Bookmark

Howlville: The Dark Past

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Discover the secret of Rachel's past in Howlville: The Dark Past! Many years ago an artifact was found in a mine near the small town of Howlville. The government asked Dr. Joseph and a group of scientists to examine it. Something went wrong and the experiments were halted and classified. The town closed off. Since then nobody knows what happened to Dr. Joseph. Fifteen years later his daughter Rachel is on the verge of solving the mystery, but somebody is doing everything possible to keep her from succeeding. Help find Rachel's father and save the world from the looming catastrophe!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1285 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Howlville: The Dark Past

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Howlville: The Dark Past

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Howlville: The Dark Past 3.6 5 113 113
LOTS OF HOS AND PUZZLES Good graphics. Nice ratio of HOS to puzzles. Lots of HOS which are uncrowded, interactive, and objects are identifiable. Also lots of puzzles, which vary ? most are rather easy to intermediate. One puzzling thing, once you get into the hotel kitchen, it?s odd that you can?t go elsewhere. You have to go in the front door. And once you get upstairs, there?s only one hotel door. And why do I need to find a knife when I just played a HOS that had one. Game makes it easy to not get lost. One fast player said there are 5 chapters and he played the 2 allowed in the demo in 40 minutes, so only got another 25 minutes. I?m a smell the roses person and I didn?t finish the demo in the hour, so unless you?re a hurry-type person, you should get average playtime. July 10, 2013
Good Game Play Story Could Of Been Better - Review Of Completed Game Story: You take on the role of Rachel who must find her father who went missing 15 years ago due to an experiment that went totally wrong so back to Howlville you go to try and solve this mystery. There is widescreen at least for me. I had no problems here. No tech issues. There is voice overs 5 CHAPTERS 2 play modes: I played the harder mode which has no sparkles or black bar tips. Hint is helpful outside of HOS but slow on charge up. There is a journal which holds notes and some clues on how to solve some of the puzzles. HOS: There are quite a few but I thought they were spread out pretty good and they are interactive and sometimes have to "move" an item to get to some of them. No black bar tips here either as you have to figure out on your own but I didn't find it difficult at all. Sometimes a little "mini game" will pop up on some of them to get the item(s) you need. PUZZLES: Most the usual run of the mill such as rotate rings, repeat sequence, connect the gears, etc., but did come across some different ones as well. Most I found doable but had to skip a few of these. Skip is slow on charge up. OVERALL IMPRESSION: The story started out with some promise but once I got more into the game I thought this could of been worked on some more. Didn't care so much for the "monster" as I thought it was dumb. The voice overs and graphics are really good. I also enjoyed the game play is the reason I played this all the way through. I was happy to see no black bar tips and let me figure out on my own. I thought this had a nice balance of HOS, puzzles, and adventure the traveling back/forth. While there was no map I never got lost in the game. GAME LENGTH: This was just a little over 4 hours for me which was just fine by me. No complaints on game length. May be more or less for you. Overall 4 stars from me. I enjoyed it overall but I thought the story could of been better. Thanks Big Fish and developer for a good game here. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself. July 10, 2013
Excellent for hidden object lovers This is definitely a game for hidden object lovers; N-Tri Studios has created some great ones in this game. There are not only excellent interactive items, many of the objects are well blended, hidden behind other objects, very small & some of the H0 have mini games within the scene. Even though the scenes are really nothing but junk piles they are put together so well that it doesn?t matter. The mini puzzles are the usual types, open locks, pipes, jigsaws, circles, Simon says, etc. & they vary between easy & moderately difficult, there is a skip button. There are no options for game play, just the one mode with light blue sparkles for the H0s & some subtle glints for active areas. The hint recharges at 30 seconds & keep an eye out for bulbs in the shape of the hint; if you click on one it adds to the number of the hints you hold. If you have more than one you won?t need to wait for it to recharge. You get a notebook & an objective list although I didn?t use either, some nice light melodic music (except when the villain appears & the notes become discordant), no voiceovers, very crisp graphics & clear brightly coloured artwork. There isn?t really much of a story, the gameplay is pretty much lots of hidden objects with a few tasks & mini puzzles. I loved it because the H0s were so well put together & it took me around 3 hours to play. July 8, 2012
Good, but not great! "Howlville" was good, but not great. I couldn,t follow the storyline; it seemed disconnected and fragmented. The music was loud and tiresome. There were too many hidden object scenes. I thought the puzzles were difficult. Graphics were well done. The hint system was very helpful. I'll probably give this game another chance at some point and see if my perception changes. September 3, 2012
Mixed Feelings Great interactive HOS. Some outstanding puzzles and some tedious. Graphics and storyline were sub par. I enjoyed the HOS so much that I enjoyed the game even with the drawbacks. August 30, 2012
nice HO's in the same old story I found this game to be a bit average. it really didn't have anything that was new or refreshing. It does have some good artwork and there was more interactive stuff in the HO scenes that I liked. But for me at least.. the same old story of the experiment gone wrong and the crazy who wants all the power. .yawn.. was just not enough to win me over. This was a nice kill an afternoon or two type game but not overly original. Good HO's, some pretty graphics and kind odd an anti climactic ending. This one is kind of short and simple but okay as games go August 2, 2012
It's OK I can't say I agree with Rebr2009 about how wonderful this game is. I played the full hour and I am not impressed enough to buy it. It's not bad and I'm sure there will be other gamers who love it. I found the movements a bit jerky and the HO scenes were piles of junk. In my opinion, the previous game "Rite of Passage: The Perfect Show" was far superior. I REALLY enjoyed that one. To those of you who love this one - have fun! July 7, 2012
All The Right Ingredients, But... BASED ON COMPLETED GAME . Somehow, this game just doesn?t pull it off. And it?s a shame, because the developers have clearly put a lot of thought into it. Howlville is a HO Adventure, there are plenty of MINI-PUZZLES, and quite a few MINI-GAMES, offering an interesting VARIETY, and some were REALLY CLEVER, but they are second to the HO SCENES. The HO SCENES are LIST HOS, some interactive, some not. Some also include mini-puzzles. They are frequent, about 2 HOS to a LOCATION. They are WELL-DRAWN, CLEAR, REALISTIC & DETAILED. But they are not always easy. Many items are HIDDEN very WELL. They do not repeat. The game is a ?NO RETREAT? kind of ADVENTURE. Once you have finished with the 2 ? 3 LOCATIONS in the immediate area, you cannot go back to them. This saves a lot of backtracking, creates a more linear game and makes a MAP UNNECESSARY, but I did not find it any easier for that. I used more HINTS than I managed to collect, which is VERY unusual for me. COLLECTIBLE LIGHT BULBS give you extra hints, which can be used outside of the HOS. The STORY is (again) trying to discover the whereabouts of your MISSING FATHER, and is a SCI-FI adventure. Daddy was a SCIENTIST working on something that got out of control so the whole place was quarantined. Your obsession with finding him put you in a MENTAL ASYLUM, and you have just now ESCAPED and made your way to the site of Dad?s disappearance. As far as I?m concerned this is all GOOD STUFF, and should have maintained my interest without effort, but the game didn?t. It didn?t refer back to the story elements enough, so a lot of the time I was just playing for the sake of it, NOT INVOLVED and NOT FOLLOWING THE STORY. I also think VOICEOVERS would have helped, there was quite good MUSIC but little else. The final problem in terms of involvement is that there are CHARACTERS & MONSTERS whose presence really isn?t explained. They would have been much more exciting if we had some idea where this was all going. The STORY is CLARIFIED at the end of the game, but of course, that?s too late in the proceedings. So, a game with MANY GOOD FEATURES, but lacking the FUN FACTOR. If you?re into HO ADVENTURES, and a not much of a fan of HARD PUZZLES, this is probably worth a try. July 7, 2013
Game too short I bought this game because of the great reviews. In the demo I liked this game and I had a free game credit so I bought it. The HO scenes are well done and were just difficult enough, but the puzzles were too few and too easy. Some puzzles relied on trial and error guessing which I consider boring and uninspiring. Nice music though. This could be a great game with more challenging puzzles and definitely more length. Fun but too easy. Strange and confusing storyline. I recommend this for beginner puzzlers. July 14, 2012
I was disappointed in this game I really had high hopes for this game - it looked like fun. The graphics were great, and I liked the storyline, but I only played about 20 minutes of it, as I found there were just too many HOS. The HOS were very interactive, a lot of putting things together, opening this - to find that - to use to get that, with very little return. I was hoping that this would be more of an adventure/puzzle game, but it was really just another HOG. And all those HOS just took away from the story, I didn't want to be doing another involved HOS in the middle of a good part of the story. Not a game I would recommend, unless you LOVE your HOS. July 11, 2012
61-70 of 113 Reviews <<prev 56789...12next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Howlville: The Dark Past

Many years ago, mysterious events separated Rachel and her father. Help find him and save the world from catastrophe!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.