Bookmark

Mystery Trackers: Black Isle

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Investigate a supposedly abandoned island in Mystery Trackers: Black Isle! After a journalist is kidnapped after beginning an investigation, its up to you to learn the truth behind Black Isle. Years ago an earthquake struck leaving the island deserted. None of the buildings seem to be damaged, however, and a hooded figure seems to be stopping people from discovering the truth. Find the missing journalist and learn a sinister secret in Mystery Trackers: Black Isle!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 542 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Trackers: Black Isle

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Trackers: Black Isle

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Trackers: Black Isle 4.1 5 90 90
No negatives for me.. The game was very good. The story was not really as gripping as the artwork and the puzzles (most too hard for me) were plentiful and different. Usually I like a story that is outstanding, but this one had other things that gripped me. There were HOS, but not so many you got sick of them, and some had a twist, like needing something from your inventory. It was not a bunch of "find this key, and that one", but had varied and interesting things to do. The game was pretty long, and the map let you jump to some places. It was a good length, the ending was satisfactory, and I had a lot of fun playing this one. It never seemed kind of dumb to me, and I thought the graphics were extremely well done. I did wonder what all the owls were about, but I am glad I did not get CE because I hate looking for those extraneous items. I am glad, at least, I came here and found out what they were. LOL. No way you can be disappointed or bored with this game. Plenty of interesting tasks and good hints to help you find them. 5 stars all the way, for me. June 15, 2013
One of the best! I played many HO games,and the graphics,HO,and storyline on this one is one of the best. You won't be disappointed! May 14, 2012
very enjoyable game for differences and more detailed reviews about the bonus see my CE review but worth noting you can't collect the owls in SE I am going to be slightly harder on this game purely because Elephant raised the bar with their last game ? surface - mystery of another world. Here they took a step down from that level, I can?t help being slightly disappointed in this game compared to surface. BUT compared to raincliff I think it fares well, in some aspects it is better (map). All 3 of this series (the void, raincliff and now this) have gotten better and I have really enjoyed all of them. But I did prefer raincliff setting, the midnight blue - makes it look like every other good HOPA out there, although it does have colour in outdoor scenes throughout. I enjoyed the live actors, and live animals it is one of the things that make it stand out from the crowd. Although in a couple of cut scenes, the opening being the worst, the lip synch is so way off it is annoying. But most cutscenes how they are done you don?t see their lips. I love Elephants graphics in their games, crystal clear, no wash on them. But those like myself who hate sparkles will be disappointed. I played on hardcore and I still had sparkles on hidden object scenes (in surface no sparkles on middle setting!) MAP AND LOCATIONS The GOOD ? - It has the transporter map, which makes a HUGE difference and raincliff didn?t so that?s a step up. -It also has an exclamation mark in areas that things still need done in. If you hover over it, it will also tell you what it is. The BAD One of the major things that set ?surface? apart, was the variety of the look and feel of different locations as well as the sheer number of them. In ?surface? each chapter was completely different and you never revisited previous chapter scenes even at the end, it was all new. Sadly here not so, like most other HOPAs out there (including raincliff) you do go back into old locations. In black Isle, outside it was mostly raining and always dark. I like the rain it was soothing (apart from the thunder!) but maybe a chapter with the sun would be different. HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES The BAD - 99% junk pile and some bad junk pile. The GOOD ? -no random click penalty - Non repeating scenes, -well spaced out ? don?t have one every time you turn a corner! -Use of inventory item is needed, although sometimes you literally put it in a scene only to lift it out again without interaction but most were well done - I lOVED the mini puzzles in some, would love to see more and that was my favourite thing about them. PUZZLES The BAD - Sadly most/all were easy. I agree the time consuming one was the feathers and I didn't like the 'constellation' one. The GOOD ? Even though most were non original it was a good face lift. I haven?t seen the bee puzzle in ages, loved that but would have liked to have seen it harder, and bigger. I loved the unique take on ?spot the difference? took an old and boring (to me!) game to a new level. I did enjoy the puzzles but please make them harder! And even though they were easy, some did take some time which was good. RE plot I can?t say anything or it would be a spoiler. It?s not a person disappeared case, which you realise quite quickly but a spin on it. It could have been fleshed out more and those that love a lot of update re story during the game will be disappointed. Vague *spoiler* for type of ending - Ending for main game, I don?t like those kind of endings personally. Everything was 100% wrapped up and then.. It wasn?t a ?to be continued in the bonus' but very close. I personally would prefer they didn?t say anything if I was a SE player. SE game time (not including bonus) is a hard one, as I normally don?t play hardcore (no hints, no skips, and only looked at walkthrough a couple of times) it was over 8hrs and I realised how much I must use hints! But my normal play mode (no sparkles, rare walkthrough, some hints) I?d guess 6 -7hrs. If you use sparkles and walkthrough well obviously it?s going to be under 5hrs I?d guess. Even though there isn?t that many locations, it does take a long time. If they had no sparkles for Hidden object scenes, harder puzzles, different outdoor scenery no going back to old areas, I'd give it an A. But then I don't give "A"s out often! April 1, 2012
Good game I agree with gingergal. The designers outdid themselves with Mystery - Surface... However, having said that, this game balances for those who will find enough of a challenge within Black Isle and the graphics, sound, fun factor and length are still well done. Sparkles show up where it is stated that there are none for advanced (too bad). Map is great and most HO and HO/adventure designers should look to this game as an example of what to give the player. April 1, 2012
Enjoyed Enjoyed this game and believe it is worth the download. If you like hidden object then you will enjoy this one. Not alot in the way of different but still good game to play. Happy gaming>>>>>>>>>> April 3, 2012
Another Fine Mystery Trackers Game! I love Mystery Trackers! I have Void and Raincliff and have played them over and over so I had to get Black Isle -- and I am glad I did! The art and creativity are even better than the others It is a fun game and part of the challenge is running this way and back that way and remembering where this and that was. With that said, if I could change anything, it might be a little of this helter skelter routine. I just fnished another game that is very smooth - everything unfolds with some order to it though going to many levels (portals, etc) and the purpose is always clear. In other words you always know where you 'are going with this' and what you need is always pretty close at hand so with just a little intuition you can proceed without help. (and if not help is very clear also). Keep 'em coming, Mystery Trackers! Thanks for all the FUN, Felix! April 10, 2012
Disappointing After Raincliff BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS A big disappointment after the spectacular Raincliff, which remains one of the best games ever released, Black Isle fails to live up to the developer?s reputation. Although it has many of the great elements of the other Mystery Tracker games, it is sadly lacking in crucial areas. SIGHTS & SOUNDS By far the worst sin this game commits is in its visuals. They are just annoying. The artistic talent is there, but the technical quality is poor in parts, and many of both the locations and HOP scenes are lit in irritating ways that make it hard to see and concentrate. Also in the HOP scenes, items bleed into each other by having too much gold and/or shiny surfaces, so that again, it is hard to look at. Many are dark, static scenes, with rain further interfering with the eyes. That they can do better is obvious by the quality of the opening segments, by previous games like Raincliff, and even by certain scenes of breathtaking beauty in this. I cannot imagine a sound reason for this approach. The background sounds also drove me nuts in the end. There is only so much torrential downpour and thunder my nerves can take, and allowing that the game is one of the longer games I?ve played (or did it just seem that way?), it is just too much. There is little else to give us a break from it even when we are indoors. The music comes on only sporadically, but it is good and appropriately ominous. The voiceover, at the beginning, is well acted, but a far cry from being lip synched. WHAT?S HAPPENING? In what is becoming a tradition for this series, we start with a news report, and this time it is the reporter herself who is kidnapped, right before our eyes. The supposedly deserted island harbours at least one cloaked and masked phantom, and we, agent of the quasi-secret Mystery Trackers group, are in pursuit. But given the weather, and the clearly paranormal abilities of our adversary, we are in for a hard time. And prepare yourself for some interesting surprises at the end of this one. For fans of the later Mystery Tracker games, this is where we first meet Agent Elf. GAMEPLAY This is a game of evenly balanced HOPs and other puzzles/mini-games. Some of the instructions for the puzzles are vague and I found myself wishing for a strategy guide, which I?d normally never use. And there is an adventure component that is a bit more challenging as well. The HOPs are interactive word lists, in which some items will only be made available by the use of inventory items, which is a nice twist, and one that stumped me for a bit. The interactive jump map is terrible. It opens on only 3 almost invisibly defined large areas, from which you must choose your location. In the locations, you get objectives yet to be completed, not where you can act next. And in any case, you must move in and out of those larger areas to get around. I found it more frustrating than simply backtracking. The hint gives specific suggestions for your next task, but does not take you there (that?s a luxury for later games), and surprisingly, I found even that annoying. Finding the room the hint function is referring to was sometimes a little crazy-making. (Poor game, couldn?t do anything right by me, could it?) On a personal note, I hated that the cute owls we see everywhere were only collectible in the Collector?s Edition. It drove me nuts! And some of them are so cute. COMBINED IMPACT Much of the game is very good. It is an engaging story, which flows at a reasonable pace, although I felt bogged down by the more difficult gameplay. The special effects are excellent, the acting good. The gameplay sufficiently challenging to interest expert players, without being out of bounds for lesser mortals. It is also a long complex game offering intrigue. Mostly, what it isn?t is a game that is visually all it could be. This had the makings of another Raincliff, but the devs simply didn?t pull it off. For my personal experience, I?d rate this a three. But for many players it will be much better than that, so I?ll give it a recommended four. January 31, 2014
Okay Game -interactive map, but does not tell you everything to do -hint system is good, no need for a SG -music is good, graphics are good -mini games must be good, I had to skip a lot of them -no journal This is a game that should be played all at once. You can easily forget what and where you are. April 8, 2012
Good game but... Again a good "Mystery Trackers" game. The storyline is interesting. There are 3 game modes; I played in Advanced mode... with sparkles. - The graphics are clear. The objects in the iHOS are easy to find. - The puzzles are mostly easy. - The hint system is very good: it tells you what to do next. - There is no journal. - There is an interactive map, showing you where there are objectives... BUT... it's not complete: I had often to use the hint system, not knowing what to do next. And it happened quite often that I had a task in a location not highlighted on the map... That was quite frustrating. The fact that there is no journal and that the map isn't really correct is annoying. If I have to use the hints for most of my steps, then where is the fun? - The gamelength is good: it took me about 4 hours to finish... with the hints. All in all, a good game but I expected more of it, in view of the previous "Mystery Trackers". September 28, 2012
I love Real Actors I am only giving this game 4 stars because of the use of live actors. That is the number one thing that hooks me in a game is when game developers utilize live actors, its a sure buy for me. Now on to the game....I loved the background sounds like rain, thunder or wherever you venture. The scenes were nice, Ive seen better but this one is a bit older. I noticed mini games were a bit hard sometimes but you do have skip, though I do not like skipping anything. I am use to earning achievements but the standard edition does not incorporate that. I think this would be my least fav Mystery Trackers game. I would almost say the Collectors Edition on this one would be better. I saw all of the owls that you would collect but only on CE. I also loved seeing ELF. This is a little dog that becomes your right hand man; er dog. You find him for the first time in this game and he comes with you on all the games after this one. This is a long game, if you played straight, I think it would be 6 hours with a couple breaks? I enjoyed the game and glad I bought it. I do recommend it. November 19, 2014
41-50 of 90 Reviews <<prev 34567...9next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Trackers: Black Isle

Black Isle was supposedly abandoned after an earthquake but the truth is much more sinister! Join the Mystery Trackers and learn the truth!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.