look at, but not much substance... Based on previous reviews I thought this game was going to hit it out of the park, but boy, was I disappointed! The graphics are gorgeous, but the voiceovers are nothing to write home about and the game itself is pretty bad. The plot holes are large enough to sail a boat through. March 25, 2012
played the demo... The game is unique, so that alone makes it worth playing the demo...but...many of the interactive tasks lack logic and this forces you to wait for the help button unless you just get lucky and blindly click on something useful. Minigames and the HOS scenes are different and for halfway thru the demo, looked forward to these...thought might buy it just to see what other minigames in full version might offer or to see how story ended, but by end of demo was so bored, just didn't care about either. Sorry to thumbs down this one, but would not spend a game credit on it...possibly buy it at 2.99 deal, but I doubt it. Congrats to those who enjoy it - just not my kind of HO game. Don't recommend buying it until you play the whole demo. March 25, 2012
Not for me I guess I'm out of it the last few day. I loved Ghost Encounters: Deadwood which did not get very good reviews. I did'nt like this demo at all which appears to be getting good reviews. The puzzles were boring. They either made no sense or you were literally walked through them step by step. The HOS was too hard (I only played one in the demo and had to use the help button 3 times). The main characters voice was annoying and the music was drab. Hard to follow what was even going on most the time. The anbience was dumb. March 25, 2012
Not Sci-Fi & severely annoying voiceovers The opening scene of this game lures you into thinking it's going to be a science fiction story but, after the first cut-scene, abandons that avenue and veers off into the typical "person with magic heirloom seeking a relative" story. Instead of some rational sci-fi inspired explanation for why this girl was spared when her mother's experiment destroyed the city you are told she was saved by a magic pendant. Instead of doing tasks that are remotely inspired by science fiction you are charged with the same old potion brewing, finding missing weapons for statues, and placing keys into slots that magically raise huge stone bridges found in every fantasy/detective/horror HOPA out there. This game is a fantasy game complete with magic items, potions made of berries that actually cure blindness, and inanimate objects that demand things in order to function. If this wasn't disappointing enough the game is crippled by the most horrible voice-overs I've heard in any game I've ever played. Nails going over a chalkboard don't even begin to approach the cringe factor of the voice overs in this game. It wouldn't be so bad if you could skip them all or turn off the voice volume but you can't...there are obligatory ones that will continue playing even if you skip through the voice-over scene. The HOS are fairly easy and not innovative even for 2012. The graphics are about average for 2012 and, lacking any story to make this game a must play, are insufficient to lure people away from newer games with better graphics IMO. Overall, this was a complete disappointment. It's a game masquerading as sci-fi while delivering the same old magic/fantasy story about a girl trying to save her mom using a magic pendant. July 6, 2014
Don't let the high ratings blind you I downloaded this game because it had such a high rating at the time. I always review comments before purchasing a game and I will admit that my expectations were high after people were so excited about HOPs within HOPs and the visual quality of the game. Yes, the visual quality was beautiful, but that is about the only good thing that I can say about this game. Let me warn you upfront. Do not play this game if: -- You are detail-oriented about spelling and grammar -- You are highly aware of poor voice acting -- You desire a deep, well-thought out plotline -- You are logical to the point where you expect puzzles to make real-world sense Why do these things matter? ATROCIOUS SPELLING AND GRAMMAR: I can't even count the number of typos, incorrect uses of punctuation, and lack of clean grammar instances that plague this game. One example: On multiple screens, you have access to enter a bell tower but, upon doing so, two movement screens then switch the words and offer you the ability to climb to the top of the tower bell. Yes. The tower bell. How did THAT get through the editors!? Twice even!? POOR VOICE ACTING: How can you really provide an example of this through text? The best way that I can describe the voice acting is ?forced?. It did not feel sincere. The main character is looking for a lost family member and, upon discovering the possibility that the family member is located within the Cyan City, her reaction is monotone and every word is painful, when it should be full of energy and natural. The best voice acting was the antagonist and he/she only got a few sentences. Monica?s scenes were so terrible that I actually called some of my family members into the room to hear it because I was so incredulous of its pitiful quality. LACK OF A DEEP PLOTLINE: As noted earlier, the story follows Monica Dipp, a young woman who is searching for a family member who was lost in an accident 20 years ago. That?s about it; really, it is. She makes it to Cyan City, finds a helpful friend, meets an antagonist, collects a few pieces of a broken pendant, and then somehow, magically fixes the problem (I won?t spoil it with details). There are a few mal-aligned characters that pop up every now and again, but Monica is supernaturally protected by her massively gaudy, heart-shaped pendant and therefore, any tension regarding her safety is completely eliminated. So, what is the point of those encounters? Your guess is as good as mine. ILLOGICAL PUZZLES: This is one of those games where you find random keys in the most ridiculous places, the mini-games are obviously placed to provide a halt to the game but have no connection to the atmosphere around them, and you can often figure out exactly what you are supposed to do to continue the story, but will have to spend 10 minutes trying to figure out what specific step the game wants you to take first to make it happen. The one saving grace regarding this point is that the map indicates which places have activities in them. So, you know that you are supposed to take action in a specific room, but you sometimes have the randomly click everywhere to figure out what it is because the game hasn?t indicated the purpose of it to you. Let me end this review with what, I believe, should have been the bright-as-day signal that indicates the poor quality of this game and the subsequent decision to quit right then and there. Yes, I did complete the entire game, so I ignored this sign, but I just want to emphasize that, even at the very beginning, I should have known that things could only get worse. This is not a spoiler; it is the very first puzzle of the game. You begin by meeting a male stranger sitting on a bench in front of Cyan City. This bench sits on the edge of the forest, so there is a bit of foliage around him. Monica sees that the stranger has bright blue eyes and, when she asks about them, the stranger explains how he lost his sight 20 years ago due to an explosion. Monica expresses her condolences and then tells the stranger that she desires to make it across the broken bridge into Cyan City. The stranger is willing to help her get there, but first she must create a curative potion for his blinded eyes. He says that it should be very easy for her because all of the ingredients she needs are located in this very forest! In fact, they are within two screens of him! So, Monica finds a random cauldron sitting around, fills it with water, grabs some fauna, and mixes everything together. No heat, no spoon, no measuring cups, no magic fairy dust -- nada. Somehow, this is the perfect potion for the man?s eyes and I can only assume that he must have dunked his head into the cauldron because Monica surely didn?t put the mixture into an eye dropper for him. Unbelievable! The man can suddenly see again! So, what on earth was this stranger doing for the past 20 years? Was he just sitting on that bench, waiting for some by-passer to mosey along so they could pick up some leaves, drop them into some cold water, and then miraculously cure his blindness? How could he have known what kind of curative potion he needed? Even more surprising, how did he know that all of the ingredients were less than 20 feet away from his bench? Also, where did that massive cauldron come from!? You can see, from the very first puzzle in the game, that this is the logic that flows through the cracks of every puzzle thereafter. If none of those things bother you and you are just looking for a short, visually-stimulating, calming game, then you will probably enjoy it, because it is definitely beautiful. I would love to see more graphics like that in future games. Otherwise, please don?t waste your money, or your time, like I did. Just for clarification, I gave it 2 stars because I actually finished the game. I only rate 1 star for games that I am so disgusted with that I refuse to finish them. April 18, 2014
Too many puzzles! If you love puzzles, this is the one for you. If, like me, you hate them, steer clear. It seems like there is a new puzzle every minute or two and many of them seemed way to obscure. This is a good example of why I really need to use the free play time before buying. The game appears to be well done enough, but I quit less than an hour in because there are just too many puzzles. August 24, 2013
What happened to the ending? I got this as a free play through the instant games and very glad I didn't actually spend money on it. Voice acting for the main character was horrible. Everyone else seemed okay but she sounded stilted and very annoying. But I worked with it. I had played the other phenomenon game and was hoping for a link. No such luck. the story just stopped without a real ending. It's like the writer just got tired of it and tossed it away. Usually that means the devs just want you to spend more money on their collectors edition, but I can't even find that. July 22, 2013
211-220 of 231 Reviews <<prev 2021222324next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Phenomenon: City of Cyan

20 years ago a terrible accident destroyed most of Cyan City. Now, Monica returns to uncover the secrets of her childhood!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.