Bookmark

Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Dive into an epic journey as a museum owner in pursuit of an undead pirate who has kidnapped your daughter in Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart! You quickly realize that the undead pirate is entangled in a tragic, centuries-old love story, and wants to resurrect his mistress with the youth’s life force. You must act quickly to save the young girl's life before it is too late. Travel through haunting seas, ruined fortresses, and bone covered catacombs as you uncover secrets from the past!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 722 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart 4.7 5 150 150
Not a 5 star Big Fish game This is my first review, but I've played a ton of BF games. I'm a seasoned PC adventure gamer and try to take that into consideration when reviewing these games, as they are inteneded to be quite casual for the most part. That said, I'm only half-way through and wished I spent the money on a different collector's edition. This review is to give fair warning to anyone thinking about buying it who is more experienced with adventure games. It's extremely casual, i.e. way too easy. The puzzles are very basic and offer little challenge what-so-ever and you are basically hand-held through most of the game, with very little brain power required to figure out what to do with inventory items, etc. There are also a ton of HO scenes, more than I care for. They do give you a mahjong option, which is ok if you like that game and get tired of the HO. I like voice acting, as it can be a nice addition to games, but I found it to be poor in this game. Not technically poor, but bad acting poor. The woman's voice is annoying and way over dramatic. But the visuals are good and the game is very colorful, so no complaints there. Also the storyline is decent. Even though I'm not done, it seems like it will be a rather long game, which is a plus. Summary: This is one of the more casual BF games (really easy) with a lot of HO scenes. Wait for it to come out in the regular edition. June 16, 2012
Great Story and Graphics, no Challenge in the Game Play The graphics, sound, cut scenes and story are all great. The creepy guy guarding the chest was outstanding! The HOS are junk piles and are somewhat interactive (move knife to apple to get a peeled apple). While some scenes were dark, the items were easy for me to find. If you get stuck, there is a very nice alternative. You can switch to a game of Mahjong. Great idea! There are maps, which you need to find and then can refer to. While not interactive, the maps do indicate where actions are needed. There is a good bit of walking about and many very interesting locations to explore. Game play is typical--nothing inventive, IMHO. I played in the easier mode, so there were sparkles, but there are more difficult modes. In most ways, this game is wonderful, but there was nothing really challenging. Not the HOS or the puzzles. If you want something that pleases the eye (morbidly, I mean) and is relaxing, this could be the game for you. It didn't do much for me. February 5, 2013
could of been longer. This is fun game. The story kind of breaks your heart. Great story and graphics.. Even love the break it gives you on the side. Fun game. June 21, 2012
All about the storyline If you really like a heavy storyline, this is the game for you. I really liked this game at first, but it got to the point where I had to use the hint constantly just to find where to go next. Lots of to and fro. July 16, 2012
nightmares from the deep its fun liked it loved it it was September 19, 2012
Just Okay...Nothing Special I sorta enjoyed this game but had some issues with it, though nothing too major. First thing was it is way too short. And it Seems that it really never went anywhere. The story was just so so, but it was enough to keep you interested just the same. A lot of back and forth, but there is a Map to help you with that which is good. The story made sense and really that is half of the battle. I thought the games were not challenging enough, but I enjoyed them. I never once wanted to stop playing, but it went on the back burner a few times to go to other games that kept me more intrigued. I will play the Expert version and them delete as I will most likely not play again after. If you don't have to pay a lot for it then sure! September 13, 2013
i will give it another go! i am fairly new to games-i played my first game ever(literally my first game ever!) just 8 months ago. this was one of the first ones i bought. i wasnt impressed. it seems overly dark and muddy/murky which didnt add anything good to the game. i thought it was boring and, to be honest, i didnt finish it. i played maybe an hour then bought another game. however-this game has such good reviews that i am going to try it again. hey-you cant all be wrong! maybe i will get into it this time. July 27, 2013
yet another gloomy game I don't know about others but personally right now I'd buy anything with a bit of sunshine and fun in it :) All those Hidden Objects lately come with dark colors, morbid music, no color to talk about, et cetera ad nauseam. This is becoming boring. Even though the game itself is not that bad, it gets lost among half a hundred of other ones that look exactly the same. August 29, 2013
Great dev disappoints with poor gameplay TITLE?Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart VERSION?Standard Edition (demo) DEVELOPER?Artifex Mundi GENRE?Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure (supernatural adventure) STORYLINE?As curator of the Caribbean Museum, you've recently acquired the remains and relics of the notorious Captain Remington, scourge of the seas. You rather stupidly reunite him with his demonic amulet, only to have him reanimate as an undead pirate and kidnap your annoyingly helpless yet bossy daughter in order to resurrect his mistress. So, off you go to save her while she screams, "Help, Mom!" and struggles uselessly. I'm thinking you shelter her way too much. OVERVIEW?I really dislike giving a low rating to a game with such lush graphics and animation, but it seems that Artifex Mundi spent most of its time on that and very little on storyline and gameplay. And I just yesterday gave a five-star rating to their game Abyss: The Wraiths of Eden, a rating I rarely give. While this game is a visual feast, it is the Sahara for the experienced gamer, I'm afraid. GAMEPLAY?Standard adventure intermingled with lots of HOs and a few incredibly easy puzzles. Lots of backtracking. The HOs are partially interactive (use a machete to crack a coconut, move one item to find another, etc.). INTERFACE?Journal: Keeps notes and lists objectives. Map: Shows your location and areas where you have actions available, but it's not a jump map?and it should be. Hints: You won't need any. Specials: None in the SE. Strategy Guide: Not applicable. TECHNICAL?No issues. GRAPHICS?Stunningly rendered 3D backgrounds and objects. Good use of color and texture. Eye candy. CUTSCENES?Breathtakingly cinematic when they don't include characters. Characters are 3D posers with fairly lifelike movement, and lip synching which isn't lifelike. MUSIC?Music style and performance added to the storyline and mood of the game, as it usually does in Artifex Mundi's games. They always do a great job with the audio. SOUND?Ambient and game sounds very appropriate to the game theme. VOICEOVER?I'm sorry to say that the voiceovers were just awful. The museum curator came across as an irritatingly overprotective mother who reacted with shock every time she saw her daughter, but never reacted at all to talking undead pirates. Her daughter seemed a naive, sheltered, spoiled brat. Captain Remington was a dead ringer for Captain Barbosa from the Pirates of the Caribbean series. And his "crew" spoke a mishmash of low class British accents. The only awesomeness was the decaying guardian of the doubloon chest. SUMMARY?While I appreciate that Artifex Mundi is stepping up the graphics and animation, they need to remember they're writing games, not movies. Had they spent more time on the storyline, which was weak, and on gameplay, which was beginner-level at best, this game could have been a five-star game. As it stands, I can't recommend it unless you're home sick and feel like a really easy game that's full of eye candy and you happen upon it as a Daily Deal. And I can't give it more than two stars, and it only gets those because of the graphics, animation, and music. February 27, 2013
BACK & FORTH WASTE OF TIME I hated this game. I gave it a chance, I really did, in spite of the blue/gray/brown muddiness of the scenes, the childishly easy mini games, dreary HOS and the monotonous music. But after being given a map which was useless (it shows where you're at but does not allow jumping) and running back and forth one too many times, I uninstalled it asap and moved on. June 14, 2013
141-150 of 150 Reviews <<prev 1112131415next

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart

Dive into an epic journey as a museum owner in pursuit of an undead pirate who has kidnapped your daughter in Nightmares from the Deep: The Cursed Heart!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.