Bookmark

Howlville: The Dark Past

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Discover the secret of Rachel's past in Howlville: The Dark Past! Many years ago an artifact was found in a mine near the small town of Howlville. The government asked Dr. Joseph and a group of scientists to examine it. Something went wrong and the experiments were halted and classified. The town closed off. Since then nobody knows what happened to Dr. Joseph. Fifteen years later his daughter Rachel is on the verge of solving the mystery, but somebody is doing everything possible to keep her from succeeding. Help find Rachel's father and save the world from the looming catastrophe!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 430 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Howlville: The Dark Past

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Howlville: The Dark Past

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Howlville: The Dark Past 3.5 5 117 117
Have To Use Those Brain Cells On This One! Howlville is a real HOPA, heavy on the adventure and based on the demo, this will be a real challenge for hard-core players who are tired of hand holding and directions. The story, while very familiar, takes us once again in search of a missing Father, an experiement gone bad, and a cover-up to some conspiracy. (Didn't we just played one like this?# You have escaped from a mental institute and off on the adventure to save your Father and save the wolrd. #Yes we definitely played a couple of those). Game menu offers two gamemodes and that is about it. The Graphics are crisp and sharp. There is voice-overs and you have only a journal to aid you along with a list of objectives. The funny thing here is that while I chose casual to familiarize myself with game mechanics, there were no sparkles of any kind, no black bar ontop explaining what I had to do or what I needed to find. You really are on your own here which is what I love about adventure games. The HO scenes are interactive and also a brain teaser. Some items are hidden behind others, and some you need to figure out where to use. Some Fishies may not be pleased with this. The absence of any balck bar with hints or sparkles may either be a glitch of some kind or like Green Moon, a real brain teaser which in my case, I am defintly up to the challenge. Initial game play involves clicking around everywhere unit you hit something. You then need to figure out exactly where you need to use it. I liked the mini-games, not very hard but unique in design. Unfortunately there is no map and the journal is no help at all and although I have spent 45 minutes and have still yet to cross over the gate and get on with my mission. I assume that like many players, I will be either loving this adventure or hating it; I am definitely going ashead to find out. Besides, I have the need to exercise those little grey cells of mine. July 7, 2012
Fun Sci-Fi Game If you had a large experimental laboratory, put a deranged scientist in charge and gave him a cartoony body and voice, add a cartoony monster and a suspenseful story... you'd have this game. A scientist disappears when his daughter is a little kid. When she grows up, she starts searching for answers to what happened to her father, and ends up in danger herself. It's a fun game with lots of different kinds of puzzles and interactive games within games. But don't take it seriously. The graphics are mostly good, although a few are blurry. The voice-overs are very good. Only the deranged scientist has a cartoony voice. The other people have normal voices and appearance. The music is pretty good and appropriate, if a bit repetitive. The hints are so good that if you get stuck, they'll help you get unstuck. It's not a super-difficult game, but I did need the hint a few times. And had to use skip a couple of times, too. If you're new to this kind of game, note that, even though the game is set in the US, the hints often use European words: Lift instead of Elevator, Torch instead of Flashlight, etc. Thankfully, it doesn't have people driving on the left side of the road. July 7, 2012
Fun game I would have given it a 5 star except for one thing, to many hidden objects scenes. great puzzles however and good story line July 21, 2012
Good game! I liked the storyline. I started in expert mode but changed to casual: in expert mode, you have no help at all, no clues, no sparkles, so it should take very long in this mode. - The graphics are good. - The HOS are clear, there is a lot of interaction. Don't click everywhere otherwise it freezes. - The puzzles are challenging and some are unique. - There is a helpful journal. - There is no map, but there are not many locations. - In the casual mode, there are sparkles for the HOS and the objects you'll need. The ending is quite abrupt. It took me 3 hours to finish. All in all, a different game. July 16, 2012
Well made hidden object game This time, you've already escaped from the asylum and the game begins there. LOTS of hidden object items to find, but as previous reviewers have stated, hidden object puzzles are very interactive with mini-games included. Mouse over EVERYTHING! Graphics are great, but not movie quality. Music can be very ominous - especially that Fog horn at the house (shuddering now as I think about it). Hidden objects were easy to see, just tricky to find. Hints have to be earned in the form of lightbulbs, and do not replenish themselves. I never had more than a couple of hints during the trial period. Worth checking out. July 7, 2012
Lots of HOG This game has so many HOG's and puzzles, to the point where I had to stop and take a break every so often, but that's a plus point isn't it?. The scenes are good and visually attractive and some hidden objects were pretty hard to find, but I still didn't need hints to find them. Puzzles are fun, but most of them are a bit too easy and the ones that were hard were in my opinion too time consuming. The hint button is terrific outside the HOG's and recharged quickly. This is a great game for hardened HOG'ers and I believe you'll get your money's worth here! But you don't need me to tell you eh? Just have a look at the other reviews. July 28, 2012
Howlville: The Dark Past The storyline was pretty interesting, but typical for a HOG. One thing I did not like was getting inside the gate took so long. Normally, getting to a fence and to the place where a good deal of the game takes place takes only a few moments, but this time it was very drawn out. That took about ten minutes or so, because you had to go all over the place to do only a couple of tasks. When the game cut off, the game was JUST starting to pick up. I had cleared a few more key scenes needed to get where I was and I do have hope for this game. I will not (yet) put it in the *stellar* list of games, but I would say 'decent with potential' based solely on the demo. Will I get this game? Hm. I think so. Like I said, it has potential. I have some credits I could use. Would I pay for it? Maybe and if there was nothing else I wanted first. July 8, 2012
Howlville Finished the game ; Only one person in credits; The translation of objecks was a chaleng in it self; I liked the mini puzzels included in the game;A lot of game for the basisc cost; ; About as much play time as a collectors edition; July 19, 2012
LOTS OF HOS AND PUZZLES Good graphics. Nice ratio of HOS to puzzles. Lots of HOS which are uncrowded, interactive, and objects are identifiable. Also lots of puzzles, which vary ? most are rather easy to intermediate. One puzzling thing, once you get into the hotel kitchen, it?s odd that you can?t go elsewhere. You have to go in the front door. And once you get upstairs, there?s only one hotel door. And why do I need to find a knife when I just played a HOS that had one. Game makes it easy to not get lost. One fast player said there are 5 chapters and he played the 2 allowed in the demo in 40 minutes, so only got another 25 minutes. I?m a smell the roses person and I didn?t finish the demo in the hour, so unless you?re a hurry-type person, you should get average playtime. July 10, 2013
easy and not that bad Not a bad game. I thought it was quite easy. There was a good flow so you did not have to run all over the place to find things. The HOS are quite different as there is a lot of finding other items to complete the HO. I just did not find the storyline very interesting. I just was going from one seen to another finding things for the sake of finding them. No real story for me. November 22, 2012
41-50 of 117 Reviews <<prev 34567...12next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Howlville: The Dark Past

Many years ago, mysterious events separated Rachel and her father. Help find him and save the world from catastrophe!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.