Bookmark

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty

Full version game
(582.71 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You've tracked down the latest Dark Dimension to Red Lake Falls, where a haunting beauty queen begs you to save the town but from whom? Is it her brother, last seen busting through a shop window in a jealous rage? Or his stalker girlfriend? The real villain in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game just might shock you unless youre turned into wax first!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 648 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty 3.9 5 81 81
Immensely Enjoyed! Purchased this game back in April and simply loved it! May 25, 2012
It?s A Hard Slog For Amateur Puzzlers GAME (ALMOST) COMPLETED TWICE So many important things to say about this game that I had to take a breather and get them down. This game is a long and arduous journey for me, an intermediate puzzler, HO diva, and intrepid adventurer. Don?t get me wrong, it is a good, probably a great, game, but it is too much for one sitting that?s for sure! I was disappointed to find that the ?Beauty? of the title didn?t bring with it beauty in the artwork. It is top quality, talented work, but no one has given us gorgeous fantastical concoctions. Instead we are not-so-welcomed into town by living wax grotesqueries and statues we just wished we could be sure WERE wax. In other words, the atmosphere is one of a seriously creepy game, based around an equally creepy story. I want to take a moment for the story. This is by far the best job of characterisation I?ve seen in over 500 games I?ve trialled and played. The emotional conflicts between the girl and her brother, his frustration and confusion, her hurt and sense of betrayal, great stuff. The relationships between the other lead characters are excellently portrayed too. And their weaknesses, eccentricities and obsessions. I don?t know if this is helped by having live actors (who were a bit over the top I thought), but certainly the dialogue and frequent well-timed very well crafted cutscenes really added to the reality of these people?s dramas. I found myself taking sides in the arguments ? and my mum sat in for a while and sided against me! Finally, it would not be right to write about a Dark Dimension game without mentioning the high quality, difficulty, and originality of their games. City Of Fog, the first of this series, was notable for them as well. However, as with that predecessor, a number of original games don?t have clear enough instructions, in the game or in the strategy guide. Us amateurs need a little more hand holding. At the very least I hope to see more reset buttons in future games. Oh, and very interactive and entertaining HOS. Now I?ll go finish off the bad guy/gal... March 30, 2013
A Very Good Dark Side Game But Not Great Falls Short This review is for the whole game playing in advance mode: The story: If you've played City Of Fog, this time you're saving it from wax where a haunting beauty queen begs you to save the town ? but from whom? Is it her brother, last seen busting through a shop window in a jealous rage? Or his stalker girlfriend? For those who haven't played City of Fog, the sequel can stand alone; there are a couple of references to the earlier game, but the occurrences in that game are not vital to this one. 5 chapters 2 play modes: Easy and Advanced. Easy has sparkles, faster refill times and no miss click penalty. Advanced has no sparkles not even for the HO scenes, slower refills and miss click penalties. There is voice overs with real live actors. There is a journal however no map. HO scenes: All objects found by word list and are interactive. The graphics for this area of the game while a little dark for some areas not bad as I didn't have trouble locating too much of anything. Puzzles: While I'm not a fan of these I did most of them and found them to be pretty easy as I only skipped a couple of them. Hint/Skip: Pretty quick on charge up. The hint is also helpful outside of HO scenes. My overall impression of the game: I thought the graphics/artwork was really well done here and I really liked the story for the most part. I also found the game to have a nice balance of HO scenes, puzzles and adventure. I also appreciated that this game didn't have sparkles everywhere not even the HO scenes. Where this fell a little short for me and keeping it from being a "great" game is to start off with I usually don't comment on such things as I suspend all belief in games however the fax in the year 1918 is a bit over the top here. Really? A fax in 1918? LOL! This kinda distracted from the story a bit here for me. Yes I realize it's "just a game" but gee lets try to make it true to the time period here shall we? I also usually enjoy the voice overs in most of the games I've played here at the Big Fish even the few with the real live actors but this game here they don't match the game's atmosphere or feel, and seemed to be real out of sync Oh and thank goodness I didn't have to use that hint button too much as I didn't care for the big ole circle it had to do before it got to its destination of finding the items and the couple of times I got a little hung up on where to go/do next. As for game length: 4 hours for me which was long enough for me. Depending on your game play you may or may not get this much time out of the game. Overall I give this 4 stars as I found it to be a very good game overall but had to knock it down a star for the things I've mentioned here in my review. Thanks Big Fish and developer! As always definitely give it a whirl and decide for yourself. May 25, 2012
Help I'm MELTINGGGGGGG!! I loved playing the first of the series and after having saved the City from a fog, I now have to save it from Wax! Once again we are off on another adventure and helping out the spirit world. I wish I could jump up and down and say "great game" but in all honesty, it just did not meet my expectation when it first came out as a CE. Yet I will say this, visually this game is top-notch. I lsimply oved the graphics, they are stunning and kudos to the devlopers for using real actors to play and very good V/O. A lot of work was put into this and although I expect that many will find game dark and sombre, it has an ominous atmsphere and makes for some good old-fashion fun. Unfortunately that really is all that this game offers, wonderful artwork and a relatively interesting story. Music and sound effects are very well done, and If you enjoy being spooked, this I recommend you play this after dark with the lights turned off. The sounds will definitely cause shivers down your spine. When it comes to game mechanics, this is where the my enthusiasm starts dwindle. It is your basic run of the mill Adventure/HOG with routine puzzles and mini-games that are simple to do. HO scenes are interactive but somewhat dark and crowded, making some items difficult to find. Game features include a journal, a SG that keeps your place and two game mode options. What is missing from this game is the level of challenge. I initially passed on this when it came out as a CE but instead waited for the SE version. Many hard-core players will find this game relatively easy. Get ready to do alot of back-tracking and watch out for the wax. Like I said, visually, the game is beautiful however playing it just did not excite me. Truthfully I was a bit let down but nevertheless, it is well worth to buy especially for beginners who will definitely enjoy the ride. May 25, 2012
A Great Game! This game is yet another thrilling Hidden Object Game. Here are my thoughts on the game: Good Parts: Thrilling storyline Great location Challenging hidden object scenes Interactive Hidden Objects OK Parts: Puzzles- some were extremely challenging yet others were challenging to the point of stupidity Bad Parts: Sometimes even the hint couldn't tell you what to do When I did use the hint, it circled around for a few seconds, as if trying to figure out what to do. It was a waste of time and annoyed me. Overall, I reccomend this game. It's a great thing to do on weekends, and should provide lots of entertainment May 25, 2012
Excellent interactive hidden objects This is a good game (IMHO) from Daily Magic Productions although I found the storyline was pretty average & the use of live actors didn?t help. The voiceover dialogue did not match the mouth movements & that distracted me but you can click through if you wish. You get a diary with lots of story & a few clues; there is no map which is a shame as there is a quite lot of going to & fro, however the world is not too large so it doesn?t become inordinately tiresome. The game tends to mostly finish an area before opening up elsewhere with only occasional visits back. There are two game modes, casual with a 40 second hint recharge, sparkles & some glints or advanced with a 60 second hint & not a sparkle or glint in sight. The hint is useful outside the hidden object scenes but is rather annoying as it swirls around the screen before pointing where you should go. The graphics are not as crisp as I would like but the artwork is good & I love some of the little touches put in by the artists; click on the red eyes in the tree & a bat flies out at you. The music does not intrude & the background sounds are quite creepy in places. The H0 are good with some excellent interactive items that were fun to play, most are easy enough to find. The mini games are pretty easy to start & get more difficult as you progress, some I have not met before; quite a few of the explanations did not really help in giving me a clue as to how to solve so I ended up skipping more than I would like. This is one of those games that gets better as you play; it is also of a good length, it took me just over 4 hours to finish; the gameplay is fun & this is well worth buying. May 26, 2012
I'm In. Sign Me Up. I like this game. It is very nicely put together. The puzzles are easy, and hidden object games contain items that require OTHER items to complete. Finding the hidden objects is rather easy, so if you're looking for great challenge, go elsewhere. My complaint is, if you click the hint button, a dotted, swirly line appears and travels across the screen, but takes what seems like forever to complete and settle on an object--and that just wastes time. I liked this game at $13.99. I like it better at the SE rate of $6.99. I'm in. Sign me up. May 25, 2012
Likeable This game was good overall. The visuals were sharp as I like it. The HO scenes were reasonable & not dark & hard to find. The storyline was interesting in itself because it had quite a few twists & turns in it. So you had to definitely be aware of what's going on. I was lost here & there because it had been a while between me playing the trial version & actually purchasing it. When the game ended, it ended. I was disappointed with how it ended because, to me, there was nothing extra. It was kinda like you come out on top & you win, but there is no prize at the end. No teaser. No epilogue of any sort. It just ended and that was it. Based on that alone, I would normally say it's not worth it. But everything else was pretty much cool. So I guess I would recommend it. December 28, 2012
Great graphics, fun challenges - but abysmal acting Whereas some games get it right (Dire Grove is the ultimate success story), the use of real actors in games can be a terrible experience. In this game, the acting is so bad it subtracts negatively from the game. Other than that, the graphics are fabulous, the story interesting and eery (albeit with rather an abrupt ending) and the challenge level good. I enjoyed it. August 16, 2012
Entertaining little game I did quite enjoy this game although I have to say I preferred the city of fog. I thought both the music and graphics were quite good - the cut scenes were interesting but would have been better if the voices were in sync. I thought the puzzles in this game were good for the most part - the H/O scenes were interactive which stopped them from being too boring. The storyline was a little weak. Still overall this game kept me entertained for a few hours - and I would recommend it to my friends. July 26, 2012
31-40 of 81 Reviews <<prev 23456...9next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Dimensions: Wax Beauty

Travel to Red Lake Falls to track down the latest Dark Dimension!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.