Bookmark

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

Full version game
(697.42 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You’ve tracked down the latest Dark Dimension to Red Lake Falls, where a haunting beauty queen begs you to save the town – but from whom? Is it her brother, last seen busting through a shop window in a jealous rage? Or his stalker girlfriend? The real villain in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game just might shock you – unless you’re turned into wax first!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • HD Wallpapers
  • Concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 772 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Violent References
Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition 4 5 93 93
HOS call-outs challenged the devs Other than flickering in some scenes, the game is excellent. I seldom have to use the Guide more than once, but I hit it 5 times during this game, albeit a couple of those hits were just, plain CRS. My only complaint is that HOS call-outs were frequently way off the mark. That causes a major trust problem, or another level of challenge, depending on your viewpoint. Regardless, a slew of misnamed items is disrespectful to gamers. Like trying to read a good book that is loaded with typos. For me, it means that an eagle can be almost anything at all except and eagle. With luck, it will actually be a bird of some sort and not a frypan. If it's a frypan, I'll have to use the Hint button. May 5, 2012
A pretty good game I enjoy Hidden Object Games A LOT! This one has a good story line and the graphics are well done. I would buy this game. April 26, 2012
hidden object game Loved the game. The hidden object scenes were challenging for a change. Love the Dark Dimension series, looking forward to the next one! May 9, 2012
Another Dark Dimension Overall I enjoyed this game. It has some annoyances, but I'll start with the good things. You are off to another abandoned town searching for another dark dimension. This time all the townspeople you meet seem to have been turned into wax. The good: Your mission is to discover what happened. The graphics, music and background sounds are excellent. The storyline is good, although it got a bit muddled at times. The mini games were fun, some were on the easy side, but still fun. The journal was useful and the built-in SG was well done. The ending of the main game was satisfying. The bonus chapter was a nice addition and the ending set up the next installment in the series. The annoyances: The HOS were fairly dark and some items were almost impossible to see. They seemed to get darker as the game rolled along. The voice overs were so-so. Some of them were excellent, but some were poorly done. The cut scenes were done with live actors. Some of the actors were good, but some were overly dramatic. Even with the annoyances, I enjoyed the game and recommend it. November 19, 2012
Entirely Too Dark Dimensions This review is of the demo: The story is interesting, and that's probably the only reason I'd buy the standard edition when it comes out. The puzzles in this game were fine. I didn't come across anything spectacularly hard or interesting. The hidden object scenes have interactive bits to them, but nothing too hard to figure out. A lot of the time an item on your list of objects to find will be one of the items you need to use in the interactive portion. The inventory puzzles in the game are easy to figure out, as you generally use an item more or less as soon as you receive it. The music is OK, but the background sounds are kind of irritating, as there seems to be an intermittent whispering going on. The graphics are entirely too dark. I've seen from other developers that you can make a "dark" game and still use bright colors. You don't need to purposely darken the game's artwork. Hidden object scenes were also pretty dark. The Collector's Edition contains nothing I really want. There's wallpapers, concept art, and music, but they're locked until you complete the main game. (I never use them, anyway.) There is a bonus chapter, but from looking at the strategy guide a little, I don't think it's worth my paying extra just for that. The journal in the game picks up articles and stuff like that, but it doesn't seem to pick up puzzle solutions (like lock combos, for instance) that you find in the game. I wound up having to backtrack to re-read the lock combo and then go back to the lock. Luckily, it wasn't that far. I still think that in this sort of game, journals should track that kind of information for you, though. One thing I did like in this game was the use of live actors to tell the story. Normally I'm not a huge fan of that, but for some reason I liked it in this game. All in all, I think I'll wait for the Standard Edition of this game, and even then, I'll have to think about it. This game would be much more enjoyable if the artwork wasn't so, so dark. April 26, 2012
A little dark and depressing Two game modes - casual and advanced. 5 Chapters and a bonus - but not very long at all. The characters are okay and the voices seem to suit but the number of cut scenes, or things that happen as you move to a new scene and have to wait is too much. The music is a little monotonous. And the whispering can become annoying. The storyline is ok but the whole thing leaves ones feeling a little dark and depressed. Bodies, wax? Real or not? The graphics are not too bad - not at the level of recent games but there are interesting things to look at. The HOS are quite dark and will give a little challenge because of that. The usual list of items and also actions to find other items. There is a journal - which fills too often and the sparkling gets a little annoying. I also found the hint button annoying in the times it takes to circle around the screen and get to the item - same for other mistakes such as using the wrong item as you travel around. There is no map and although that usually does not bother me, this time I found it more tiring going back and forth - got quite dizzy. The game is not hard to play in either mode - the HOS are easy if you accept the dark scenes and the puzzles can be completed fairly easily or with just a little patience. For those looking for incredible graphics and challenging HOS and puzzles, this game will disappoint. Not sure it is worth a CE price. But for those who do enjoy HO games and like to add reasonable games to their library, then this will probably be acceptable. Don't expect anything new or spectacular and you may enjoy it. Having said that, I did quite enjoy it as the scenes have some interesting things in them, but it was little of a challenge. April 26, 2012
Good for some, not for all. This review is based on the demo which froze on me twice. I liked the storyline although it was somewhat predictable but I have played many games and someone new might find it appealing. I don't turn off the music or sound as I feel that's an important aspect of the game and didn't find them offensive or annoying in this game. Can't comment on the "whisper" as I couldn't get far enough into the game to comment on it. I did find my interest lagging. The storyline was somewhat predictable. The HOS scenes were not too bad and I didn't mind "the dark" of them and enjoyed that one often had to do more than simply find stuff. Like others I'm at the point where I expect a CE to have some "extra" challenge such as finding morphing objects or something. The challenge just wasn't there for me but I have been playing awhile so I may be just too familiar with the trends. I did like a lot that the characters were real actors so they didn't seem so robotic. I have really enjoyed the House of Lancaster series but the characters are very robotic looking and these were not. But I do agree with other reviewers that the audio sync with the characters is really off which takes away from the gain of using real actors. While there is no "real map" there actually is one in the form of the child's drawing which at least provides some perspective about where things are. (Subtle but helpful!). I too will wait for the SE rather than pay the extra money for the CE as this doesn't seem to fit the quality of that caliber of game. April 26, 2012
good just not that good Not a bad game. The graphics are good and so is the music. The HOS are different not hard. Really pretty easy. The puzzles are not all that hard. Has a pretty good flow to the game. Has voice over. There is a flow but still have to go all over the place to find things. A dark game. Nothing all that great for a CE. May 18, 2013
VERY SHORT GAME FOR A CE! It was a pretty easy game and really short for a CE and IMO not worth the extra $$ for a short bonus chapter. HATED the sound and had to completely turn the volume all the way down. The puzzles are easy and about the same as other HO games. Not a winner in my book sorry BF :( April 26, 2012
Nothing special The game is really nothing special and in my mind doesn't meet CE standard. The voice overs are out of sync which made it look like one of these really badly synchronised martial arts movies. The storyline is not great: Beautiful sister and jealous brother, sis competes in some beauty pageant and bro starts working in some wax museum. You meet the sister as a ghost and I might be totally wrong, but I think I knew then what had happened. The game moves a lot, if something tumbles down it's like a camera man shook the camera frantically to create some special effect and that I found annoying, but not quite as annoying as the sparkling journal. Now THAT I find seriously irritating. The HOS are ok and items quite easy to spot, which isn't necessarily a bad thing and there are a lot interactive hidden objects, as in "Cone + cream ball = ice cream". The puzzles I came across are easy. The whole game is really dark, not so much in colour but in atmosphere. Not that I don't like these type of games, but there are better ones. Imho this game is not worth spending the money for a CE. I'd probably buy the standard version wouldn't I already have better games from this genre. April 26, 2012
61-70 of 93 Reviews <<prev 5678910next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty Collector's Edition

Travel to Red Lake Falls to track down the latest Dark Dimension!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.