Bookmark

Ghost Towns: The Cats Of Ulthar Collector's Edition

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Upon arriving in a strange city, you find the citizens ready to burn Menes at the stake in Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar! Wander the streets of Ulthar and discover what Menes did that got him in so much trouble in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Find out why the citizens worship cats from ancient times and try to save Menes from his gristly fate in Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Wonderful Wallpapers
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 307 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Ghost Towns: The Cats Of Ulthar Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Ghost Towns: The Cats Of Ulthar Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Ghost Towns: The Cats Of Ulthar Collector's Edition 3.9 5 98 98
Nothing New Here HOS objects somewhat blurry. Storyline is below average for a hidden object game and not engaging. Overall unimpressive. February 12, 2012
Not deserving of CE I found this game very frustrating. During HOSs and when moving around the graphics are extremely good, then during the cutscenes they revert to a very poorly done comic strip type. I personally found the music irritating, and the puzzles and HOSs were easy in the extreme. When compared to a game like the recent and extremely excellent DE "Houdini" this is not worth having in CE. February 12, 2012
Not a CE quality game I honestly didn't think this game was up to the standard of other CE games. The graphics were okay - jumped from nice to sketchy to nice again. There were no voice overs. I don't recall the music so whilst not irritating, somewhat unmemorable. The hidden object games were very easy. The puzzle games were rediculously easy and lacked imagination. The storyline flowed nicely - although the idea of saving the boy during the time it took the mayor to make his speech was rather flawed. Unless it was a very very long speech. The game was slightly on the short side. The bonus chapter followed on from the main story nicely, but wasn't an essential part of the story. Unfortunately it was very short. Whilst recommending the game, I'm inclined to suggest going for the SE version. February 18, 2012
JUST OK FOR A CE GAME I played the demo, and kinda liked it. The hint button was very helpful, and never felt the need for a sg. However, for a ce, I expect something more. Like more magic quality to it. I liked playing it, esp. when I gained access to the mansion; however, there is nothing special about it to warrant a ce price. Will buy it as a se instead. February 13, 2012
Good game, some quibbles on storyline, overall HO games Note: I played the Ipad version, so I don't know if it differs from the PC version. I played the entire CE version and was bugged by a few details. In terms of game play I thought it was of satisfactory length and variety of activities. The graphics (of the puzzles and HOS) were clear and I had no problem doing them without zooming in. I did think the flow of the game was a bit random: there was no clear reasoning where you should go next to find some of the HOS and without the hints I would just go to each location to see if a new HOS had opened up. Also, there were a few HOS items unclearly labelled which was probably a translation issue. Finally, the ending of the standard game seemed very abrupt and not particularly logical. The CE had an extension to the ending, which was slightly more satisfactory. Like many many other HO games there's very set rules on what you can do. I find it frustrating that you have to get a specific pot, for example, while the background artwork clearly shows many other vessels. Sure it's a puzzle game, but it's annoying to have to click on everything to see which ones actually can be picked up. Also, are we supposed to think the villain has distributed all these things? This is just a general HO game objection. Finally, I was hopeful that the story line would be particularly interesting to me since I love cats. It wasn't. I thought the final status of some of the characters were particularly unsatisfactory. I guess I wanted a more bloodthirsty story...? ha ha. It was a decent game but not a terrific one. March 10, 2013
The Surprise Factor? For me the question to ask was this game fun to play, engaging, and did it hold my interest the entire time? I have to say it did. I liked the puzzles, the music was nice, and I did not mind wandering around the town looking for clues. The hint button would tell you where to go it you got stuck and there was some tricky bits of needed items hidden among other more obvious ones.I think it can enhance the challenge when you need to remember where certain stuff needs to go.' Would I have like the art work to be better. Sure, however in many places the art was outstanding. I think that these kinds of adventure and hidden object games have progressed enough over the years where the bar has been raised and players expect professional artwork in any Collectors game. I would have enjoyed a larger surprise factor and more of the kind of cleaver animation displayed in some of the more recent 'COLLECTORS EDITIONS" we have seen. The story was ok, and there was some humor showed by the developers with the hint cat batting a butterfly occasionally. If I buy it at all, I will likely wait to buy this game when it comes out as a regular edition, because of interesting way I felt it played and like the cats in the game, I am curious to see what comes next. If this game had not been first released as a collectors edition I would have given it 4 stars. February 12, 2012
another soso CE game My review is based on the demo only which I completed in 50 minutes. I have opined repeatedly that CE's are a waste of money and that the devs keep on making them only because so many people just cannot wait to get their hands on a new game. Here are my problems with this CE. First and foremost, all games that command a higher cost MUST HAVE voiceovers. Secondly there must be better graphics than the average game. The HOs should be a bit harder to find. The puzzles should show some novelty. In this game, it's the same old same old. The storyline should be believable from the outset. A young kid is about to be executed for a crime, and me as the saviour needs to prove his innocence. Where the devs drop the ball here is in having the boy ready for his demise. Assuming the game takes a few hours to complete, would not the story be better if the accused were in a jail cell? I have not read any of the other reviews as I endeavor to form my own opinion without any preconceived notions. Based on what I experienced, this game is totally unworthy of CE status and cost. It remains to be seen wether it passes muster as a regular edition. February 21, 2012
Very average ... After having played the demo, I thought it was an entertaining game. However, as I continued I just got a "tee bit" frustrated with the puzzles - they were so repetitive, that it was just plain boring. There are hardly any cut-scenes which isn't too dramatic, but the quality was really poor. The story-line, well, I wasn't quite sure, if there was really a story, because I got so bored with all the puzzles that revealed bits and pieces, that I just couldn't be bothered to read them. Overall, it's an OK game if you really haven't got anything better to do... (which I'm sure of, you have..). February 15, 2012
It Was Just ............... OK The gist of the story is that you are trying to help a boy who has been sentenced to hang for the murder of a well-known and well-liked elderly couple. You receive this cryptic note that suddenly floats into your hand that says "save my brother". The boy to be hanged also tosses you his ring (although how when he is all tied up is beyond me but such is the world of gaming), There is so much walking back and forth and forth and back again that I don't understand why there isn't a transportable map. The graphics appear old. You have to collect 24 cats (well, you don't "have" to) and they are very difficult to find. These are not to be confused with the actual cat figurines you have to find and put on the cat statue altar (?) in the town center where you play a mini game for every cat figurine you put down and thus receive a useful item. The HOGs are plentiful - too plentiful and sometimes the items are difficult to find. The hint button recharges are a not to swift pace. You have a journal with notes - no map, notes - period. You also end up with a cat helpmate although other than meowing whenever you click on something or click on the hint button, I can't tell why it's there - well, it is a cat heavy game. There are cats EVERYWHERE. And that meowing sound is enough to drive me up the wall. Sorry, not a cat person - even so, if not for certain aspects of the game I would have purchased it. A good game for beginners. Just didn't give me the "wow" factor when the free trial ended. Not to say others won't have it. This Glam-ma says give the free demo a whirl - you have nothing to lose but an hour and the possibility of gaming with a plethora of cats. April 28, 2014
Wait for SE In my opinion, no CE material. I would wait for the SE before purchasing. Graphics were not good. Storyline was a little mixed up, but was okay. Ambient sound could have been a lot better. Sometimes annoying. February 13, 2012
71-80 of 98 Reviews <<prev 678910next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ghost Towns: The Cats Of Ulthar Collector's Edition

Upon arriving in a strange city, you find the citizens ready to burn Menes at the stake in Ghost Towns: The Cats of Ulthar!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.