Bookmark

Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room

Full version game
(483.32 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Solve a perplexing conundrum in Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room! A young woman is attacked in the middle of the night inside a locked room. There are only two ways out: a dead- bolted door and a single window blocked by iron bars. How did the murderer escape?

  • Interact with a host of characters
  • Unravel a Victorian mystery
  • Sumptuous scenery
  • Check out our Blog Walkthrough
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 543 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room 3.4 5 109 109
Very slow transitioning While this game is moderately entertaining I was quite disappointed with the length of time taken to go from one scene to another. Having said that it came to quite an abrupt end as if the designers suddenly just wanted to finish it. April 18, 2012
Another point of view I don't usually comment on games, but I can't be the only casual player out there. This game has no HINT button except in the HOS. I'm reading reviews of everyone finishing the demo in mere minutes even without the hints. It took me the entire hour to get off the train and into the train station (the first scene), so I really don't know where this game is going. Not sure whether to buy it at this point. Some people need a hint or 6 to be able to move forward in even simple games. July 25, 2012
Not the best This had a Agatha Christie, Detective Poirot feel to it (on one of the Detective's accents and how he presented the case).... only not as good of a mystery. It was hard to know exactly where to go for what you needed to find. The puzzles weren't exactly great, and I was getting ticked on how many times I had to have a key for something to open. It could have been better. It should have had a "hint" instead of a map... it's map wasn't that helpful. The map showed check marks in some places that you already accomplished something... but then you needed to go back to inspect; it wasn't accurate. It was confusing. Good try to the creators. Maybe next time you'll learn from your customers and find out how to make a better game for us to enjoy! For those that need a guide: http://www.bigfishgames.com/blog/walkthrough/victorian-mysteries-the-yellow-room-walkthrough/#4 April 16, 2012
OK game .... a bit slow Based playing the demo, the game was ok. Game play choices of casual or expert. Volume controls for music & sound. A choice of full screen, wide screen, mute & custom cursor. There is a journal with sections for evidence (much to find), characters and the story (5 chapters). There is a map (not interactive) that shows where the HO scenes are, evidence, where to investigate, your location and areas that are completed. There is a task list and a hint button. This is available for HO scenes only, but we didn't find it was needed elsewhere. Some of the HO scenes are interactive and you can leave the scene by clicking on the list. The scenes encountered in the demo were fairly easy, as were the puzzles. The cursor changes to a camera if you need to take a pic of the scene, a puzzle piece for solving a puzzle and an ear if you can listen in on other conversations. The voice overs were ok and all characters with the exception of yourself had them. Your speech was the pick a question to ask type of conversation. Not a fave of ours and the speech bubbles moved back & forth on the screen. There were also bugs & stuff that moved in HO scenes. The demo was completed with 21 minutes left. There probably would have been more time left, except for the fact that there was a slow load time between locations. The music was ok. The best part was the story line and this is on our list as a buy if a purchase is needed to fill a game card or it comes out as a daily deal. The game is worth trying and fairly easy to move around without any hints. If you have cleared an area, a message comes up that there is nothing left to do there. All in all, an interesting game because of the story, although a bit slow. April 21, 2012
Good for an SE I had a love and disappoint relationship with the game. I was impressed with the art work, stunning. I felt the game could have been much more. With a bit more creativity the game could have been that of CE quality. However it was a good play. April 17, 2012
Good way to spend a lazy day This game is slow and tedious but I had some time to kill and enjoyed it. If you are looking for action and dazzle, this is not a game for you. It has the feel and pace of an Agatha Christie novel. The artwork is pretty, it feels more like a painting than a 3 dimensional game. It is challenging in its own way although I ran around not knowing quite where to go next a little too often. There is a map and a "to do" list but it became less and less helpful as the game progressed. The hint button is only available in HOG scenes. April 17, 2012
Good story with too much backtracking Loved that there were many characters. They went out of their way to make an intricate Sherlock Holmes style story. HOGs weren't bad as objects are fairly easy to find, there are just the right amount of them & you're not penalized for missed clicks. The game starts out on a train & progresses to a village but that's where it ends! The scenes only have a couple of things to do in each area, the rest is just window dressing. Back in the 90's, there was an Incredibly entertaining game called Toonstruck. Originally it had over 100 scenes so they had to cut the game in HALF, and it was still one of the best & biggest games ever - just HUGE! Comparatively, Yellow Room only has around a half a dozen scenes, maybe a couple of rooms off that. And it gets the death knell for major & severe BACKTRACKING!!! It's endless! And once you've exhausted all possibilities, the game is kind enough to tell you, "There is nothing left to do here". Okay, fine, until a few minutes later when you've triggered an "event" in the game, when suddenly that area has something to do in it again! And they missed opportunities, as once you've opened new areas, again there was only a couple of tasks to complete. It's as if they've run out of time to complete the game and thew together a task or two just as an excuse to use those scenes. So confusing. Why not just make more areas in which to explore?! And put more tasks in existing scenes from the get-go. The result is so linear & confounding. Instead, the game suddenly throws cheesy side hunts at us, like "find the note pieces", which could be cozy, but the way it's just thrown at you, you have no clue where to go next to find them! Dealbreaker! Oh and do we Really need to click on things 3 to 5 times to get the game to acknowledge it? It happened with the Fur on the Vial. Again with the Ladder on the Window. And even with a couple of Keys. Cmon these are game basics! The game has NO Hint system, and while I really wish it had one a few times, it wasn't as missed as you might think thanks to a Task system complete with a Map with informative icons. Overall, this game could have been much better if there wasn't so much backtracking, many, many times having no clue whatsoever what to do next. Nice storyline, pretty good puzzles and nice setting. Just too boring, and it could have been so much more. November 3, 2012
A Boring yet Intriguing Game! This game has an interesting story line but is at the same time both boring and intriguing. At times it moves very slowly and is boring in the ease in which you solve the puzzles. Then all of a sudden you find yourself at a loss as to how to progress. At times it seemed completely disjointed as if the story line was going in a different direction but the author did not know how to get us there. If you want a quick overall easy game to pass the time, this game is worth a try. April 19, 2012
It would have potential I played only the demo and was half-way through the game. So I assume it's rather a short game. I quite enjoyed the graphics and voice-overs. And hooray, the game didn't start (like in so many other games ...) with a car crash or ghosts appearing etc. (meanwhile I really get bored with this kind of games ...not really innovative). So yes, the game has potential. I personnally don't understand why people didn't buy the game because there's no hint button available. It's not necessary. I found this game extremely easy to play (in expert mode), and when a scene is done it even tells you "there's nothing to be done here anymore". Everything is rather logical and there was only one scene throughout the demo, where I wasn't quite sure what to do next. The HOS are also easy. Not even there the hint button is required, as the objects you have to look for you figure out after a few minutes of game play as it's very clear what you need to find. You also have a map that tells you which area is done, which tasks to fulfill, what to investigate etc. So, why is a hint button required? For my taste, this game is simply too easy and not challenging at all. Also the mini games are ok, nothing new - cute I'd say, but if I solve it within 30 seconds I wouldn't say it's difficult - right? It's a pity .. because the game would have a lot of pontential. Great graphics - good ideas - but simply too easy. April 16, 2012
victorian mysteries the yellow room I was quite enjoying the game but gave up after trying to find the other two spark plugs. I would like to buy the game but was at a standstill with the car. Can't go any further. The others that have good reviews for this game must be a lot smarter than me. March 19, 2014
61-70 of 109 Reviews <<prev 56789...11next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Victorian Mysteries: The Yellow Room

How did the attacker escape a room locked from the inside?

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.