Bookmark

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers! When Evil comes for the people you love, what will you do? That moment of reckoning has arrived for Ethan Black and he needs your help! Guide Ethan in this Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game as he explores a decimated city, searches for clues, and peels back the layers of a chilling supernatural mystery in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Concept Art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 597 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition 4.7 5 192 192
A Superb Game! An overall fantastic game, in my opinion! A very long main game, a healthy length in the bonus chapter, lots of locations to visit, lots of to'ing & fro'ing, which I love, moody music, great graphics, not a junkpile HidObj game, nice voiceovers, an intriguing storyline, one NOT set in a sanitarium or haunted house, for a change, easy-to-moderate in difficulty puzzles, and a creepy and wet! atmosphere, to boot! Some may find the lack of "supporting characters", and to a degree, as well as, the game's length to make the game a bit dull. I for one did not. The focus on the main 3 characters was perfect enough and didn't need a lot of extra people milling about mucking up the game. I especiall] loved the "progressive" HidObj scenes. Once you find an object, if you come back to the same scene, the previous found items are NOT in the scene. THAT'S how a repeatedly visited HidObj should work! Heck. Even the title screen was different from the beginning of the game compared to the end. That's the kind of attention to detail I give props to. Good job, Devs!!!! I give the game 5 stars, but do have 2 issues that tarnish those stars, just a tad: 1 - I found the music to be moody, brooding, and perfect for the game. I love the in-game music for many of these HidObj/Adventure games. However, yet again, I cannot download the music. Very frustrating!! 2 - I would've liked to have known more about the shadowy villian of the game. His origins, his motives, his background, etc., etc.. Maybe it will be explored more in a future game. In the end, it's just a trifle of a complaint. All in all, despite my minor quibbles, this was a great game! Well worth the price. While some reviewers have stated they've not been impressed, they have also stated they are in the minority, which is always bound to happen; No game will be great to everyone. Still, take a chance on this one. It may be a game you will be very suprised you like. March 15, 2012
Superb! Another Hit! Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Wow! The beginning cutscene was thrilling. I felt right away I was going enjoy this game. Although, the game is the all to familiar approach to storytelling, the characters were believable and engaging, environments elaborate. At times it seems the charachters jump into the scene out of nowhere. Oh, hello where did you come from? The overall, storyline was well done and unfolded slowly. The HO's are clues to help solve puzzles. They are well put together and did not frustrate me. Mini-games were fairly easy and enjoyable. Music fit the game theme. Probably the only thing I didn't like about the game was the spot the differences puzzle. Since I didn't get penalized for over-clicking, it was bearable. But then that is just me; other fishies may enjoy this type of puzzle. I have to say, this is now my favorite game so far this year. A must try fishies. March 11, 2012
Right mix for me This is the funnest game I've played in awhile and will probably play again. As I have played I keep asking myself why is this so fun? It has a great storyline. It's very much like reading a good mystery and you want to play to the end to find out "who did it or what happened." You have your suspicions and theories but need to keep going to find out if they are right. The hidden object scenes are at a nice level of difficulty. Not too hard but not "overly cluttered" although I did have to laugh as did one earlier reviewer about the universal need for a crowbar! I really liked that I could "figure out things on my own" and that even going to different sites wasn't too big a leap. I bought the CE but was pleased that I probably could have been ok with the SE although this game is so fun that I really was glad to have the chance to play it on a weekend. It's appropriately long if you don't "cheat" . There is a logic to what you find which I appreciated and enjoyed. Great game. The music does not intrude, there are few triggers for those looking for "escape" and the graphics are so well done that at times I paused just to admire the artistry of them.Nice job! The HOG scenes are sublime. My only criticism is that the main character's comments especially at the beginning seemed anachronistic for his role especially given the foible of his wife. Otherwise, great game and a good one for anyone's collection. You got the "chemistry right" which is tough to do. Thanks for a weekend of fun. March 10, 2012
Loving it. I brought the CE immediately upon finishing the free trial. This is unusual for me, as I normally add games to a wish list and buy them when I am more financially flush. I actually knowingly went overdrawn on my credit card to purchase this one before next payday! I have used the hint button a couple of times and only needed the strategy guide once. I hate games where I wander around with a bag full of things and don?t have a clue what to do. This game had the odd moment like that, but on the whole it was free flowing and logical. I have enjoyed the mini games, skipped once or twice but I still enjoyed them very much. The storyline is great, the attention to detail and graphics are really fantastic and the music is good. I am really enjoying this game. I have been playing it for about five hours now. I like the longer games, as you feel like you are really getting your monies worth. One of the last games I brought The Witches Legacy was really enjoyable but I was disappointed and felt a bit ripped off at how short it was. I only have one issue with Sins of the Fathers and that is sometimes it is hard to use objects unless you are very precise. I don?t want to spoil the story for anyone, so I will only give one example: in the cathedral I knew I had to use the lighter to melt the wax on the lock. But it would not work. In the end I used the hint button and it told me to use the lighter, which was something that I had already guessed. In the end after a few different positionings the lighter worked. I just found it a little frustrating to use the hint to be told what I already knew. This occurred a number of times throughout the game. But apart from that little quibble, I highly recommended this game as a brilliant way to get through an otherwise boring, wet, cold and windy weekend! March 10, 2012
Finally a game with a story! Stunning graphics, good voice-overs, lovely cut-scenes. Catered for wide screen, and ran smoothly. The hidden object games, and puzzles were easy and offered nothing new. Also the hidden object games had inner tasks, but only for the first half of the game, which was odd. The were no achievements, or bonus items to find. But what this game lacked in challenges, it certainly made up for in storyline. Finally, a game where you actually wanted to know what happened next (albeit a little sad). The game was an okay length, and kept you entertained the whole way. The bonus chapter was a prequel, and tied in smoothly, but not essential to the story. The bonus chapter was also a passable length. I never used the hint button, but the strategy guide was easy to use - the only downfall was that each time you opened it, it took you to the beginning. Definitely give this game the thumbs up! March 9, 2012
Excellent game! really like this game! Graphics are really good & level of play is enjoyable. I definitely recommend this game! March 8, 2012
if you've never played HOPAs before, THIS is the game you want in this hidden object puzzle mystery, you are Ethan Black. you and your soon-to-be bride, Clair, have postponed your wedding and have just arrived in your hometown to visit your father, a prominent judge, on short notice. suddenly, Clair disappears, kidnapped by a violent group known as "the Faceless Ones". as you uncover clues to Clair's disappearance, you discover your father is next on the list: this group has targeted him for murder -- why? you also find that Clair and your father are somehow connected; but how? in this stunning game of the supernatural, your task is to locate and rescue Clair and your father before it's too late. graphics: absolutely stunning. the artwork is beautifully detailed, carefully designed and includes some scenes with truly innovative angles. the hidden object scenes are interactive, the objects are crisp, not fuzzy, and the scenes are fun -- challenging but not TOO difficult. this game is so well-planned: i especially love how the objects that are added to your inventory "tell" you what you should be doing next. there are almost as many puzzles and mini-games as hidden objects scenes -- just the way i like it! further, it's not difficult to figure out what is the goal for each of these puzzles but at least some of them are novel and they do require some thought to solve -- just the way i like it! cutscenes (scripted only) are interesting and actually develop the story. music and sound effects: the musical score is understated, minimalistic, evocative and haunting -- perfect for setting the mood for this sombre and engrossing game. the sound effects are fresh and some of them are really amazing -- how'd the developers get them? unfortunately, this game doesn?t have any voiceovers. storyline: i thought this type of story -- family secrets, kidnapping and the supernatural evil themes -- had been done to death. but it's a real credit to the developers' care in plot development that i found myself absolutely engaged and wanting to know what happens next! gameplay: this game has two play modes: casual and expert. there is no overclick penalty, and on casual mode, hints recharge after 2 minutes and all puzzles and mini-games have skip buttons after 2 minutes. hints can also be used during the game and are actually useful, too. the game provides a (rather useless) map and a journal as well as having an embedded strategy guide (although it does not follow you through the game so you have to click through to your chapter). i found the white screens that appear as auditory cutscenes to be extremely annoying. the sound effects only made me more anxious -- was this the developers? intention? perhaps, although this may have been a clever way to hide slow scene transitions. my interaction: one hour demo, casual mode. i purchased this game. despite the dark theme, this game is absolutely captivating. it's a near-perfect blend of carefully-rendered graphics, gorgeous music, powerful story telling, interesting characters, and more-or-less smooth gameplay. i HIGHLY recommend this game. if you've never played a hidden object puzzle game before, then THIS is the game you should get because it is so amazing at so many levels -- it will form the standard against which you compare and judge all others. many thanks, big fish, for this bringing this gorgeous game to us! June 22, 2012
Developers - look and learn! I can't understand why - at time of writing - this game is still at #2. For me this game has everything. It is very well produced, beautifully balanced, it's long, has good puzzles, and an ending that leaves the player feeling the game journey was so worth while. Too often a good game is ruined for me by an ending that just whimpers and fades out ? as though the developer ran out of steam or money. Not this game! Developers ? look and learn! Do yourselves a favour. Play in the hardest mode, don't use the hint button and don't skip games and you will experience the great satisfaction of completing a great game in the way it was meant to be played. I've been an Adventure Gamer for almost 25 years now and this game is on a par with the best of them. March 19, 2012
This is an awesome game! This game is the best one yet! Wonderful storyline, great graphics, simply amazing! It's the first game I've played in a long time that makes me want to follow the story itself as much as play the puzzles! I wish the dialog was actually spoken (but considering how most of the time spoken dialogs tend to be poorly done in games like this, maybe that's not such a bad thing?). The puzzles are challenging and fun to figure out. Everything about this game is fun! I am not in a hurry to finish this one--it's simply that much fun to play! March 10, 2012
What can I say............. I'm not going to reiterate what so many others have said so perfectly. I absolutely LOVE this game!!!!!!!!!!!! I give high ratings for this one. I really appreciate that it played so smoothly. Beautifully designed, illustrated and musicly orchestrated. I was really, really, really in awe of the art work. Well done! Can't wait for the next one. Please take all the time in the world ( but it's going to be hard to wait)if it means the next one will be of the same caliber. O.K I'm done gushing. Thanks devs and B.F. March 10, 2012
21-30 of 192 Reviews <<prev 2345...20next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father Collector's Edition

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.