Bookmark

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

Full version game
(775.71 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Track down your missing twin in Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward. The only trace of your missing twin is the necklace he never took off…and a swampland address. Follow the clues to an abandoned hotel and unravel a mystery of necromancy and more in this eerie hidden-object puzzle adventure classic!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Concept Art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 854 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition 3.9 5 83 83
Disappointed I was disappointed in the number of puzzles because I did not like most of them, so I would have to wait for the Skip to charge which was aggravating. Other than the puzzles I didn't like, I would still recommend this game. It was pretty enjoyable but not one of my favorites. April 22, 2013
A fun game An interesting twist on Lovecraft though it could have been a bit creepier. June 16, 2012
haunted hotel Charles Dexter Ward Well i was so surprised with this game , I did not buy the CE but I am glad it was so short, I am not the fastest with games but I completed this game in 2 hrs. The graphics were ok I found them grainy in places, interesting story but did not draw me in, I found it seemed as if it would but then it just carried on with the next scene . Ho's were ok quite clear easy to find , the puzzles were easy and no hint needed , the only disappointment mainly was the amount of going back and forth to retrieve items, no map so had to keep back tracking. quite an easy game with the hint butto giving you all you needed to know, did not use often but with no map the hint guided you, i would recommend this game but only if you can't handle long games. July 20, 2012
Not bad at all! Well, same story different day, but not a bad game. I have two of the other Haunted Hotel games and really liked them, but not sure about this one yet. Graphics not bad, HOGs clear and quite simple, game play nice, hint system nice, games not dificult but take a little time, SG could be a bit more specific (when you are on one side of the property and need to get to the other without a map to see where you are in the first place, it's a bit difficult). Might want to also check the spelling and grammar in the SG...got a few errors. I think this would have been much better with a little more sound. Half the time there isn't even any music and gets quite boring just running around. Didn't care for the long blackout pause between scenes either. Was that the haunted part? I saw nothing haunted in the demo, just an old run down house. Hopefully there is more as the game progresses. Had 27 minutes left on my demo time, so not quite sure how long this is, since there is no hint in the SG. All in all, I did like the game, but not love it. It didn't grab my attention like the other HH games did. Mostly because it was way to quiet and didn't build you up to the next step. I will put this one in the puddle and think about it a while before deciding if I want to purchase and add it to my pond of games. Thanks for the reviews. June 10, 2012
Fun Although I thought this was a fun game. I would have changed the ending and in the bonus round as well. Just saying.... June 13, 2012
Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition A nice treat for fans of HP Lovecraft--like me! :) Plot: Your brother, Charles Dexter Ward, has gone missing after inheriting a mysterious hotel. You travel to the hotel and search its grounds in an effort to find him, but instead find journal entries from another missing man, a reporter who was investigating the previous owner of the hotel, a man named Joseph Curwen, who never seemed to age. The further you search, the more horrible facts you stumble upon, and you realize that Charles's inheritance has come with a nasty price--and you'd better save him before it's too late. First off, this game was a little buggy. If you have an Intel HD video card, you might need to play in windowed mode or it'll keep crashing. (This is a known bug; see the tech support forum.# This was the case with me; the entire screen displayed all right in windowed mode, so this didn't bother me #except when I would accidentally scroll over the taskbar and bring up preview popups of other windows#. There were also a few VERY weird visual glitches involving the smoke which appears in the game; at least twice, instead of the roiling smoke, I was treated to what looked like overlapping square sections of the background slowly rotating in unison. o_o; That was very strange, and freaked me out a little. This glitch cleared up when I exited the game and reentered it, and didn't interfere with gameplay in any other way. Readers familiar with HP Lovecraft and his story "The Case Of Charles Dexter Ward" will probably enjoy the game more than others #the title of the game was the reason it drew my interest in the first place!#, though the game takes LOTS of liberties with the plot, so that the two are virtually different stories. I'd strongly recommend players to read the story as well, even if just to see what you're missing. #I was a tad disappointed that the wells/pits from the story didn't appear in the game!# As well, they took liberties with the town of Dunwich, which in Lovecraft's work is hilly country in Massachusetts, whereas this story takes place in a swamp. #They never outright say it's in Dunwich, but an item addressed to the main character carries this name.# It was a treat just to see the name of that horrid town, though. ^_^ There are enough other references that make the game enjoyable to those familiar with the story as well. #Guess who that is in the opening screen/loading graphic?# Gameplay is pretty standard, with non-interactive hidden-object scenes and minigames/puzzles. I had to skip a few of the latter, though not to any infuriating degree...except in the bonus gameplay. The bonus chapter focuses FAR more on puzzles than hidden objects, and I found myself getting terribly frustrated and impatient and ended up skipping games rather than putting any reasonable effort into at least trying to solve them first. By then I was just getting too fed up to handle so many puzzles at once. ;_; Aside from the minigames, the content of the bonus chapter was enjoyable as it includes yet more Lovecraftian name-dropping, though the ending is abrupt and seems to point to a #so far nonexistent# sequel. The graphics are gloomy but all right. The cutscenes, on the other hand, are fantastic. They're actual footage filmed in an old grainy style and feature lots of eerie scenery; if they were to be from a movie, I'd definitely go watch it. They were perhaps the best part of the game. The soundtrack/music is gorgeous as well, though certain songs and sound effects would occasionally cut out or start/end at odd times in a slightly buggy and jarring manner. Oh--the sound effects when first entering and exploring the hotel were perhaps the scariest part--with every sudden creak or bang I'd find myself jumping! The creepy "invocation" you need to play later in the game probably takes second place; I couldn't bear staying in the room listening to it for long. The collector's edition features the bonus chapter, soundtrack, concept art, and a few brief "making of" clips...the latter are silent, with no dialogue, but were pretty interesting to watch anyway, especially seeing how the cutscenes were filmed. There are also achievements. This game is part of a series #a few of which I own but have yet to play#, but seems to stand alone from the rest, so it's not necessary to have played the others. As I mentioned, a reading of the story that inspired the game could be enlightening. I feel the game could've been a bit creepier if it had stuck more to the original story, though perhaps plot constraints made that impossible; Lovecraft can be difficult to translate into popular media. Despite the artistic liberties taken, and the mild bugginess, and even despite the annoying minigames toward the end, I'd recommend this--even if only to introduce some hapless new souls to the horror that is Lovecraft! #Oh, and speaking of Lovecraft...yes, I noticed that Charles looks suspiciously like him. ^_^ # I obtained my copy of "Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition" directly through Big Fish Games. The game folder takes up 829MB on my hard drive. I ran this game on Windows 7 with two bugs/errors, one of them known #the Intel HD video card crash, and the occasional buggy "smoke" graphics, mentioned above# but no other problems. August 26, 2014
A good trial game, but not great I was allowed only fourteen minutes of the trial game, and I am not an expert player. The game itself was just okay, but the English was bad. I wish the developers of these games would take the initiative to have them vetted by a native English speaker before releasing them. It really detracts from the experience when I find myself correcting their usage, or worse yet, deleting the game because of the language problems. (I am not referring to British English as opposed to American English, but incomplete sentences that appear to be pidgen English.) Try the game for yourself, but I will not be purchasing this one. June 10, 2012
This One Didn't Grab Me. As I said with my rating, I found nothing special here. It's not a bad game, but it's just the same old thing. Running around doing the same tasks as every other HOG. This game is a little more old school than most of the newer HOGS. I'd really like to see more thought go into these games. I find it annoying to collect a screw driver, crow bar, or the like, use it once and lose it, only to need it 3 scenes later. Come on! Give me a backpack and make me lug the tools (and remember that I have them) through the entire game! Don't even get me started on "oilers" and rusty hinges! But I digress.....This game's just another dreary HOG, nothing more, nothing less. June 11, 2012
The game was OK This game had the same ole same ole storyline: relative kidnapped/disappeared and evil is causinf havoc in the house/motel/town, etc. The visuals were not the at the level of other CE games. The puzzles were okay and but again the visual portion wasn't really up to snuff. I usually purchase the CE's without a second thought, but I reall think I should have saved my money on this one until it was offered as a regular game. June 10, 2012
Heartbreak Hotel What a disappointment. I had expected this game to be less pedestrian and more challenging than the demo would indicate. I was truly bored. I guess it didn't help that I just finished Final Cut - a game that is complex and intriguing. While I agree with other reviewers that the game is a progression from the past installments in this group, the leap just isn't enough for me. Even for the beginning player, there are far better options than this. June 10, 2012
51-60 of 83 Reviews <<prev 456789next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward Collector's Edition

Enter the abandoned hotel and find your missing twin!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.