Bookmark

Theatre of the Absurd

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Scarlett Frost, specialist in the dark arts, has been summoned to a luxurious and remote theatre in the snowy Italian Alps. Could it be that the infamous and diabolical Hapsburg Cube has been found and purchased by the sinister theatre proprietor, Dr. Corvis? The cube is said to imprison a powerful and ancient Babylonian demon that would wreak hellish destruction if the cube should break. In a moment of desperate confusion the cube breaks and the demon bursts forth into the souls of the Dr. Corvis and his young Daughter Bethany. The ancient theatre in the lonely winter mountains becomes an arena of spiritual war, between the darkest forces of the underworld and the cunning and esoteric mind of Scarlett Frost. But Scarlett soon finds out that the only way to fight a demon this powerful is to become possessed by one herself. Only then can she acquire a ticket to the Theatre of the Absurd.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 168 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Theatre of the Absurd

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Theatre of the Absurd

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Theatre of the Absurd 3.8 5 68 68
Creepy, Eerie, Weird, Unique and Fantastic Game! This game is very different, even unique in my experience here at BFG. It won't be to everyone's taste, but so far I'm hooked and will definitely buy it at $2.99 as a COTW. I have not had much trouble with the HOS at all, but I will say that the items are hidden in somewhat of a unique way (sorry, there's that word 'unique' again). Nevertheless, I'm enjoying them very much -- not just looking for the HOs but taking in the artwork of the scenes as a whole. I love, love, love the red-tattooed arm and hand hints and powers! It reminds me of a series of vampire novels that I really enjoyed reading. I believe the jerky cut scene motion and the voice looping that a couple of people mentioned may have been glitches that didn't show up for me. I have turned the voiceover sound down a little in the options menu, but I didn't want to get rid of it completely. The voices, along with the sound effects, definitely add to the weird atmosphere. Congratulations to the developers for creating an eerily creepy, beautiful, and captivating game.. August 20, 2013
Thank you very much! When I saw where the game was from I knew it had to be 1st Class! I was gripped from the start - this is my type of game. It makes the player stretch the thinking power - I used the 'Hint' as little as possible. I don't mind running hither & thither to pick up a lost strand in the puzzle. I made myself complete the trial game although I knew it was going to be mine anyway. I cannot comment on the sound/voiceover because I never use the sound. The visual effects are excellent and I couldn't wait for what the next move brought. Thank you devs this is great. I was beginning to lose heart, having had to not recommend quite a few games just recently. My faith in you clever people is restored. It's a BIG thumbs up ansd a BIG Well Done!! June 2, 2012
WOW!!!! very different from others I have played. I just purchased and am mid way through(i'm guessing#. The story line is really interesting. The VO is not horrible#not a big fan of VO).The little girl is pretty creepy..lol. I really like this one. It is so uniqueand the hint button upgrades... very cool game. I am not disappointed with this purchase, at all!!!!! June 3, 2012
This is how a scary themed game should look. Yeah... another game about a demon being released and how to keep it there... I But here you believe it. Too many of these games take place in sunlit scenes and commonplace rooms. Here the dcor matches the story. We are inside an abandoned church, and the blue/gray tones are what we expect of a macabre story. Then the hint system if fully appropriate, Red messages written on the forearm of the protagonist. VERY spooky. Secret passages, crows, ominous painitings, a torture chamber... You do believe the story. The HOS are the usual junk piles, but they are set in very macabre settings that get to you. The minigames can be solved with little problems, and the narrative flows goes swimmingly. I am not to sure about the ending... but I had a great time. May 11, 2014
Ignore the title....nothing Absurd here! As crazy as it sounds, I almost didn't play this game because of the title. It made me think of a sideshow at a traveling carnival. Even the first "chapter" was not an indication of how sophisticated this game is. I feel that anyone critiquing this game just from a demo will not be able to convey the entire brilliance in this game. It is definitely different than most games.....and yes, while it has a voice over, it was professional and not annoying as some. The CE version is well worth the price....it's challenging and the prompts help in tight spots....but I would rather have a good challenge than speed through a game like this that has so much eye candy in the graphics. I personally don't like the morose skeletal/psychic/cultish/witchcraft type genre.....which is where I THOUGHT this was leading. I was pleasantly surprised to see more creative uses of hints of Eqyptian remains and other historical/artifact type images, than the worn out "ghoulish" hooded and spell casting characters. I think this game would make a long run to the top ranked games if it were renamed as something (FKA) "the Theater of the Absurd". I totally recommend this game! I July 27, 2012
Diabolical! Lots of fun, Great graphics It's about a little girl in trouble. It's about demons. If that doesn't appeal to you, this isn't the game for you. The graphics are fantastic. I really was constantly impressed by the detail in each scene. It had some very sophisticated graphics elements. The help system works fine. I played the entire game on expert mode, and it wasn't frustratingly hard at all, yet the puzzles were challenging. It had a twist. The hidden object scenes were more difficult because of lighting effects in the scene itself, and I liked that. I wish I had gotten the collectors edition. I was satisfied, though. July 6, 2012
Masterpiece This game is perfection, extraordinary, a stunning masterpiece! I loved every aspect of it! The only down side to this game was that it had to end! I have truly never played a better game!!! June 29, 2012
Unlike Anything Else Out There This is going to be one of those games that people either love or hate. I choose the former. The main reason why I am willing to look past this game's flaws (more on that shortly# is because I am a big fan of doing something different. There is almost nothing about this game that reminds me of hidden object games I have played before, other than the setup, and I love the way it twists convention and couples it with a truly deep and twisted storyline. The setup is you are attempting to save a young girl from a demon by gathering parts of a bell. Yeah, that's plenty odd, but it somehow works. The voice work is decent #hard to voice a demon and have it not sound like a bad Halloween sound effect# but a lot of it sounds like it was done inside a tunnel. The graphics likely won't blow you away, but much of it is very well done. I loved the scope of the backgrounds, the uses of color and shapes, and the overall H.P. Lovecraft look to the castle. One of the truly spookier atmospheres in a game. Hidden object scenes are less successful, with junkpile objects against less interesting backgrounds, but still decent. You'll gather quite a bit to aid you in those scenes, and this is the start to some of the odd #and interesting) departures for this game. Minigames are variants on things you've done before, but I wasn't bored, even when doing yet another pipe puzzle or identifying pieces of a jigsaw. Nothing particularly difficult, but good enough for me. You also get powers to help you, and hints if needed appear in red on your arm! That was a nice touch. You always know what your next big task is and there's not too much backtracking because the game environment isn't so big as to cause difficulty. As to the plot, it's got a predictable ending but the trip is worth it. I really like taking a chance on something different, and this game is exactly that. There may be a spelling error here and there and it's clearly not perfect, but full marks from me on keeping the tone intense and different. Great game for a rainy day. June 11, 2012
Spectacular game Wow! this game was amazing, everything was so polished, from the graphics, to the puzzles, to the voice overs. I wished it had have been longer, I was so engrossed. For the lovers of the unusual, and ones who don't mind a dark and scary tale. I highly recommend you purchase this one, you wont be disappointed. June 5, 2012
Fantastic! I actually submitted a review already for this but don't see it so I am doing it again. This is an innovative and creative game that has elements never seen or done before (as far as my experience the past few years). The artwork is always what will put me 'over the top' and this game is beautiful. I have played it through twice now and it was just as good the second time. June 2, 2012
11-20 of 68 Reviews <<prev 2345...7next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Theatre of the Absurd

Help Scarlet Frost outwit evil itself in a dark and mysterious theatre to save an innocent girl’s soul from the most sinister of perils.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.