Bookmark

Theatre of the Absurd

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Scarlett Frost, specialist in the dark arts, has been summoned to a luxurious and remote theatre in the snowy Italian Alps. Could it be that the infamous and diabolical Hapsburg Cube has been found and purchased by the sinister theatre proprietor, Dr. Corvis? The cube is said to imprison a powerful and ancient Babylonian demon that would wreak hellish destruction if the cube should break. In a moment of desperate confusion the cube breaks and the demon bursts forth into the souls of the Dr. Corvis and his young Daughter Bethany. The ancient theatre in the lonely winter mountains becomes an arena of spiritual war, between the darkest forces of the underworld and the cunning and esoteric mind of Scarlett Frost. But Scarlett soon finds out that the only way to fight a demon this powerful is to become possessed by one herself. Only then can she acquire a ticket to the Theatre of the Absurd.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 168 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Theatre of the Absurd

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Theatre of the Absurd

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Theatre of the Absurd 3.8 5 68 68
A SOLID 4 STARS Your goal is to exorcise a demon to save a little girl, helped by some supernatural abilities. There are a lot of rooms to explore in the father?s mansion, but it?s not too difficult getting around. There are some spooky aspects (try overclicking in a HOS for a sample). Gameplay wasn't too easy but neither was it mind-numbing. HOS are crisp, clear and not too crowded. Visual effects are well detailed and lovely. The heroine?s voice is pleasant to listen to, which is good since you spend a lot of time listening to her. Nicely polished game. The ending was a complete surprise ? never saw that coming. About 5 hours. October 2, 2012
Exorcist adventure gaming meets iHOG -- Enjoy! Theatre of the Absurd does a very nice job melding the traditional adventure game with the iHOG genre and provides a unique feel and creepy, Exorcist-like experience to the casual gaming market. I was initially taken aback by this game and found the iHOG scenes fuzzy, but as the experience moved along I really enjoyed the smokey ambiance. While most of the puzzles were light, the overall look and feel made this a very worthwhile and memorable gaming experience which I highly recommend especially those who appreciate the adventure gaming genre. I only reserved one star because I wanted an even more adventure-like experience with a little less hand-holding. June 7, 2012
Like the game, hate the monologue I love the graphics in this game. Colorful but not childish or cartoony. I bought it even before the trial was up. Only two things really bothered me. The little girl has freaky blue eyes that made her look possessed even when she was supposed to be normal. The monologue was very annoying. I don't need to be read to. Other than that, I am enjoying this one. August 22, 2013
Creepy game! So many hidden object games! The music was creepy, yet intriguing. There were pop-ups in this game, so warning to those who gets scared of horror games. I was scared too, so I had to play in lower volume. The game was very good. Although there were a lot of hidden object games, I don't really like when hidden objects maps are repetitive. I went to same hidden object maps twice, I think three times too. Because of its repetitive in the same map, I got bored of it so I just pressed random objects that looks like it's part of the items I need to find. I played in expert mode, I didn't need to skip a lot of the puzzles, so that's good. I played this as part of the Game Club's Daily Deals, Spending this game for $2.99 was worth it! June 9, 2013
Spooky, Creative FUN! WOW! I absolutely LOVE the creativity of this remarkable game! You can tell the devs put a lot of time and care into it! This has to be the most interesting and integrated hint system I have ever seen! It's part of you, and the story! Superior voice acting, and cut scenes! The outstanding graphics, music and sound effects add to this game and are very appropriate! The spooky story line captured my interest right away! I'm a big fan of interactive movie type games, and this is a prime example. As you progress thru the game you earn powers to help you save Bethany. This game makes you think a bit as to what and/or how to do tasks, and as an intermediate casual gamer, is a perfect difficulty level for me. The puzzles are quite easy, which I enjoyed thoroughly! The notebook records all info needed to help you solve puzzles, and also includes your task list, and story. There doesn't seem to be a ton of back and forth, which is great! There is, however a ton to explore in each beautifully crafted scene! There are a few things that I found I didn't care for, but they are easily overlooked and outweighed by the positives! The HOS can be challenging, as some HO are very well hidden/blended, and the color palate is a bit monochromatic in some areas. The hints recharge quickly, but can be a bit vague. I didn't even finish the demo, and I know I'll be buying it! If you don't like dark, demonic games, this will not be for you. As always, Try Before You Buy! June 17, 2012
Always be wary of the innocent moppet Had to redeem my game coupon, so I picked this game. I'm glad I did. Started 3 hours ago and I have to stop because my eyes are shriveling. Love the graphics, the moody tone of the game, and the surprises. Innovative. Some new games, but not too hard or annoying. Hope they make more of this type of game. February 3, 2014
I enjoyed the dark theme It may not be for everyone - because it has a demonic/satanic theme, like demon posession and HOs that involves creepy cursing items, eg. voodoo, skulls etc. But I don't particularly mind about these themes, and I enjoyed much on the music and sound where at certain parts it's not just repetitive looping music, but has some shrieks or whispers which really adds to the dark atmosphere. September 24, 2013
theater of absurd a compleatly different game-- nice for a change. will probably buy at some point. June 3, 2012
Delightfully different! I've been a member for years but this game was so different it became the first which I felt compelled to review. The story line is interesting but it's the way the game plays out which hooked me. The hints are displayed on your own arms - HO scenes are more difficult than most but much more fun - it's cohesive and a surprisingly different take on the norm. August 21, 2013
Demonic possession ahoy! I was intrigued by this game from the beginning because of the demonic possession theme and the demonic imagery in all the scenes. Combined with the sound effects and smoke and coloured lighting, it made for a fairly creepy atmosphere. An interesting new feature of this game is that you can "use" your arm in the game; you extend it to cast spells to progress through the game (not that exciting, would have been nice to have an associated minigame for each spell) and also instructions for the next step appear written IN your skin on your forearm. Most original in-game strategy guide I've ever seen. While the artwork tended to the monochromatic side, it really appealed to me. The creepy castle setting is a cliche but it's done well here, to the point I would feel a little nervous about exploring new locations for fear of what I would find! Smoke and other hardware acceleration effects are put into good use. The gameplay itself is fairly average. Hidden object scenes were okay at the beginning but became more like junk piles towards the end with nonsensical placement of items, i.e. more like the early days of HOGs. Puzzles were of average, i.e. easy, difficulty with a decent variety but I did like a recurring puzzle type where you have a series of small images, and you have to find their location on the main scene. What I liked best about the game was the race against time to thwart the demon; every time it appeared it added to the sense of urgency and danger. July 10, 2012
31-40 of 68 Reviews <<prev 234567next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Theatre of the Absurd

Help Scarlet Frost outwit evil itself in a dark and mysterious theatre to save an innocent girl’s soul from the most sinister of perils.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.