Bookmark

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

Full version game
(697.42 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You’ve tracked down the latest Dark Dimension to Red Lake Falls, where a haunting beauty queen begs you to save the town – but from whom? Is it her brother, last seen busting through a shop window in a jealous rage? Or his stalker girlfriend? The real villain in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game just might shock you – unless you’re turned into wax first!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • HD Wallpapers
  • Concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 772 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition 4 5 91 91
Falls short from being a great game! After saving the City from a fog, now it's up to you to save it from Wax! So here we go, again on another adventure to dave a Town and solve a mystery. I wish I could jump up and down and say "great game" but in all honesty, it missed the mark when it came to the game mechanics. I will start with the pros: I loved the graphics and kudos to the devlopers for using real actors to play and very good V/O. I expect that many will find game dark and sombre. The story line is interesting with a who-done-it twist to it and the HOG scenes have interactions but are dark and crowded, making some items very difficult to find. The sounds effects are spooky and goes on throughout the game. Again, some may find this annoying; I however enjoy the overall effect it has on the gaming experience. You have a journal, a SG that keeps your place and two game mode options. What is missing from this game is the level of challenge. I was somewhat dissapointed that the developers did not include features like morphing objects, or collectables or rewards. These are features that usually make a CE more interesting and worth the extra pennies. I found the the puzzles were relatively easy, alot of back-tracking, collecting inventory items and your basic run-of-the-mill mini-games. V?sually, the game is up to standard and really very well put together. I really did love the graphics and found them beautifully well designed. Howeve the game did not excite me and I suspect that hardcore adventurers like myself will find the game a tad easy. Im really on the fence on this one and looking at the length of the game, I am consideriing waiting for the SE. I will recommend this game for beginners because I do think they will enjoy the puzzles and the story as well as the graphics. I did like the first of the Dark Dimension series but just wished the devlopers would have added a bit more "oomph" into this one. April 26, 2012
Good new story... Played the whole sample, casual. - 2 gameplay modes casual, expert - Sample of one chapter of the game, no idea about the length - Notebook - No map - Integrated SG which stays on the page you leave :thumbup: - Voiceovers - Real live acors - Music loud and over present, turned it off - Hint button useful outside H0 - Skip button - Good mini games not too difficult (nothing very new though) - H0, you interact, you have to find one object to complete another. VERY DARK which makes objects difficult to spot. - Very good graphics Interesting story, it's a shame that the game is so dark, went to options but couldn't do a thing about it. Not over difficult up to what I've played. Most probably a buy, the dark scenes (I mean the color) make me hesitate a bit, quite tiring for the eyes. Good game. April 26, 2012
A dark beauty This is a nice game. The storyline is good and even though I had not played the prequel (City of Fog) the story is understandable on it's own. I think I will check it out anyway. The music is excellent, both that and the sound effects are perfect for the action. It is a basic format IHOG; hint, skip, puzzles, HO scenes, magnifying glass, hand, sparkles, tutorial and the rest of the basic properties. This is in the casual mode, of course. The part I like in the HO scenes is combing things to uncover the hidden item or creating the item. It's a little short on puzzles; I think I only came across one during the demo. A VERY dark one with red lightbulbs. It's only drawback -if you can call that- is that the scenes are a bit on the dark side (color not mood) which is difficult for me because of poor eyesight. Even then it can be gotten around with a downward tilt of the monitor and help from passers by. I only played the demo but it was over too soon and now I want to continue so I will most likely buy this or the single edition. All in all a game worthy of purchase; April 26, 2012
A worthy sequel I was very excited to learn that Dark Dimensions:City of Fog was going to get a sequel, and I wasn't disappointed with Wax Beauty. For those who haven't played City of Fog, the sequel can stand alone; there are a couple of references to the earlier game, but the occurrences in that game are not vital to this one. Wax Beauty seemed to be easier than the first game, at least as far as the mini-puzzles go, which is not necessarily a bad thing, unless you only game hardcore. Most of the HOS have several interactive items listed (you have "paint" and "blue car" as items; you find the paint and put it on the red car, and voila! a blue car), and solving it gets rid of two items. The cut-scenes are "click to continue", which is nice - you don't HAVE to wait until the character is done (they are videos of real people, rather than animations). One of the reasons I liked this game is that it is, IMO, well-balanced between HOS, mini-puzzles, and adventure - there is a lot for the main character/player (you) to do; you don't just get an key from a HOS, open a door, get another item from another HOS, and so on. There is a certain amount of back-tracking, but it seemed to me that you work in three or four areas for a while, then move on to another three or four areas - you don't have to keep going back to the earlier scenes. The graphics are gorgeous - this developer has some really talented artists; the game is visually dark, as the subject calls for, I guess, but it is far from the darkest I've played. The game itself is Twilight Zone-creepy rather than super-creepy, with minimal random skeletons and skulls. The story is resolved before the bonus play, so you're not left hanging; the bonus play was generous in length and pertinent, though not vital, to the story. Good news - it sounds like there is going to be a third game! April 27, 2012
The wax ebbed and flowed? ?as did the story and my interest. I am rather torn on my opinion of this game. It took what seemed forever to complete it, but not sure that was because it was long, or it didn't hold my interest and I had to stop playing for a while and return to it. Game play was decent -- no map and perhaps a bit too much back and forth, but will admit there was a lot to do. Most of the mini games were rather easy, but required some time to acquire all the inventory items necessary to start the puzzle. There was a unique twist to the interactive HOG scenes -- both the item you needed to interact on and the one used to interact with were in the list. So you had to find the latter one with no cursor guidance. Some of the adventure tasks also required multiple actions using inventory items found at different times. None of it was particularly challenging which I imagine is what led to my boredom and need to take a break. As for the story -- it had potential, but sad to say, after all was said and done, it came to no great literary climax. There was visual drama at the end of the core game, and I suppose a sufficient enough ending, but not very satisfying. So, off I went to see what the bonus chapter would be like. It was a tad convoluted, and the purpose for the chapter never came to fruition. Similar game play to the main game. There were some innovative attempts at presentation -- live actor video (with poor lip syncing), the H0G scenes as mentioned above, dramatic cut scenes, some outstanding artwork. (Yes, the game is dark in story and visually -- hence the title.) If you buy CEs for the extended play time, the bonus chapter is of modest length. And, if you buy the CE for the better story, the bonus chapter will not leave you more satisfied. In total this is, comparatively speaking, a higher quality game. IMHO the SE would provide enough entertainment. July 7, 2012
This was a really good game but. . . The puzzles were a bit too easy, there seemed to be no challenge in them. I thought the storyline was good. I enjoyed the game despite it's ease. My big complaint would be the Bonus Chapter. It was woefully easy and not worth the price. Normally I find the CE to be a good investment, not this time. July 1, 2012
A Very Good Dark Side Game But Not Great Falls Short This review is for the whole game playing in advance mode: The story: If you've played City Of Fog, this time you're saving it from wax where a haunting beauty queen begs you to save the town ? but from whom? Is it her brother, last seen busting through a shop window in a jealous rage? Or his stalker girlfriend? For those who haven't played City of Fog, the sequel can stand alone; there are a couple of references to the earlier game, but the occurrences in that game are not vital to this one. 5 chapters + bonus which all bonus content is locked until you play the main game. 2 play modes: Easy and Advanced. Easy has sparkles, faster refill times and no miss click penalty. Advanced has no sparkles not even for the HO scenes, slower refills and miss click penalties. Integrated Strategy Guide: A total of 65 pages. Pages 1 - 52 is the main game. Pages 53-65 is the bonus. Doesn't follow you along as you play however stays where you left it. There is voice overs with real live actors. There is a journal however no map. HO scenes: All objects found by word list and are interactive. The graphics for this area of the game while a little dark for some areas not bad as I didn't have trouble locating too much of anything. Puzzles: While I'm not a fan of these I did most of them and found them to be pretty easy as I only skipped a couple of them. Hint/Skip: Pretty quick on charge up. The hint is also helpful outside of HO scenes. My overall impression of the game: I thought the graphics/artwork was really well done here and I really liked the story for the most part. I also found the game to have a nice balance of HO scenes, puzzles and adventure. I also appreciated that this game didn't have sparkles everywhere not even the HO scenes. The bonus I also found enjoyable as you do visit some new areas while revisiting some of the main game. Where this fell a little short for me and keeping it from being a "great" game is to start off with I usually don't comment on such things as I suspend all belief in games however the fax in the year 1918 is a bit over the top here. Really? A fax in 1918? LOL! This kinda distracted from the story a bit here for me. Yes I realize it's "just a game" but gee lets try to make it true to the time period here shall we? I also usually enjoy the voice overs in most of the games I've played here at the Big Fish even the few with the real live actors but this game here they don't match the game's atmosphere or feel, and seemed to be real out of sync Oh and thank goodness I didn't have to use that hint button too much as I didn't care for the big ole circle it had to do before it got to its destination of finding the items and the couple of times I got a little hung up on where to go/do next. As for game length: 4 hours for the main game and about 1 1/2 for the bonus which was long enough for me. Depending on your game play you may or may not get this much time out of the game here. Overall I give this 4 stars as I found it to be a very good game overall but had to knock it down a star for the things I've mentioned here in my review. Thanks Big Fish and developer! As always definitely give it a whirl and decide for yourself. May 9, 2012
Dark Dimensions wax Beauty c/e this is a good game plenty of action, good story line, good HOS, I found this took me some time to play, but found the HOS clear and the graphics good yes a very worthwhile buy. enjoy, evan the bonus game had plenty of things to do, and I always find the direction arrow a boon for me, I like to know where I have to go. May 16, 2012
Most Enjoyable! I am so proud of myself. I played in the advanced mode, I didn't need the SG this afforded a nice lengthy play. The hidden object scenes were challenging and I loved the thought process required to get the job done. I assure you if you decide to take this game on I honestly believe you will enjoy as much as I have. I look forward to the next Dark Dimension episode. Good job everyone and thank you. April 27, 2012
great follow up Well i agree and disagree with some of the other reviewers. First I really liked this game. I like the live actors, the voice overs were pretty good and you never lost sight of the storyline. i did agree that they overdid some of the written notes, especially when combined with the oral explanations from the actors. There were also a couple of mini games that I thought ..you want me to what? I just didn't get the instructions.. even with the SG. However this game had a lot of HO scenes, many many inventory objects, lots of mini games, good music and was beautifully drawn. The HO scenes had plenty of color and you had interactive objects within them.The hint system was very helpful. There was some backtracking but this only added to the game. It was a good length and was very enjoyable. I have not played the extra yet. I think some collectibles, morphing objects or achievements might have been a nice a addition but overall I thought this was a very good follow up to the first Fog game. It is dark and creepy but I always like games where you can remove the "evil" and bring in the light. Enjoy May 6, 2012
41-50 of 91 Reviews <<prev 34567...10next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

Travel to Red Lake Falls to track down the latest Dark Dimension!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.