Bookmark

Howlville: The Dark Past

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Discover the secret of Rachel's past in Howlville: The Dark Past! Many years ago an artifact was found in a mine near the small town of Howlville. The government asked Dr. Joseph and a group of scientists to examine it. Something went wrong and the experiments were halted and classified. The town closed off. Since then nobody knows what happened to Dr. Joseph. Fifteen years later his daughter Rachel is on the verge of solving the mystery, but somebody is doing everything possible to keep her from succeeding. Help find Rachel's father and save the world from the looming catastrophe!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 430 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Howlville: The Dark Past

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Howlville: The Dark Past

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Howlville: The Dark Past 3.6 5 115 115
Howlville - For a Howling Good Time! Challenging, fun graphics, can't comment on sound/music because I play without sound. Took me 6-8 hours which seemed like a good value for the money, didn't even get through the gate in the trial hour, but maybe I'm just slow. ;-) I had to use the walkthrough a few times when I was just confused about where to go or what to do next, just to lower my level of frustration! I highly recommend this game. July 24, 2012
Committee-made game The visual qualities of this game are astounding and beautifully crafted. The problem I have with this sort is it looks like someone created a fantastic game then someone else said we have to have a monster. An over-the-top one at that. The quality of the monster is ridiculous when overlaid on this game. Even the name is designed around the monster - not the beautiful quality of the crafting. The artwork is fantastic the monster artwork is infantile and insulting. I can't help but feel how much better this game would have been with a normal "bad guy." July 24, 2012
A High Quality Game! In spite of terrible picture in the title ? the game is very nice. Remarkable graphics and clear story line. Backs are quite gloomy but stylish and vintage. Beautiful music and sounds create mysterious atmosphere. I can`t agree that game is boring, I really liked and bought. Adventure is filled by many interesting tasks. Some puzzles are difficult (especially in the end of the game), but get much pleasure to solve them. HOS are very original, contain funny mini-games like catch beetles under leaf. July 14, 2012
Great fun ! this is a great little game, incredible clarity on HO , complicated puzzles, stuff I had not seen before. Very clever. Also pretty landscape. It's a good game. much better than some of the large files that bore me to death ! July 10, 2012
Oh my! Neato! Now this was a game to get your sluething abilities going! Lots of HO, but with a twist! Puzzles within and lots of them. Only skipped a couple, so puzzles are manageable with a bit of perseverance. Couldn't stop playing until completion! Kudos! July 7, 2012
WOW, what a wonderful game!!! I loved this game. It wasn't perfect, but was pretty close for me. The graphics looked great, especially in the hidden object scenes, which were nicely constructed. Most scenes had interactive things to do, including puzzles - some of which were good enough to be stand alone puzzles! I liked that there wasn't a lot of hand holding, like most other games. Although, I did have to consult the walkthru for the last puzzle, since there wasn't a skip for it. Overall, this was extremely fun to play. I highly recommend it, and can't wait for more from this developer! April 28, 2013
Get ready for some fun!! Don't know how I missed this game when it first came out but sure glad I found it. This game is different from the usual Hidden Object games in that during the mini-games there are other mini-games hidden inside them. Not all things you need to find are in the games either. Run your mouse around the room and see what is there that you may need. You have to really think and explore with this game. There are games I have never seen before and really enjoyed something new to do. Very good and alot of fun. Sound and story line are great. Help button is good. Enjoy it!! March 2, 2013
Intuitive HO scenes I really liked this game for an SE. Played to the end which took 5 hrs with a few puzzle skips. I played advanced level, and for a pleasant change you really didn't get any help; no magnifying glasses, hands, eyeballs, swirling cogs etc to guide you. Excellent hint system too, so didn't need W/T. The HO scenes were really well done, and some contained puzzles too. The only downside to this game was that, in my opinion, there were far too many of the HO scenes which got a bit laborious. Also some items were incorrectly named eg chandelier was a candelabra. All in all entertaining and well worth the money. As we are under tons of rain and flooding here in the UK, it brightened an otherwise dreary afternoon! July 7, 2012
Uh Oh - My "To Do" list will just have to wait. I exited the one hour trial to purchase this game. I have done that only two or three times ever. Even in casual mode, this game doesn't do a lot of hand holding. Hints are collected by finding "lamps". If there is a map, I didn't see it. So far, the journal only details what you already know, but the tutorial says that "important information" will be recorded there. By the way, the tutorial can be skipped. VO's are good. The story line seems a little weak to me and that is the sole reason I gave 4 stars instead of five. A weak story line is not a deal breaker for me. If it were, I would buy very few games. What this game lacks in a compelling story, it makes up for in challenging and innovative game play. There are more HOS than I like to see, but again, this game makes up for that. There are HOS inside of HOS. I know we've seen that before, but you don't see it often. There are also mini games inside of HOS. A welcome variation. I always mute the music, so I can't comment on that. But the background sounds are suspenseful and very much contribute to the mood of the game. The game has a bit of a sci-fi theme. During the demo, I encountered one person and one creature. Both seem to be the result of a lab experiment gone wrong. What I appreciate most about this game is its challenge. Had I opted for expert mode, I bet I'd be tearing out my hair. Items in the HOS are not easy to find. Probably half of them require interaction to locate. Items are not to scale. Some are found at the edge of the screen, where we normally don't have to look. All of this serves to increase the challenge for me. At the risk of contradicting myself, I have to say the mini games, so far, were not extremely challenging. I didn't mind that because the rest of the game is making me think. Besides, I am guilty of skipping puzzles/games. I am trying to cure myself of that bad habit. So for me, it feels good to solve them without skipping. One thing: I purchased and intended to write this review while the game downloaded. The activation was immediate. It was so fast, that I thought I had a glitch on my hands. I don't know if this means you get the entirety of the game on the demo download or not. Also I don't know how many of you care about that, but I thought I'd mention it. :) I recommend this one. It is better than average, in my opinion. July 7, 2012
Have To Use Those Brain Cells On This One! Howlville is a real HOPA, heavy on the adventure and based on the demo, this will be a real challenge for hard-core players who are tired of hand holding and directions. The story, while very familiar, takes us once again in search of a missing Father, an experiement gone bad, and a cover-up to some conspiracy. (Didn't we just played one like this?# You have escaped from a mental institute and off on the adventure to save your Father and save the wolrd. #Yes we definitely played a couple of those). Game menu offers two gamemodes and that is about it. The Graphics are crisp and sharp. There is voice-overs and you have only a journal to aid you along with a list of objectives. The funny thing here is that while I chose casual to familiarize myself with game mechanics, there were no sparkles of any kind, no black bar ontop explaining what I had to do or what I needed to find. You really are on your own here which is what I love about adventure games. The HO scenes are interactive and also a brain teaser. Some items are hidden behind others, and some you need to figure out where to use. Some Fishies may not be pleased with this. The absence of any balck bar with hints or sparkles may either be a glitch of some kind or like Green Moon, a real brain teaser which in my case, I am defintly up to the challenge. Initial game play involves clicking around everywhere unit you hit something. You then need to figure out exactly where you need to use it. I liked the mini-games, not very hard but unique in design. Unfortunately there is no map and the journal is no help at all and although I have spent 45 minutes and have still yet to cross over the gate and get on with my mission. I assume that like many players, I will be either loving this adventure or hating it; I am definitely going ashead to find out. Besides, I have the need to exercise those little grey cells of mine. July 7, 2012
31-40 of 115 Reviews <<prev 23456...12next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Howlville: The Dark Past

Many years ago, mysterious events separated Rachel and her father. Help find him and save the world from catastrophe!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.