Bookmark

Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room

Full version game
(483.32 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Solve a perplexing conundrum in Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room! A young woman is attacked in the middle of the night inside a locked room. There are only two ways out: a dead- bolted door and a single window blocked by iron bars. How did the murderer escape?

  • Interact with a host of characters
  • Unravel a Victorian mystery
  • Sumptuous scenery
  • Check out our Blog Walkthrough
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 543 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room 3.4 5 109 109
Well Developed and Fun Game I have played both Victorian Mysteries and hope they add more to the series. This particular game was a great amount of fun with lots of small challenges: Visually, not sophisticated but it had a nice look to it and the objects were clear in the pictures, even the small ones. Music was rousing for some scenes and pensive for others - never distracting and matched the mood of the room/task. Puzzles were easy to easy-medium and worked well with the motif. The "Skip" takes annoyingly long to be ready but most puzzles were solved before the skip was halfway done. Story takes several twists and turns to arrive at a conclusion. Some found this game short - but I thought it told the whole story and was a good length. June 11, 2012
I didn't want it to end! "The Yellow Room" is one of the best HOG I've ever played! I preface by stating that I am slightly biased in my judgment, as I was already a fan of Gaston Leroux's 1908 mystery novel of the same name, but this is still a great game! Part hidden object, part mystery, there is a lot to enjoy about it. The scenery is beautiful and evocative, the voice-overs and music great--listen for excerpts from Mozart's Requiem during the Hidden Object scenes--and the puzzles are challenging and fun without being ridiculously hard. There are lots of great areas to explore, and while there is a lot of back and forth, it doesn't get to the point of being tedious. The storyline is great, and if you've read the book, you'll appreciate how faithful it is to Leroux's story. I was really sad when it ended, and wish that BigFish would make a game of the sequel, "The Perfume of the Lady in Black"! All in all, I really enjoyed this game, and highly recommend it! January 4, 2014
A mystery like no other Like the 1985 movie "Clue" in which everyone is a suspect. Only downfall is the graphics are a little outdated, but the voiceover can make up for that. As positive reviewers have said, this is very underrated. April 24, 2013
Lovely Victorian Mystery This is a beautiful game - extraordinarily done artwork - ... and while it has it's little share of the macabre, it is delightful to see colorful flowers and scenery and to encounter sweet puppies and bunnies that looked like the real Mccoy. I am sure that I will play this many times as I have Victorian Mysteries Woman in White and will get lost for hours in the antique atmosphere. They just don't make stuff the way they used to then. Thank you as always, Felix. April 29, 2012
My love for Everything French came Rushing Back at me. I LOVE THIS GAME! Not much of a review, but that's how I feel. I do not care one bit that there is no hint button. Back in the old-school adventure game days (and I'm only 32) there were few walk-throughs to be had-so you had to get the brain working and figure things out on your own. With this game, I had to put on my thinking cap a few times but that made the game more interesting to me. Everything follows a logical pattern. So if you get stuck, actually imagine that you ARE the detective that's there...and what would YOU do next? This strategy worked well for me. I adore the French accents, but French is my second language so I was pleased to play a game that had something besides the typical American voice-acting. I did see some gripes about this (I honestly don't know why) but it adds depth to the story-it would not have been as believable if everyone talked without an accent during a game set in early France. This game does NOT hold your hand. You are a detective, meant to collect and photograph evidence, interview characters and eventually solve the mystery. Too often in games, the developer does most of the thinking for us, but not in this game. We are often left to our own creative devices--I have been having a hoot playing through this and I long for more detective story games to SOLVE much along the same lines as this one. Graphics are crisp and clear; hidden object scenes and puzzles are spaced out well and not over-used. The story is brilliant and flows smoothly (I was also intrigued that it was based on a book that I will now have to find and read). Another perk about the story is that it is NOT the same old formula that players are getting sick of. It's not predictable and it IS unique--it's what we've been wishing and waiting for! Don't let the "no hint button" scare you away. Put on your Sherlock Holmes outfit and play with confidence-you will figure it out! A must buy, and I am positive it will be added to my favorites-rarely do I give out 5 stars. As for length: I've been playing these types of games for several years, both PC and console gamer- so I consider myself an expert-I'm not finished yet, only a little less than 1/2 way through, and I've spent at least two hours, if not more. I read everything (newspaper clippings, etc) and often take a look at the evidence gathered so far, so I thoroughly read the journal. If I were to guess, for me this game should run, for an expert player who takes their time, at least 5 hours to complete. And the journal is well done also. I like the concept of 'tabbed' journals where you can go to see specific things: Evidence collected, Character Bios, Story, etc. The task list is kept separate as well but is also imbedded in the map, which is also done well and should help anyone who might get stuck. It shows you were you need to go and for what (evidence, puzzle or hidden object scene). A lot of detail went into the small things, and that adds up to many great things. Worth a free game coupon at the very least, but well worth paying full price for, IMO. Happy gaming and I hope to see more games like this! (Hint, Hint developers)! April 23, 2012
challenging game i must say how impressed i was by the length and difficulty of this game many mini puzzles hos that are clear and not too easy or hard the story is strong and keeps you guessing til the end only used walkthrough twice near the end May 3, 2012
The Best for quite some time This game has all I like in a game./ good story /grafics/ HOS are not difficult yet not easy /you travel but not steady clicking /a map.It is a murder mystery but not gory.Some players dont like " snakes" (myself too )there are peices of 3 but hardly notice them.I had a very hard time when I couldnt continue playing for personal reasons. April 20, 2012
Very nice! I love games with lots of puzzles and this one delivers. The story line is also good and HOS's are not too hard and not too easy. Great game with map and task list. Well worth the price. April 25, 2012
I Like This Game! I've only played a few minutes of this game, but the level of challenge is pretty good, no hint button when you want to know what to do next, but you have a task list, a map, a journal, a character list, and an evidence list; also, if you're stuck, there is a walkthrough. Really great graphics, and the hos are the bomb. I don't mind the smaller items in the hos as that makes those challenging as well. As Kimmer70 stated, it will be frustrating for the beginners, and also I agree with her that having to pick through dialog is really boring to me*. I have only one complaint about these games - do we HAVE to have slugs, nose bulbs, cockroaches and other equally gross things in the hos? *And Kimmer70, it was my pleasure to read your first review, it was excellent! :) April 25, 2012
Excellent game! Bought it, before the demo was over. This is going to be one of my favourite games of 2012! I especially loved the logic in finding out what to do next. Just brilliant! April 17, 2012
11-20 of 109 Reviews <<prev 2345...11next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room

How did the attacker escape a room locked from the inside?

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.