Bookmark

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

Full version game
(775.71 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Track down your missing twin in Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward. The only trace of your missing twin is the necklace he never took off…and a swampland address. Follow the clues to an abandoned hotel and unravel a mystery of necromancy and more in this eerie hidden-object puzzle adventure classic!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Concept Art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 854 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition 3.9 5 80 80
a good game to play but nothing to do do with games 1-3 so it is a bit strange to call it haunted hotel 4 but great despite that good graphics . a spooky game great scenes OOH June 18, 2013
hidden thoughts to discover hidden thoughts to discover the real thing of wisdom June 18, 2012
good game Liked this one will buy it hope they make more like this one June 12, 2012
Absolutely love this game! I have been a casual game addict for a few years and this is one of the first games I played. When the internet went out last night during a storm, I decided to bring up some old games and was excited when I found this one. It was on my mental check list for my favorite games. I was hoping I would still find it as captivating as the first time, and I was pleasantly surprised that I loved it as much before. The puzzles are old-school ? which means you have to work on them. The guide is so handy that I got all achievements this time around. The HOS are straight forward and the guide offers snapshots. I am a fan of creepiness, and this game?s story line for me was eerie and suspenseful. From the somber atmosphere to the toned down yet beautiful artwork, I became absorbed into the game; so much so I forgot the ending! What a surprise again (maybe I should catch up on my Lovecraft reading). While I appreciate beautifully crafted games and technological advancement, it is nice to sit back and play a game that values your intelligence. Those who are fans of the old-school graphics will love this game. The bonus game was very puzzle heavy, but I enjoyed the challenge. All in all a wonderful day to spend on Haunted Hotel!! July 28, 2014
Found it a relaxing game..... Demo finished before the hour was up but thought it was a nice little game. Music not intrusive in fact I quite enjoyed it. No click penalty on HOS (as far as I could tell). Graphics not bad and plenty of places to explore. Scenes and HOS not overcrowded and in the hotel the rooms have mini-games you play to open, which I liked, instead of finding the inevitable key!! The story is the usual one where you have to find a relative who has gone missing and you end up in creepy places but that is not a problem. Will be buying this game as I am having fun and that is what gaming is about. June 10, 2012
Good but Not Great! What started off as a straightforward HOG, the Haunted Hotel series have gradually evolved with each game and with this latest edition, developers now bring us a new HOPA game that takes place in New Orleans, an ideal setting for any ghost story. The tale of Charles Dexter Ward offers something for everyone; Hidden Objects, Puzzles and Adventure. Lately more and more game developers are using real live film footages which I enjoy and the opening scene of this game was very well done. Unfortunately my excitement slowly began to dissipate as I began my journey. Visually the graphics and animations were too blurry and dark; albeit the story does deal with the occult and death so one does not expect bright colors but I have seen much more superior graphics used in much more darker games. I did however enjoy the sound effects which great amplified the overall atmosphere of the game; the sounds of swamp creatures in the background really set the mood for the game. The music was not really obtrusive and at times, I hardly noticed. Game features included widescreen, stretch screen and custom cursor. There were two game modes, but be warned, there were the odd sparkles here and there in advance mode which I found to be disappointing. Game features included a task list but no journal and no map. Instead, you need to find pages of a missing diary as you roam each scene. There was a very good hint system when used, tell you exactly where to go and what to do. I found that there was no need to use the SG which then raises the question as to why this game qualifies as a CE? Game mechanics were standard, involving collecting objects from non interactive HOS (again with the disappointment) and solve a variety of puzzles along the way. I actually enjoyed the puzzles, some were easy to solve and some needed a bit more elbow grease. There are also achievements to earn along the way which were basically tied to each task done. I really tried to enjoy the game but to my dismay, I found it lacking the elements needed for a challenging game play. Also I could not really invest myself into the story based on the fact that you needed to collect the diary pages to unravel the mystery and with each page, the story gradually begins to unfold. Somehow this process slowed down the game a great deal. Once again I expect many will opt to wait for the SE. However as I am a sucker for a ghost stories and also a fan of the series, I will splurge on this and lateron tonight, put on my headphones, surround myself with the eeriness of the sound effects and set forth to discover what really happened to Charles Dexter Ward. June 10, 2012
Excellent Haunted Hotel When Haunted Hotel first came out I didn't like it much and never played the 2nd one. This one was very good. The HOS were uncomplicated and the mini games were much better than having to find a key for each and every locked door. I have no idea how the hint button was on refilling because I didn't need to use it. The Strategy Guide was good and though it didn't move as you did, it stayed to where you last used it. The achievements were a little weak, felt that there should be more but as I finished in the hour trial, don't know if there are more in the whole game. The music was appropriately creepy but was not intrusive, The clock in Curwin's room became quickly annoying but otherwise sound and art were great. Need to be careful though as some of the objects that you pick up along the way you can't really tell what they are unless you actually put the arrow over them and objects can be missed because of their blending or size. Overall this was an ejoyable game. June 10, 2012
Haunted Hotel, dark & spooky, but not dreary This game has so many good things, ie., cleverly hidden rather than junkpile HO scenes, a hint button that refills rather quickly, a lot of variety in the mini-games, and nice coloring in each of the many scenes. The story involves black evil smoke that evidently absorbs folks, a crypt (of course) and mysterious liquid that apparently takes a living person's body to make a dead person live again - although just from the demo I'm not sure that's right. I prefer straight-forward who-dunnits rather than this type story, but I really liked this game, and I was immediately pulled into trying to rescue my brother. There is some note-reading, rather than dialogue, but it moves the story along, and is not lengthy. June 10, 2012
Good Game I really enjoyed this game. When I first started playing these games I played for the HOS, now I want the puzzles. This game is a nice combination. The story-line is the same as most, find a friend or relative and the visuals are not great but, it still is a good game and I recommend it. June 10, 2012
Spooky Ghostie Fun (*imo, based on demo*) I'm having a good time with the latest happenings at Haunted Hotel. Altho i'm not quaking from fear or quivering with expec.....tation, i'm finding the play to be both relaxed & nicely creepy at the same time (an odd mix, i know) Sound fx thru my headphones are spooky cool, & so far i'm liking the music which is turned down low. Graphix are pleasing to the eye in most places - clear & fairly atmospheric, & items are easy to discern even in HOscenes - which are pretty easy & so far not interactive. The black ghostly mist that seems to be a primary player in the game bugs me only because it's awfully pixelated & i think that could/should have been remedied, but it doesnt detract much from the game experience, so no biggie. Puzzles so far are nothing out of the ordinary, nor are they taxing on my pea brain. Cutscenes are good, & i'm thinking there's live environmental filming incorporated, making the setting seem quite real at times. I like the story, & altho it's not the most original ever done, i do want to know who/what/how/ why all this weird stuff is going on, & why is my bro missing. Finding random articles & out-of-order pieces of diary from past residents or present dangers will eventually lead me to the answers, if in a rather roundabout way that could get annoying. We'll see. Is it CE worthy? I'm not convinced it is just because i expect a good CE to rattle my brain & rock my world, which ain't happenin'. But i'm buying anyway 'cause i'm having fun, I liked the last Haunted Hotel, & my self control button is out of order when it comes to decent spooky ghostie stories. Give it a demo & see if this one's for you; i think lots of folks who are into the dark & eerie games might enjoy this. Have fun!! June 10, 2012
31-40 of 80 Reviews <<prev 23456...8next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

Enter the abandoned hotel and find your missing twin!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.