Bookmark

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel Collector`s Edition

Full version game
(510.38 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

During a road trip your friend's daughter is kidnapped by a mysterious man at the Penumbra Motel, the scene of murder and strange occurrences 50 years ago. You must head into the heart of madness to not only find the girl, but unravel the mystery haunting the descendants of the Penumbra family and the Motel grounds.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Wallpapers and Screensavers
  • Original soundtrack from the game
  • Concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 590 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel Collector`s Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel Collector`s Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel Collector`s Edition 4.3 5 124 124
I changed my mind I wrote a review for the regular game, but was unable to amend it, so I'm making an addition to that review for the collector's edition. I still hate the fearful din that is the sound, but the game is actually a terrific thing. I liked that there weren't any HOG, which I get weary of, so it was all puzzles and the story. Period. I liked that. November 3, 2013
An Adventure Game This game was interesting in the way that it didn't have HO scenes per se but you did have to find objects to use later. The use of real people was done well and it had a mysterious storyline that kept you strung along. This wasn't exactly the most fun game I've played but was pretty good. May 13, 2012
MYSTERY AND INTRIGUE AT THE LOCAL MOTEL Adventure game with no HOS, but many interesting puzzles. Without the HOS to plow through, it becomes more of a straight adventure game. LENGTH: Bit above average length: about 4 hours. STORY: Rescue a young girl from the Penumbra Motel, which has a sordid history of murder and disappearances. You find out the why at the very end. Although this is an ERS game, and even though it has great environments, voice overs, puzzles and plot, it seems to fall a little short of the spectacular games they put out for some reason. Maybe they?ve spoiled us. If it was put out by another studio, I?d have less expectations perhaps. That?s not to say this is a perfectly good game. It has wonderful voice overs and uses live actors. Yeah, the mouths aren?t in sync with the words, but since most games are translated into other languages, does it really matter? There are always going to be unsynced mouths in that case. The many puzzles have a wide variety of complexity. Some are unique; others are old standbys with a twist. There is one identical puzzle which seems to be the ?standard? for this game. You will see it several times, but each time the difficulty increases. Some of the puzzles may be a bit difficult for novices and the skip button does take a long time to load. SUMMARY: I did like the game. I kept putting off even trying it for quite some time, and finally took the plunge. I don?t regret it. It is a fun game, though it?s not as story-driven as I would like. Definitely worth a DD. Probably more. October 31, 2013
Definitely One of the Better Ones Here we go! Pros: - Beautiful graphics - Good video with MATCHING lip synch, LOL - 3 play modes - Good story - Skip option for all mini games - Fairly good length: 5 chapters + bonus Cons: - I didn't like the wolves (this is just personal, I thought they were kind of cheesy) - No map - Only 3 screensavers & 6 wallpapers (I know most people don't use these but we DO pay double to get these things) - The biggest drawback was that this is one of those games where you find an object and then use it immediately, most of the time. Open a box, find a key, and then the next door you come across, oh look, the only key in your inventory fits that lock. I took away a star for that. Yeah, I'm mean that way. July 18, 2012
Dark Alleys CE: Dark and Quirky Fun *the following remarks are based on completed game play including bonus chapter in "hard" mode* One of the best reasons to try out this game yourself is its utter lack of pretension. Penumbra does not take its self seriously, and neither should you. The score is kind of a loopy take on period Jazz and def gives one a feeling of place and time. The images are clear, though the graphics are certainly not over the top fantastical. Rather it has the grainy quality of an old "B" movie from the 30's or early 40's. Everyone has different tastes, IMHO there were too many puzzles which distracted me from the story line. It seems as if developers are simply tossing in puzzles as filler, thereby lengthening the game play, but not really adding anything to the over all game itself. I almost burst out laughing playing the bonus chapter when the Deranged Scientist finally gets to have his say. Penumbra Motel is delightfully tongue-in-cheeky, blithely engaging and most definitely not pretentious. July 11, 2012
A few mistakes and you have to start all over! I really liked this game until it wouldn't save and I had to start all over! Fine, I thought it will only take me an hour and I enjoyed it anyway. But when I got to the place that I had the problem the first time and realized that after leaving the mansion where you help the women in the kitchen and she gives you the medal in the frying pan, I got stuck again!!!!! The mansion falls down, so here I was not able to get back into the mansion and I still had the medal in the frying pan! I had to start over for the third time! You have to cool the pan in the sink that is in the mansion, and I couldn't get back into the mansion! Ugh, now what?! So I'm not sure what the end of this games holds, I'm currently on my third try and crossing my fingers I will not have to start over one more time! It's a great game, I just wish that they would have gotten all the bugs out first! May 22, 2012
Nice environment, but, in the end, an average game. "Penumbra Motel" sure was creepy at times, but only due to the environment. That's what I liked more about this game, the artwork. Overall, although a bit different from the regular casual game (no hidden objects scenes), it was pretty average. Pros: - Nice artwork, it helped to build the ambient perfectly; - The music wasn't really annoying; - Professor's Duke voice-over was pretty good; - Interesting storyline (in the beginning, at least); Cons: - The music had nothing to do with the story and the setting, in my opinion; - The storyline, in the end of the game, takes a laughable turn. In the beginning of the game it was pretty interesting, what with a whole family being murdered in a creepy motel. But when you find Monica, somebody else is holding her captive and turns out he is sort of an evil scientist who only wants to live forever... Clich all the way; - As I mentioned before, except for the professor, I thought all the other voice-overs were pretty bad; - I hate live-action in video games so that's definitely a con for me; - I felt that the game started to drag along by the end. I was always thinking "when will this be over?"... - The films you collect along the way are supposed to be pretty important to the game, right? Since the case has a special place in the inventory and all... But, apparently, no. Apart from allowing you to solve a puzzle, the films show you nothing worth for the storyline and are a bore; - It is never mentioned what the medals meant and why the murderer committed the crimes; - The bonus chapter was nothing special, it only showed new locations; I think that's it. The storyline has more holes that the moon itself. Although sometimes that doesn't bother me, in this game it did because the story seemed really promising. Nothing great here, but a fun and relaxing game with nice artwork, nonetheless. May 14, 2013
Better than most ERS games... I'm not a huge fan of ERS, as they seem to be pretty much junkpile style HOGs with a little adventure thrown in. Their production values are good, but the games are kind of cookie cutter as a rule. This one breaks the rules, and I liked it. Not enough to buy the collector's edition, but I will be getting the SE. (From the description, I don't see any extra gameplay mentioned, just the frou-frou, which I don't care about.) Interestingly, they used film clips throughout, sort of like the ones in Dire Grove. It's a feature I really like, as it adds to the suspense. I only played the demo, on medium difficulty, and here's my rating: Pros: - Graphics/visuals - Little "gotchas" that made me jump - Great voiceovers - Engaging storyline - NO HOG scenes!!! YES!!! Cons: - Way too linear. Find it, use it. Rinse, repeat. You really didn't need to think much about inventory items. Very obvious. - Too many slider/swap places puzzles. I skipped a couple. - I didn't find the little girl very likeable, and she screamed too much. Yeah, I'm still waiting for the next Myst or Syberia, but in the meantime, this one isn't half bad. I did enjoy my hour, and look forward to the SE. May 30, 2012
Mayzy's Reviews - Penumbra Motel (CE) First things first- if you're looking for a good hidden object game, this is not for you. There are no actual hidden object scenes. Not a problem for me, but given that it's labeled 'hidden object' this may be a concern. The game itself is very good overall. You have to rescue a little girl from a haunted motel and creepy scenes abound. I think my favorite bits are the silent ghosts and shades that your character doesn't even comment on and that you might not see right away. Those are the ones that really make you jump. Was that a flicker of shadow shadow or... Eeeyaa! The graphics are excellent with my one fault going to the fact that they use real people for the characters. This may be just me, but I would much rather see a drawing that fits the graphics of the game than watch a video of a really cheesy actor superimposed over said excellent graphics. I'm sorry game designers- either go back to using graphics or hire some actual actors!! It really ruins the mood when the 'scary' ghost looks like he/she's working a fifth grade play. (This is the only reason I rated a 4 on visual/sound quality because otherwise the game is ideal in sight and sound.) The bonus chapter was pretty sad so, were I to do it again, I would probably just go with a normal version, rather than CE, but other than that it's a really fantastic game and well worth getting. May 29, 2012
And the Oscar goes to none of the above I wish that when they use live actors, they could find ones who can act! I don't mean what they look like, it's what they sound like. "Get me out of here. Help." She sounded more like a whiny brat than a scared child, listen with your eyes shut and you'll see what I mean. Don't just say it's because she's a child because I know 4 and 5 year olds that can act circles around this child. I think she must have been the daughter of one of the production teem. The only good one was the santa looking guy. That being said the rest of the game was pretty good. A bit easy...but good. Sorry about my rant, but thats how I feel. May 13, 2012
71-80 of 124 Reviews <<prev 678910...13next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel Collector`s Edition

Rescue a young girl from the Penumbra Motel. Solve puzzles, unravel a long standing mystery of death and disappearances in this heart-pounding adventure game!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.