Bookmark

Howlville: The Dark Past

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Discover the secret of Rachel's past in Howlville: The Dark Past! Many years ago an artifact was found in a mine near the small town of Howlville. The government asked Dr. Joseph and a group of scientists to examine it. Something went wrong and the experiments were halted and classified. The town closed off. Since then nobody knows what happened to Dr. Joseph. Fifteen years later his daughter Rachel is on the verge of solving the mystery, but somebody is doing everything possible to keep her from succeeding. Help find Rachel's father and save the world from the looming catastrophe!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 430 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Howlville: The Dark Past

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Howlville: The Dark Past

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Howlville: The Dark Past 3.6 5 113 113
Fairly disappointed with this one Is it just me or is the general quality of the HOG/Adventure games sagging lately? This game has decent enough graphics and an easily followed storyline (nothing new or original here!) but the HO scenes were uninteresting and I found myself wondering when it was going to over. The puzzles were okay, a few were even fun and made me forget the drudgery of the rest of the game. Maybe I'm asking too much, you can't expect a Dire Grove every week. July 10, 2012
just not long enough ! i played the demo & found it ok but i brought it by using a free game credit so i was glad of that because for me it was nowhere near long enough in game play . i wouldn,t have paid money for the HOG . July 9, 2012
lots of ho fun here! Your father disappeared when you were young. The story picks up after you escape an asylum . Now you are going to Howlville to find out what happened to your father. The music is relaxing and you have a diary. There are many hos in this game but with mini games and are interactive which I like. But the hos are too junky for me. The hint and skip buttons recharge quickly. The graphics are clear and crisp. This game is fun if you are a fan of hos. A little to much for me. July 9, 2012
Not trackpad friendly I play all games on my MBP. I have the trackpad set to 'tap to click'. That does't often work in this game and you often have to do a hard click, which gets annoying real quick. Didn't even finish the demo because of this. Game seems to be interesting though, and not too easy. July 8, 2012
Kind of a " ho hum" game The story started out very slowly in the trial, but the reviews were generally good, so I used a free game coupon for it. Wish I hadn't. It never really picked up, and the story line was weak. The experiments were never really explained. I also tire of looking for items that are incorrectly named; I wish the developers would get a native English speaker to check this before releasing a game in the U.S. The graphics were very good - no dark, dreary hidden object scenes. You might like the game, but be warned that it is mediocre at best. July 8, 2012
ICE-man I thought the game had Good graphics and sound, places to explore and always had to look close. This game is friendly. I played the FREE one hour in casual mode. Mostly puzzles and finding stuff, but little story or other need to go forward. This detective was disappointed. Good help & not a bad game, but guess I'm not a puzzle person. If you like pure puzzles get it on! July 7, 2012
Would've Been Perfect, but... I liked the game at first, but a few things annoyed me. One of which was at the very start of the game. Storyline is absolutely brilliant with some great voice-overs to go with it. Rachel's father disappeated many years ago and achel has been trying to find him ever since. When suddenly, she comes across te old abandoned town of Howlville. The intro hooks you from the moment it begins and you can tell that a lot of time and effort was put in to this. Some really good graphics too. Very well designed ad lots of detail, very modern and matching the theme of the game very well. The Hidden Object Scenes OK. Most of the objects were easy to find, there were a lot of interactive objects and the hint recharged very quick, so if I needed help, it would always be there. But something in the scenes would always be either a puzzle, or a little more complicated than it should be. The game kind of needs a strategy guide. I would often use the hint to find out where I needed to go next, which annoyed me a little and took up time. The one thng that annoyed me most about this game though, and the reason this game is getting a 3 and not a 4, is that there were puzzles everywhere. Even in the Hidden Object Scenes, there were puzzles. You need to do something as simple as opening a lock, but of course, there was a puzzle. Adding to my frustrations, the skip button took forever to recharge, so I needed to wait a long time, Another thing that really annoyedme was that a lot of things were un-necessarily complicated. With the opening of the lock mentioned above, it wasn't as simple as just turning the dials to open get the right code, no, the game couldnever allow that. Instead, turning one dial would also turn another one. Or if you needed to dust off a sign to read what it says, it wasn't just one click and it happened, you needed to do it yourself. If it weren't for the puzzles, this game would be perfect. Still, I enjoyed it and recommend it. July 11, 2012
Some thinking, lots of clicking Slightly different from the norm, and could have been great - but fell short. There was two levels, my review is based on the harder level. Graphics were nice, although somewhat dark, and didn't cater for wide screen. Whilst things like sparkles annoy me, this game went to the total extreme. No sparkles, no black bar clues, no changing of cursor. Some scenes could be worked out, but a lot was just idle clicking until something happened. Hidden object games - of which there were plenty - also involved a lot of clicking, but not quickly as there was a penalty. A number of scenes had objects that were obscure or hard to see. Storyline was boring - lost town, mental institution, lost relative.... Had the lot, but poorly executed. Held no interest. Even with the game being difficult at times, it was still somewhat on the short side. Would recommend this game to those who like hidden objects, and have lots of patience. July 12, 2012
Don't know what all the hype is about Demo review. The game was smooth, graphics and music good....... I enjoyed playing the hour but.......... I was halfway through the game! Not going to buy it for another 1 hour of play! I didn't find anything challenging as so many others did. Perhaps I should consider myself an expert now, but I play for the fun of it and, while I do love a challenge, I don't enjoy a hard game - not relaxing, and I don't like such an easy and short one as this game is. I suggest playing the demo to see for yourself. I recommend it only because it was clever. July 11, 2012
Nearly non-stop HO and easy puzzles If you like one HO after another (I don't) and the few puzzles you encounter to be very easy, then you will like this game. If you hate HO and like challenging puzzles, don't buy this game. I only gave it three stars because as an HO game, it is at least three stars. As an adventure game I would give it a half star. July 21, 2012
71-80 of 113 Reviews <<prev 678910...12next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Howlville: The Dark Past

Many years ago, mysterious events separated Rachel and her father. Help find him and save the world from catastrophe!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.