Bookmark

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers! When Evil comes for the people you love, what will you do? That moment of reckoning has arrived for Ethan Black and he needs your help! Guide Ethan in this Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game as he explores a decimated city, searches for clues, and peels back the layers of a chilling supernatural mystery in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Concept Art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 597 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition 4.6 5 197 197
Well - it WAS good! At this writing there are 58 5-star ratings. To that I say "wow!" Don't think I've ever seen that on BFG, but I'm young to the review boards. :o) I read the reviews and said, "well hey, if it's all that I'm going to the demo!" I liked the demo so much I got the CE. Here are some things I found throughout the game: gorgeous, crisp, clear, EXTREMELY detailed graphics. A+ for me. Voice overs were very, very well done. Cut scenes were excellent. (even the HOG scenes seems to start off as a cut scene the way you were pulled into it - that was nice) Story line pulled you right in, and you wanted to go through and find out what was next and finish. Music was appropriate and set the atmosphere well. The various sounds (clicks, turns of screws/bolts, doors, etc.) were also very good. Going back and forth (which there was a lot of) was easy - the scene switching was very good and smooth. Never got hung up or frozen. Comments when you tried to do something that wasn't right (open something with the wrong tool) were sometimes funny, and overall appropriate and helpful. The ending was complete and made sense. I can't express how important that is. Length of the game was great. Fourteen chapters & four bonus chapters too. Excellent. And the bonus chapters are not cheesy. I've played some that are and you could tell that they were just barely done to make it worth the CE rating, but really, they were just very badly put together as if an afterthought. Not the case here. The strategy guide (SG) was very good. Very detailed and very long - I know it had to take some serious time to put together all by itself! I also liked the attention to detail - that things moved in both the main scenes and the HOG scenes (ribbons/table cloths moved with the wind, there were running mice and sleeping kitties that peeked at you with one eye, etc.). I wasn't overly fond of the scarecrow thingy, but even so...still good. Things I did not like: The way people aggressively popped up in your face - did not like that. Very annoying & sometimes quite unexpected. Perhaps that was intentional as mild jump-scare factor. There were some inconsistencies that I noticed, but I'll only mention one. The rest followed suit: At one point when you go into Leonard's house and you look up through the skylights the comment reads something about it the moon being so bright that you don't even need a light. Well, you just came in from the pouring rainstorm and if you step back out the door, you're back in it. How is it a clear night so that the "moon is so bright"? There were small things like that throughout the game, as well as thinking that logically a screwdriver would work to pry something, and in fact, only a file would - which you had to go find. Admittedly very small things, and if they only happened once or twice, it would be ok in a game of this size. However, these types of inconsistencies proved to occur more than was acceptable. But it is a very large game and so something that, while annoying, can be forgiven. One thing that was not so great was that the SG didn't pick back up where you left off, but you had to choose which chapter you were in - well, who knows? Honestly, you are so immersed in the game, and chapters aren't delineated, how would you know where you are when you have to go to the SG? Having it start where you left off would've been good. Although I didn't have to use it a whole lot, the times I did I had to hunt and peck through the chapters to find my place each time. I am working my way through the bonus chapters now - have only just started and am chapter 1. It's good that it's a prequel so you can see what brought about the chain of events you just went through. I also like to find out what happened after such stories - find out how people fared after their experiences. Either choice would have been great for me, so no complaints on the bonus chaps. I must say this is a tremendous game that obviously took quite a bit of time and care to make. Kudos to the developers! I was very pleased by the game (little piddlin' things aside) and would very much recommend it. March 12, 2012
Well made and enjoyable, with lovely artwork This is a beautiful, well-made game with a good length and interesting, if not ground-breaking, storyline. There are different levels of play to choose from, and the puzzles are varied and not too difficult. You play as Ethan, who must rescue his fiance and his father, while solving the mystery of the Masked Ones and saving the town and townsfolk from destruction. This game felt very nostalgic to me. Perhaps it was the time setting; you're not going to be looking for cell phones and flash drives in this game. I think it also was the overall "feel" of the game too. It reminded me of some of the really well made games that I played when I first found Hidden Object games. I liked the cut scenes in the storyline. I felt they added to the mystery of the game, but they were skippable for those who don't like them. Overall it was a good game, but not a ground-breaking game. I figured out the mystery way before my character did, and there was a lot of to-ing and fro-ing, but that didn't distract from the fun whole process. The bonus content was fun, but was more of a prequel rather than a continuation of the story, which I always like. The length was good, and the game felt complete and satisfying at the end. This was a really good, fun, classic hidden object game. You won't go wrong with this one. March 11, 2012
Well Done I wish there had been more puzzles and I felt that the first two thirds of the game were a little too easy, but it was a fun game overall with a good story and an excellent ending to the main game. The bonus chapter is not necessary to the story but it is also well done, apart from the fact that you have to replay all of the HOS's. The cut scenes were very good, but the atmosphere didn't draw me in to the game like a five star game would, so I only gave it four. May 13, 2014
Solid Adventure Leaves You Wanting More Dark Strokes is a fantastic hidden object game, so let's just get that out of the way first. The plot is excellent (very Faustian, indeed# and I'd highly recommend not accepting a ticket for ship 666 any time soon. I found the adventure compelling, and I thought the developers did a great job of keeping you moving through the various locations and giving you ideas on what to do next without making it all incredibly obvious. The game does feature voice acting, though not enough of it for my tastes, and a couple of the actors are a bit flat. Visuals are a bit of a mixed bag. The cutscenes are really well done #and there are more than a few) and I liked the painted quality hinted at in the game's title. The hidden object scenes I found to be a bit of a hodgepodge with little difficulty collecting objects barring some lighting issues. I think overall I would describe the graphics as uneven; much better games out there in that regard. Sound was overall pretty good; the music was varied enough and fit in nicely with the game's theme. Difficulty was just right for me. Couple interesting twists on some puzzles you're by now very familiar with, and some will force you to spend some time on them. Nothing impossible though. Hint button charges rather quickly even on expert level. Most of the time you'll have a decent idea what to do. Only once or twice was I longing for sparkles, which you can turn on in the easier setting. On the negative side, this is a sparse collector's edition and I regret buying it that way. Extras are the usual batch of who cares and an extra chapter that, while advancing the story a bit, falls back on the same hidden object scenes AND the same puzzles from the main story. How about a little effort here, guys? There are also no collectibles in the game or anything of that kind, so replayability is low. Small touches in the game are very well done and make this one stand out, however. Clicking on objects brings up comments even when they aren't integral to the game, and it's exciting. Overall, a few tweaks might have made this a perfect gaming experience, but you could do far worse. March 20, 2012
hos but more! love this game, it ran on quickly at the first scene! very good artwork, music too. I only plaid the demo but I think I'll buy it. one thing I don't like, the characters don't move around enough, they look like dead dummies, stay still too much. March 10, 2012
Great, But Bad Ending Overall it was great, except it had such a bad ending, bonus gameplay one included. Play to find out why... January 3, 2013
Met Expectations I'm very picky with HOG and I would have to say I recommend the game. I don't really do reviews, however I find myself checking reviews for honest answers before purchasing a game. So, hopefully this will help someone else decide as well. There were times in the game where I got stuck and wasn't sure what to do. I also felt that I would do what the game expected, but perhaps a sequence was off. It was still workable though. It was challenging. I'm more the type that enjoys the actual HOG parts and the storyline..figuring things out. I'm not a big fan of HOG puzzles. These weren't too bad in the game. It was very entertaining and graphics/sound were great. May 2, 2012
another beauty beautiful, fun, very easy game...one of those "dark and gloomy night" games...even the music was pretty cool in this one. if you want details, read the other reviews...if you wanna have fun...go play! :) March 9, 2012
ok, hidden object game and nice play colourful nice ending, like the explorings and themes March 9, 2012
Try it out! Remids me of Dark Tales series. An interesting detective plot and the artwork is good. Not the best but still fun. Give it a try! December 3, 2014
161-170 of 197 Reviews <<prev 151617181920next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.