Bookmark

Howlville: The Dark Past

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $ 2.99 USD!

Discover the secret of Rachel's past in Howlville: The Dark Past! Many years ago an artifact was found in a mine near the small town of Howlville. The government asked Dr. Joseph and a group of scientists to examine it. Something went wrong and the experiments were halted and classified. The town closed off. Since then nobody knows what happened to Dr. Joseph. Fifteen years later his daughter Rachel is on the verge of solving the mystery, but somebody is doing everything possible to keep her from succeeding. Help find Rachel's father and save the world from the looming catastrophe!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 430 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Howlville: The Dark Past

Daily Deal

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Howlville: The Dark Past

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Howlville: The Dark Past 3.6 5 115 115
Super interactive game! Rachel's father disappeared in mysterious circumstances. Help her to solve this mystery. Good graphics and sound, many places to explore and always with lots to do. The game is challenging. I started playing in expert mode, then moved to the casual. In expert mode has nothing to help, no sparkles, and the cursor does not change to "little hand" where there is something to do. HOS, despite the large amount, are fun, they are very interactive, and even has minigames in them ! Minigames are fun too. Some are new and challenging, Tools needed to continue the game are always around, no back and forth tiring. I really liked and bought as soon as I finished the free trial! July 7, 2012
detailed art, thought-provoking puzzles, and compelling storyline ever since you were a young child, you've been living in the shadow of your father's mysterious disappearance. in this hidden object puzzle mystery, you are rachel, and you've been trying to find your lost father for years. he was a scientist who disappeared fifteen years ago whilst examining a strange object discovered in a mine near the small town with the crazy name, Howlville. but during his investigations, something strange happened. as a result, the town was evacuated, no one is allowed inside and even its existence was classified as top secret. but rachel is determined to find him and to solve the mystery of what happened so long ago. graphics: gorgeous, detailed artwork. most hidden object scenes had minigames or puzzles that must be solved to complete the hidden object scene. many of the hidden object scenes were cluttered, although most items had some at least some relevance to the story instead of being random junk included in the scene. i was especially pleased by the interactivity of the game -- for example, you can turn the ambulance radio on, although it doesn?t have anything to do with the storyline (as far as i could tell). such things made it fun to ?click around? whilst exploring. there are plenty of puzzles, but nothing unique. however, they were well-done, and were part of the story progression, instead of just being a random puzzle embedded into the game. music: minimalistic. sound effects were appropriate. voiceovers were quite nice. storyline: somewhat far-fetched, but nonetheless, carefully developed so the story does make sense. gameplay: there are two modes, expert (no sparkles, no hand-cursor) and casual (sparkles, hand-cursor). clicking on small light bulbs hidden in the game provide extra hints, although the hint button does recharge after a period of time (several minutes?). puzzles can be skipped. scene transitions were smooth and relatively quick. no cursor stutters or freezes. a journal is provided. there is no map, but really, this game is so well designed that there is little back-and-forth; the tools provided help guide you through the story. my interaction: one hour demo, expert and casual modes. perhaps it's the scientist aspect, but i really enjoyed this game and purchased it as soon as my free demo ended. it is a bit dark for younger kids, but this game is smart, engaging, and well-designed and will appeal to most people. highly recommended! July 7, 2012
Delightfully Difficult An excellent but challenging game that plays more like an adventure story with puzzle and hidden object elements. I played on expert mode which is actually difficult - as opposed to merely removing sparkles as might be expected. When you need to use hints to get past the first scene, you're either going to love it, or dread it. I bought it right away. One of the first differences I noticed from usual games of this type was that the cursor did not change to a hand/gears etc. You really have to figure out what to do, which may not be immediately obvious. I don't know if this is also the case with the casual mode. Most scenes are interactive in some way - not just the hidden object scenes, but throughout the story - perhaps you need to push some junk aside to find an item, or pull a loose thread to unravel something and so on. Something I found innovative was a bar/gauge in the hidden object scenes that monitors misclicks so you can avoid the penalty by being careful. The object scenes are challenging but the items are clearly drawn, it's not obvious how to find some items (perhaps they are in a bag missing a zipper, or you need to shuffle some papers covering them, or you have to catch that moving beetle with a glass jar). Because the cursor doesn't change, you have to click on items to see if you can pick them up. It makes the scenes much more interesting to solve, in my opinion. I love the artwork! It has that kind of painted realism look that really immerses the player in a fantasy story (this one set in modern times). Definitely try this if you are up for a challenge. Sometimes you just want a game to relax to, and this is not that - but if you want something engrossing that tickles your brain cells and takes your mind off your day, you've found it. Usual story - find a missing relative (your dad) in an abandoned location (town). It begins with a vehicle (ambulance) driven recklessly on a stormy night and your first task is to find your way inside. It's well done though with good voice-overs. High quality SE that promises to be immersing and challenging. July 7, 2012
WOWEEE!! what a beauty!! Can't tell you about any of the settings, I only know it fills my screen with crisp, clear graphics. Voice over is excellent. Gameplay is fantastic! I've only played for 40 minutes(past my bedtime, but couldn't resist it), but it's the most fun I've had in ages. LOADS of mini-puzzles, the HO scenes are clear and very interactive, even have puzzles within them. A definite buy for me. I've no idea of the length of the game, I hope it's a really long one, but whatever, I know that every minute is worth the money. July 7, 2012
a delight! there are so many things to like about this game, particularly that it can be had for one coupon redemption: it is not often, i have found, to get decent games for my free game credits. the story line is good--escaping from a monster and the graphics are above par, but what i really loved (in the demo) was the interactivity of the HOGs... this approach is highly interactive, with minigames within the HOS... i am not a huge fan of HOG - laced adventure games, but this one is fun! the other puzzles are fun too. not difficult enough to put you off but hard enough to keep you focussed. i just finished the demo, but had to continue. it's addictive :) July 7, 2012
Really Impressed I love this game. The devs were super creative with this one. Based on most of the 6.99 games that are coming out lately, this one blows them all away. There are many hidden object scenes and within each scene there are many interactive objects and also mini games. These devs were really thinking outside the box. Kudos to the devs on this one. I will recommend this game to everyone I know. Please, more like this one. I also love the sound effects. Very creepy. July 8, 2012
Hope 'DARK PAST' developers have a BRIGHT FUTURE! :) YAY, based on their initial presentation, I would say this developer will be a shining star in the gaming industry and I, for one, will look forward to more from them! Other than the title, which I thought was a bit cheesy, the game itself is one super and original puzzle after another with vintage/dated scenes, interesting H0G's, all appropriate to game's theme and enveloped in a very 'different' and engaging storyline. Two thumbs up and a huge smile from this little fishy. Give it a go.... well worth the price tag (at least!). July 8, 2012
Very Nice! Very nice game. Not a lot of running back and forth, which is great for a change. HOGs not difficult and incorporate items needed within the game; music easy to listen to; games not difficult but do take some thought; clear graphics and good game play; good hint system. You find lightbulbs for extra hints, but it doesn't say if you can only have so many. I tried to get one in the hotel, but it wouldn't let me have it, so not sure if I had too many or what. Yes, the story is the same, but I play the game, not the story. The game is fun and I have already purchased it. Thanks for the reviews. July 7, 2012
I liked this game! The beginning is very ordinary, but it just seems. The game adventure is varied. Hidden object scenes contain mini-games, they alternate with puzzles. Puzzles and mini-games have much funny moments. If you want to relax ? play on the casual mode, otherwise switch on expert mode (no sparkles, no hand-cursor). Graphics is gorgeous, HO scenes are highly detailed. Music is wonderful. Everything is elaborately and corresponds to the story line. My little daughter helped me to play HOS, she liked this game too :) July 17, 2012
DOUBLE THE FUN I really liked this game from the start..espicially when you get a game in game..it make it double the fun...the visuals were crisp and clear..storyline was really good...this is another one I will have to buy for sure..this is based on the demo..I recommend this game to all players July 7, 2012
1-10 of 115 Reviews prev 2345...12next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Howlville: The Dark Past

Many years ago, mysterious events separated Rachel and her father. Help find him and save the world from catastrophe!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.