Bookmark

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

Full version game
(775.71 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Track down your missing twin in Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward. The only trace of your missing twin is the necklace he never took off…and a swampland address. Follow the clues to an abandoned hotel and unravel a mystery of necromancy and more in this eerie hidden-object puzzle adventure classic!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Concept Art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 854 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition 3.9 5 81 81
Disappointed I was disappointed in the number of puzzles because I did not like most of them, so I would have to wait for the Skip to charge which was aggravating. Other than the puzzles I didn't like, I would still recommend this game. It was pretty enjoyable but not one of my favorites. April 22, 2013
A fun game An interesting twist on Lovecraft though it could have been a bit creepier. June 16, 2012
haunted hotel Charles Dexter Ward Well i was so surprised with this game , I did not buy the CE but I am glad it was so short, I am not the fastest with games but I completed this game in 2 hrs. The graphics were ok I found them grainy in places, interesting story but did not draw me in, I found it seemed as if it would but then it just carried on with the next scene . Ho's were ok quite clear easy to find , the puzzles were easy and no hint needed , the only disappointment mainly was the amount of going back and forth to retrieve items, no map so had to keep back tracking. quite an easy game with the hint butto giving you all you needed to know, did not use often but with no map the hint guided you, i would recommend this game but only if you can't handle long games. July 20, 2012
Not bad at all! Well, same story different day, but not a bad game. I have two of the other Haunted Hotel games and really liked them, but not sure about this one yet. Graphics not bad, HOGs clear and quite simple, game play nice, hint system nice, games not dificult but take a little time, SG could be a bit more specific (when you are on one side of the property and need to get to the other without a map to see where you are in the first place, it's a bit difficult). Might want to also check the spelling and grammar in the SG...got a few errors. I think this would have been much better with a little more sound. Half the time there isn't even any music and gets quite boring just running around. Didn't care for the long blackout pause between scenes either. Was that the haunted part? I saw nothing haunted in the demo, just an old run down house. Hopefully there is more as the game progresses. Had 27 minutes left on my demo time, so not quite sure how long this is, since there is no hint in the SG. All in all, I did like the game, but not love it. It didn't grab my attention like the other HH games did. Mostly because it was way to quiet and didn't build you up to the next step. I will put this one in the puddle and think about it a while before deciding if I want to purchase and add it to my pond of games. Thanks for the reviews. June 10, 2012
Fun Although I thought this was a fun game. I would have changed the ending and in the bonus round as well. Just saying.... June 13, 2012
A good trial game, but not great I was allowed only fourteen minutes of the trial game, and I am not an expert player. The game itself was just okay, but the English was bad. I wish the developers of these games would take the initiative to have them vetted by a native English speaker before releasing them. It really detracts from the experience when I find myself correcting their usage, or worse yet, deleting the game because of the language problems. (I am not referring to British English as opposed to American English, but incomplete sentences that appear to be pidgen English.) Try the game for yourself, but I will not be purchasing this one. June 10, 2012
This One Didn't Grab Me. As I said with my rating, I found nothing special here. It's not a bad game, but it's just the same old thing. Running around doing the same tasks as every other HOG. This game is a little more old school than most of the newer HOGS. I'd really like to see more thought go into these games. I find it annoying to collect a screw driver, crow bar, or the like, use it once and lose it, only to need it 3 scenes later. Come on! Give me a backpack and make me lug the tools (and remember that I have them) through the entire game! Don't even get me started on "oilers" and rusty hinges! But I digress.....This game's just another dreary HOG, nothing more, nothing less. June 11, 2012
The game was OK This game had the same ole same ole storyline: relative kidnapped/disappeared and evil is causinf havoc in the house/motel/town, etc. The visuals were not the at the level of other CE games. The puzzles were okay and but again the visual portion wasn't really up to snuff. I usually purchase the CE's without a second thought, but I reall think I should have saved my money on this one until it was offered as a regular game. June 10, 2012
Heartbreak Hotel What a disappointment. I had expected this game to be less pedestrian and more challenging than the demo would indicate. I was truly bored. I guess it didn't help that I just finished Final Cut - a game that is complex and intriguing. While I agree with other reviewers that the game is a progression from the past installments in this group, the leap just isn't enough for me. Even for the beginning player, there are far better options than this. June 10, 2012
Not at all outstanding by any means... Oh, dear !...another game based on the supernatural with an abundance of skulls, skeletons, coffins, all wrapped up in a gloomyish package of crypts, swamps, derelict hotel and other similar welcoming locales that are meant to convey horror, even terror, yet fail to convince every step of the way. I haven't yet found a game that will chill me to death... LOL Anyway.... In spite of all this, I found the graphics, cutscenes and voice-over interesting. The movies have been given an old-fashioned aura, the visuals are on the whole in line with that wannabe creepy atmosphere already mentioned, the voice-over is good, the music is okay and non-obtrusive though not worthy of a horror motion picture, and the colors not at all unpleasant despite their lack in brightness. None of them, alas, are good enough to really immerse the player, least of all to deserve an Oscar. That set aside, the whirling black smoke [ie: the evil spirit] that destroys everything and shuts off the light was laughable. The very first thing that started to fuel my interest was the first minigame: a variant of the Hanoi Tower that is not that easy to complete. I expected the rest of the puzzles to be of like standard. Well, they are much easier and less challenging, at least those in the demo, since it lets you play only Day 1, ie: Chapter 1. The second was how easy the HO Scenes were, so much so I didn't have to use one hint. I hate difficult HO Scenes ! The third and last one was the visit to the different locales. Plenty to see. Unfortunately, my fun didn't last, my fuel tank depleted quickly. I completed the demo is 40 mns exactly without rushing or skipping anything. So, how many hours of playtime does that give us ? Not sure. Hopping from one location to another soon became tedious as you have a lot of backtracking to do, very often for very little, little picking up the paper notes... of which there are quite of few !... or the obvious "useful" items. I like complex adventures, but when I have to walk a lot I want a good reason as well as originality. Finding and using these "useful" items is straightforward; some respond to some logic, others simply don't, like patching up a hole in a boat with... moss ! Yes. Other than that, the items are standard: crowbar, sledgehammer, etc... Same as in other games. I am not sure the storyline made any sense. Apart from the fact that, once again, you have to "fight" the forces of darkness to save your brother ... how original !... I am at a loss to determine how well the plot unfolds or how exciting if finally is. Funny how these casual games always use the same theme and get you to "fight" without ever giving you a real sense of danger ! Conclusion ? The best is for you to try the demo, see how you like it, see if the preview of the rest of the game tickles your fancy. As to my recommendation, I am hesitant. I awarded that game 3 stars (rounded up) as I believe it can be enjoyed by gamers who haven't played lots of similar games, by fans of gloomy stories, as well as by those who are prepared to overlook all the imperfections, but that's as far as it goes. And since it would seem, according to other reviewers, that the Bonus Chapter has nothing to do with the core game, the CE may not be worth it, considering also that: - the SG is superfluous as you can draw your own map on a piece of paper - the hint system is fine and the tasks are clear - the overall quality of the game does not justify the extra expense. Unless you love wallpapers... As for me, Charles is not on my must-buy list. July 13, 2012
51-60 of 81 Reviews <<prev 456789next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

Enter the abandoned hotel and find your missing twin!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.