Bookmark

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

These days the Chestnut Lodge Asylum is abandoned and forgotten, but many years ago a terrible tragedy unfolded behind those rusty gates. Every year, patients disappeared from the asylum without a trace. Neither the nurses nor the police could find any clues. But one day, everything changed. My dreams draw me to the asylum and I yearn to return to my normal life - a life without nightmares, premonitions, and fears.... Explore the Asylum and its surroundings, find out the true story of this place and face your fears in this gripping Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 289 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum 3.7 5 167 167
Patience is the key here... Bottom Line first: this is a very good game. The storyline is interesting, and the opening scene grabs you. The story unfolds logically, you will often pick up necessary items before you know where you will need them, and the "atmosphere" is creepy, but not overly so. As others have noted, many hidden object items are very hard to see. I think that the developers allowed for this, as there is a "screen brightness" adjustment included in the Options. And every monitor has contrast control, so there is no reason why "darkness" should be an issue. This game is not easy, at least not on the "Hard" level. Lots of places to look, lots of things seen for which there is no obvious use or purpose, at first. If you want to be able to breeze through a game, you won't like this, but if you like a challenge, this is likely to be what you are looking for. October 30, 2012
Pretty Good Game I thought it was pretty good. I usually don't like the music in most of these types of games, but the music in this one wasn't half bad. The storyline was pretty good. Some of the puzzles could have been a little more challenging. I rate it 4 stars overall and recommend you give it an hour to see how you like it first. August 11, 2012
Run, run and run some more I really liked this game except I wore out a new pair of running shoes playing it. There isn't a map, but it isn't that hard to get around - and that you must do. I don't think that adds to the game; it detracts. The artwork and HOS are good. I thought the story was kind of lame, but it is just a game, not a novel. A SG is included with the SE version, which helps a lot. If you don't mind wearing out your shoes, this is a great game. May 30, 2012
Great game, but not without its problems I was really impressed with most of this game. It has a very gloomy, creepy atmosphere which I love, and has just the right amount of HOS. The graphics are very nicely done for the most part, the music is very good without being distracting, and there is a lot of traveling involved- I like this in a game, because I feel it makes the play less linear. However, there were some flaws. For one thing, some of the objects in the HOS did not have nearly enough contrast, and were nearly impossible to see. Also, some of them were labeled incorrectly or in a very obscure way. There is also a problem with the strategy guide; it does not show the locations of all the morphing objects. The storyline gets a bit confusing as well, but not terribly so. Despite those things, I really did enjoy this game thoroughly. In many ways it reminded me of the "Shiver" series. I would be very pleased to see more games like this in the future. May 7, 2012
FINALLY Finally a game that is challenging. I like to work at figuring out the puzzles and HO's. There was some wandering around trying to figure things out from room to room. There are a lot of rooms. Someone might have made sure the items in the HO's were named correctly...spent a lot of time looking for something that was mis-named. Not too sure about the morphed things??? Maybe, I'll find out when I finish the game. It's a long game which I like. I think the darkness contributed to the difficulty, but the flash light helped finally. Over all a fun and challenging game, scary and gruesome. May 5, 2012
good HO Game Nice play and story, lots of content and objects not to hard to find Worth the price May 5, 2012
Dark Games This one had great potential. I ran into problems. Had to change my screen pixels to play and then the gas mask would not show me the activity scene on fridgerator. While backing away and reputing on the gas mask. Well the third try and the mask disappeared and I no longer could continue the game. With only 3 minutes left there was no way to play fast enough to see if it would happen again on a restart. By the way I am so sick and tired of all these games who make the scenes so dark you can not find anything. Never once have I seen anyone say how fun it was not to be able to find stuff because it was so dark. All the time I hear my complaint about it being to dark a scene. Stress on the eyes and constantly having to adjust the brightness is just a big pain. If they work out the kinks I would love to retry this game again. April 28, 2012
Not much new here I haven't done the whole hour of the trial, but enough to know that I won't buy this game. It's a typical asylum game and I am more than sure that I have come across the layout of the derelict asylum in another game. The atmosphere of the game is accordingly depressing. The HO scenes are ok. Some items are very hard to spot because of the darkness. You need to interact with some of the hidden objects and I came across two things I needed to do that I found quite innovative. I had to do some ironing and swat a fly and I'm not so sure which of the two I found more brutal :-). The game has morphing objects, a journal (which takes notes of important codes, so you don't need to write anything down), a task list (I didn't find it necessary during my trial, but not sure if it will come in handy later on) and voice overs. The hints recharge quite quickly (I played in casual mode, so I suspect the recharging will take longer in the advanced mode). As mentioned before, the atmosphere is depressing. The building is derelict with all the usual interior damage due to years of neglect. So you'll find paint flaking off the walls, rusty metal bars, the usual abandoned and torn teddy bear and there is this constant sound of dripping water, but to my surprise the electricity worked :-). I always find it annoying when I have to get the lights to work first. These sort of jobs should be left to a professional who knows what he or she is doing :-). The puzzles I had to do so far I found quite easy, they are of the usual sort you'd need to do to open a door or make something work. If you like games about abandoned asylums you'll like this one. April 28, 2012
So Close, But Yet So Far I was looking for one more standard edition to fill my punchcard and this one seemed to fit the bill. I like asylum settings fairly well, and this one has a built-in strategy guide! But after struggling through many Hidden Object scenes that are just too dim, I ultimately decided against. Perhaps the developers do this to add to the challenge, but I don't enjoy scenes where the objects are either so well-blended with the background they are practically invisible, or are so small and unrecognizable that they can't be identified. This just makes it frustrating and definitely not fun, in my opinion. A map would be helpful, too, but the lack of one wouldn't prevent me from purchasing the game. Just those darn, dark Hidden Object scenes that turn me off. April 28, 2012
Could have been so good.... The opening scene was fantastic and certainly got me intrigued. When the game proper started up I thought I was on to a winner, beautiful graphics, music great...then I started a hidden object scene, I found everything showing on the list but it didn't close. A bit of frantic clicking and I realised the bottom bot of my screen wasn't showing so I can't see the entire list, I can't find an options menu too change the screen size or anything so unfortunately cannot play unless I click every object in the hopes it is on the list (sad to say I actually did this for two scenes) Shame 'cause I really wanted to play this one. On a lighter note, there is no penalty for frantic clicking lol. Hope it works for you, I suspect it is worth it! April 28, 2012
91-100 of 167 Reviews <<prev 89101112...17next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

Face your fears and unravel the mystery of the abandoned asylum!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.